We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed for our short stay in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #515 of 1,073 hotels in London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just what we needed for our short stay in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Ordered a superior double. Recieved a regular double upon arrival. After first night we asked for a bigger room and recieved one so that was great. Staff was great. Everything worked. Location was convenient. All in all. A very pleasant stay. Will repeat one day

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    536
    342
    182
    273
See reviews for
182
565
194
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel this weekend. Definately not 4 star. The roompicture on the site is definately not standard, we literally could not even walk around our bed! The bathroom door could only be partially opened because it hits the toilet. Unbelievable, we stay in hotels very often all around the globe but we have never experienced this. It feels so claustrophobic!
It is also very noisy, our room neighboirs turned on their tv at 06.00 both sat and sun morning, although they didn't turn up the volume it still woke us up. Only good thing is (part of) the staff. The young gentleman guiding us to our room was extremely nice and forthcoming, so was the staff in the breakfast area. We left our luggage in the hotel care today after checking out, and when collecting the bags we got one of our own and one of someone else... That was the last negative thing. We will never come back for sure. I never wrote a review before but I definately feel the need to share our experience on this hotel.
BTW, be carefull booking any Shaftesbury hotel, this was my second stay with them and on both occasions we were involuntary placed in a different hotel than originally booked!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & Kindly provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much & looking forward to your positive response as per your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past year, mainly for business purposes. It's location is great and just a few minutes walk to either Paddington or Lancaster Gate stations. The decor and fittings in the rooms are modern and give an air of luxury. Internet wifi or ISDN comes standard with the room, which is a welcome change from some hotel chains. I pay the extra for the greater space and facilities that a club double gives. Having the microwave, fridge etc is very useful if having the odd "night in." I have stayed in the hotel's standard singles and these can be a bit cramped, although again they are fitted out well and surpass many other London hotels offerings at the same price. Ventilation and aircon can be noisy in the room, but these can be switched off when sleeping. I have found that the staff have always been very helpful and welcoming. The buffet breakfast is as big as you want, varied and of good quality. Pricey on its own, but not too bad if you get an all-in B&B rate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to London.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our only criticism and disappointment was the price of the breakfast. If this had been a maximum of £8 we would have happily paid it, but at £12 per person per day it was as expensive as an evening meal.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to club room. Our club room was very quiet and although not over sized was adeq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I understand your feelings about the price of breakfast we are at the moment reviewing our price list and we will take in consideration your comments to make our final decision.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Best Western,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Best Western hotels are notoriously hit and miss but this was probably one of the biggest hits I have ever stared at. The Hotel is absolutely beautiful and so was the room. Even though you could do with a few paint and grouting touchups here and there, the decor in the room was classic and very luxury. The staff at the Hotel could not do enough offering to take my bags to my room on checking in, leaving the room beautiful by the following evening and even down to leaving a fruit basket in the room on arrival. My only reservation was that the shower cubicle is very small but I just about managed. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and you felt very cocooned.

Room Tip: Definitely look to stay in a 'club room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
We are glad that you liked our services.

Unfortunately our standard rooms can sometimes seem small due to the nature of the hotel and it’s design, however we do have larger studio suites and club rooms available that I’m certain you would find much more comfortable.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is just perfectly located,Paddington station is 6minutes walk and Lancaster gate station is about 5mns.The staff is lovely,room is clean and good size for London.I felt home,I didn't wanna leave.Bathroom is very luxe and nicely done.The lobby is so nice.It's definitely where I'll be staying over and over when I visit London.Great value for the money

Room Tip: ask for adapter when you checkin,you don't need to buy one.you can also check in early.I loved s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind reviews such as yours are very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel - and I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has microscopic rooms. You really feel as if you are living in a sardine can. Plus the sound isolation is very poor, so this affects your ability to sleep. Rest is ok: location, clean, service and price is relatively low for London. However, this is a 3 star hotel at best. Definitely not 4 star...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & Kindly provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much & looking forward to your positive response as per your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
#337 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.