We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #516 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stay here regularly, I usually book last minute and there are normally spaces. The location is excellent being adjacent to transport, restaurants, amenities etc, The hotel itself is of good quality and offers excellent value in my opinion compared to other locations in Paddington. Wi-fi and breakfast is included as part of the price. I will return when I'm in London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    542
    347
    185
    274
See reviews for
184
569
198
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I payed £60 for a single room which was situated on the ground floor. i stayed there from 22:00 until 04:00 am and there was not any noise at all. The quality of the materials is ver good and the WC is very impressive. Disadvantage is the small space but the feeling of the textures around may make it cosy for you. Beneath the main door of the room, the gap is about an inch or so and that is bad for the sensation of privacy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in December for 4 days. The location is great. It is about 2 blocks from Hyde Park. Very close to the tube stations. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. The room was comfortable but small (this is normal for Europe), the bathroom was very nicely equipped with a tub/shower combo. This is a great hotel for business or leisure, and the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Book the club rooms, they are a little bit bigger and in better locations throughout the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us, we do value your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from our guests, which will be shared with the team.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked as a last minute hotel for the location to Paddington Station which is only a 5 min walk away! On arriving greeted by a friendly man who checked us in, the room was clean and even had a fridge and microwave (may have been an upgrade). The shower was fantastic with loads of power, bed comfy, no road noise, and fresh flowers! All staff cheery and happy to help. Close to Hyde Park and Oxford Street. On last day train not till late asked if we could leave our bag, no problem. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We were ground floor at back no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked our Hotel through Booking Com on 7th November, called 29th December just to confirm everything was in order – called the hotel direct and spoke to 2 receptionists to confirm that out booking was okay and requested a room on a high floor – they assured me everything was okay and they would try for a room on a high floor if possible. They were very polite and said they looked forward to our arrival. We arrived on the 30th December at 2.00 for check in – we were told that unfortunately they had over booked us and they had tried to contact us at 11.00 that day – we were in London and they had tried to phone our home in Somerset, of course we had already left. They said they had booked us into another Great Western – this was very inconvenient as we wanted to be near Hyde Park and had chosen this location especially – they put us in the City not a place we wanted to be on New Year’s Eve. I understand that the staff were in a difficult position but treeated us very well in the circumstances. However, I will be rather wary of booking through Booking.com in the future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
Your feedback regarding your experience is very much appreciated. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and we understand that our arrangements did hot suit your requirements. At the same time I would like to thank you for appreciation for the staff.
We hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Best Regards
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

What i needed was 3 rooms for 6 people on new years. What we got was a well accomadating hotel, clean rooms, breakfast in a location about a half mile from the tube, a few resturants and quick stop stores.. We were greated by 3 well dressed staff members and check in was quick with hotel information and wifi password provided. The rooms were small but clean and fitted with everything we needed....drinks, snacks and a welcome message on the TV. Large and small pillows and an OK bed. The bathroom was large but the shower shield was small so the floors got wet...nothing an extra towel didn't cure. The breakfast had fruits, breads, pastries, cold cuts, cheese, juices, yogurt and the complements for a full english breakfast. Coffee was hot and strong.

I was skeptical after reading other post but for this visit we did not encounter the staff that others complained about. Traveling throughout Europe for many years, we knew what to expect of the rooms sizes but we were pleased with our rooms and the hotel. We would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us at 02077451200.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We (myself, my mum and sister) were initially booked in at another Shaftsbury hotel, but were moved to the Paddington after we complained (repeatedly) about the ridiculously loud noise that sounded like it was coming from the room above. Based on the comments here, it was probably the air con system, but sounded like an industrial washing machine stuck on its spin cycle!

So far, so bad... but it got worse. We arrived at the new hotel, and at reception was a woman demanding to be moved because she was experiencing the same problem as we had just had! After booking in, we were sent to our room which was actually in another building across the road. Our room had one double bed, clearly not what we had booked for 3 of us! After complaining, my mum was told she would have to go to another hotel. We were on a weekend away as an early Christmas treat so obviously did not want to be staying at different hotels! In the end, she ended up in a tiny single room, which was freezing, and in a different building to us (but technically the same hotel).

I should say that all the rooms that we had the displeasure to stay in were actually decorated to quite a nice standard. However they were not very clean. My mum's room had sweet wrappers on the bed, and our bin had not been emptied- there were condom wrappers in the bin! Worse though, were the bed bugs which we discovered on our second evening and again the following morning. Disgusting, and not something I have ever experienced in a hotel (and I have stayed at much cheaper hotels).

They also tried to charge us for breakfast, which should have been included in the price. When we questioned this, we were told it was not included, but was complimentary because of the inconvenience caused. Breakfast was actually quite nice, but there was a long queue each morning as the dining room clearly could not cope with the number of people at the hotel.

All in all, a terrible experience! Some of the issues were clearly beyond the control of staff, and I could perhaps excuse some of the problems if they had been dealt with in a professional manner, but the staff were terrible: rude, incompetent and unhelpful. No customer service skills whatsoever, but for that I'd blame management not the individual staff. Having read the reviews here, it seems that the problems we experienced were clearly not one-off occurrences!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely & profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & Kindly provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much & looking forward to your positive response as per your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
#339 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.