We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful small rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #544 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Port Talbot
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awful small rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We paid extra for a superior room which was supposed to be a larger room. The room measured approx 10 feet by 10 feet, honestly, no exaggerating, very claustrophobic.
We couldn't open the cupboard as there was no room between the door and the bed. If we moved the chair from the desk then the drawers would slide open and there was no way to keep them closed.
Of the 3 nights we stayed, the heating only worked one night. The remaining nights we were supplied with an oil radiator which was not up to the job.
For a four star hotel,I was left very disappointed and will pick a different hotel on my next visit to London

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

If we can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us at 02077451200.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    565
    361
    194
    282
See reviews for
191
587
204
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked a single room for 1 night to attend a business dinner. Room was quite small and on ground floor with blanked out window, but very clean with tea making facilities etc. If your'e a little overweight you might struggle to get in the shower!
But bed comfortable, room quiet and great breakfast the the next morning. Staff all very polite and attentive.
Would be happy to book again (but would ask for a bigger room)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Paul A,

It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London and all it has to offer. We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us on 020 7745 1200 for future booking.

Kind Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Centrally located in Paddington, while retaining the charm of a quiet English home. Staff is very courteous, and very helpful which is the main attraction. Rooms are pretty nice, given the constraints of London. Nice small bar available for business meetings as well. I would highly recommend this for short business trips, as well as for long business trips.. Thank you..!

Room Tip: Ask for Bath, not just shower while making a reservation to get a bigger bath room.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a great pleasure to read about your experience in Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Thank you for your appreciation for our front office staff, I will share it with the team on our next staff meeting.Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked the Best Western for a last minute trip to London. The whole experience, from check in to check out, was first class. We were a little disappointed with the size of our room when we got there and as we were staying for three nights, I asked if we could change. I got a friendly response and was given two options to choose from. The gentleman from concierge who helped me up to the room was full of knowledge and fantastically professional. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: I would try to get in the adjacent building (which is part of the same hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Nick,

I'm gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay the BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from our guests, which I will share with the team.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Kind Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel with perfect location for my business trip, short walk to the train to heathrow. Close to Hyde park and would stay here again. Room was a bit small with 2 single beds. Most hotels I have had a twin room in recently have 2 doubles or a double and a single. But overall it was a good place

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear David Greer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Good hotel located in a quiet area at only 5 minutes of Paddington tube/train station wich give a strategic position the the hotel.
Good ratio between Price/facilities/service. Nice efficient, discreet , courteous helpful staff in all the areas.
The room was small like in many hotels in the center of London as Victorian neigbourhoods buildings do not allow biggest spaces (it was certainly the room of Docajenk's review ).
Nevertheless it was very nice, with optimized space, the bed was big and very comfortable, the room was equipped with a very complete and practical bathroom/toilette (good water pressure and the temperature easy to regulate) and a flat TV screen on the wall.
The room was at the first floor with a little balcony on the street. I slept very well during the 3 nights of my stay , important detail when you travel for business.
Breakfast was included, complete, good food and drinks, smiling and available staff in every moment (important when you wake up early in the morning ) .
Also there is a a very comfortable lounge with a bar to take a drink quietly listening smooth music while you read a newspaper or check your e.mails.
One of the best place I have stayed in London. Will recommend this hotel to other businessmen and travellers friends.

Just a little complaint: internet WIFI speed must be improved in the rooms ;-) it is important to be well comunicated when traveling for business.

For those who are claiming about all in previous reviews: Hilton London Paddington is literally around the corner....

Thankx for all .

Mr. Patrice C. (France) Room 102 February 3-4-5th , 2013.

Room Tip: Quiet doble room on the street side (no traffic noise and nice views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Patrice,

I'm gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from our guests, which I will share with the team.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

There is nothing lavish about this hotel, small and modest rooms, but they definitely make up for it in customer service; every request was met immediately, the rooms were clean and a woman visited the room everyday to check that the room service were doing a good job (a good sign).

Location is very good.

Room Tip: Try to book a room not facing the street as some of them are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Nadine,


Thank you for choosing to stay at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

It was a great pleasure to read your feedback bout your recent stay in London. Thank you for your appreciation for our staff, I will share it with the team on our next staff meeting.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.


Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Agoda, Venere, Otel, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.