We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #513 of 1,075 hotels in London
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value and position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past year, mainly for business purposes. It's location is great and just a few minutes walk to either Paddington or Lancaster Gate stations. The decor and fittings in the rooms are modern and give an air of luxury. Internet wifi or ISDN comes standard with the room, which is a welcome change from some hotel chains. I pay the extra for the greater space and facilities that a club double gives. Having the microwave, fridge etc is very useful if having the odd "night in." I have stayed in the hotel's standard singles and these can be a bit cramped, although again they are fitted out well and surpass many other London hotels offerings at the same price. Ventilation and aircon can be noisy in the room, but these can be switched off when sleeping. I have found that the staff have always been very helpful and welcoming. The buffet breakfast is as big as you want, varied and of good quality. Pricey on its own, but not too bad if you get an all-in B&B rate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to London.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    523
    353
    192
    277
See reviews for
173
550
189
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our only criticism and disappointment was the price of the breakfast. If this had been a maximum of £8 we would have happily paid it, but at £12 per person per day it was as expensive as an evening meal.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to club room. Our club room was very quiet and although not over sized was adeq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I understand your feelings about the price of breakfast we are at the moment reviewing our price list and we will take in consideration your comments to make our final decision.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Best Western,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Best Western hotels are notoriously hit and miss but this was probably one of the biggest hits I have ever stared at. The Hotel is absolutely beautiful and so was the room. Even though you could do with a few paint and grouting touchups here and there, the decor in the room was classic and very luxury. The staff at the Hotel could not do enough offering to take my bags to my room on checking in, leaving the room beautiful by the following evening and even down to leaving a fruit basket in the room on arrival. My only reservation was that the shower cubicle is very small but I just about managed. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and you felt very cocooned.

Room Tip: Definitely look to stay in a 'club room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
We are glad that you liked our services.

Unfortunately our standard rooms can sometimes seem small due to the nature of the hotel and it’s design, however we do have larger studio suites and club rooms available that I’m certain you would find much more comfortable.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is just perfectly located,Paddington station is 6minutes walk and Lancaster gate station is about 5mns.The staff is lovely,room is clean and good size for London.I felt home,I didn't wanna leave.Bathroom is very luxe and nicely done.The lobby is so nice.It's definitely where I'll be staying over and over when I visit London.Great value for the money

Room Tip: ask for adapter when you checkin,you don't need to buy one.you can also check in early.I loved s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind reviews such as yours are very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel - and I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has microscopic rooms. You really feel as if you are living in a sardine can. Plus the sound isolation is very poor, so this affects your ability to sleep. Rest is ok: location, clean, service and price is relatively low for London. However, this is a 3 star hotel at best. Definitely not 4 star...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & Kindly provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much & looking forward to your positive response as per your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am very happy with this hotel. The employees were nice, rooms modern and clean and the location great with regards to Paddington station. In total, great value for the money. Only minus was that the madras as well as pillows were not fantastic :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very grateful for the positive comments about the staff and hotel. Your feedback helps us improve our performance and meet the expectations of future guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love this hotel. Vinayak and his team are always so helpful. The bedrooms are not like the standard rooms in a chain hotel i.e. box like, but all are individual. The breakfast is the best I have had and always enjoy. The staff in the dining room always have time for a conversation. I would particularly recommend the suite rooms. All in all a great hotel.

Kenneth Herron

Room Tip: Go for the suites - brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay. , and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Kind Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.