We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #519 of 1,073 hotels in London
yeovil
1 review
“Frustrating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

After searching the internet for a nice hotel to stay in in London I chose the Park Grand Hotel in London Paddington. There was severe flooding in the south west where we lived but we decided to travel as the trains were running still, I called the hotel reservations line the morning of our departure to check that the payment had gone through, and the room was reserved- this was confirmed. Once we arrived at the hotel around lunchtime we were told that there were no rooms available- as the hotel had overbooked (which has happened to many previous customers as per the reviews on tripadvisor) and that the hotel had tried to contact me to advise me of this- which was not true as i had received no phonecalls/emails to this effect.
Had we of received this information before we left due to the adverse weather conditions we would of stayed at home. We were offered a refund/ or a room at the Best Western just down the road, I complained to the manager on reception that i had not booked a room at the Best Western I had booked at the Park Grand but there was nothing I could do.
We arrived at the Best Western and were not offered any apology or complimentary drinks for the mixup i burst into tears at the desk feeling full of cold and frustrated i felt so helpless and that the weekend I had planned had been ruined, I wish i had read the reviews before I booked.
The rooms are small,staff are polite and the breakfast is nice.
I don't understand why this keeps happening to customers who have a booked a room in good faith in the current economic climate, your customers are your business, but no-one seems to care or has offered myself or any of the other guests any compensation or apology for their mistake.
Cheaper hotels are crying out for business and charging a cheaper price and a better level of customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely & profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & Kindly provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much & looking forward to your positive response as per your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    527
    340
    182
    273
See reviews for
178
561
190
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratton, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very good hotel, friendly staff, lovely room, excellent location, great warm service, would definately stay at this hotel again soon we hope!! Would recommend this hotel to friends and family, thanks for making our stay in London a very memorable occasion!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London and all it has to offer. We are very proud of our level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain high standards.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us on tel:02077451200 if we can be of any assistance.

Kind Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I used to lodge in this hotel for business and I have always had great and warm experiences. Staff is very professional and kind. The hotel is conveniently located in the Paddington area next to the tube and to several amenities

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review, and your generous comments about our 'Fantastic Experience' and the service you received - I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind reviews such as yours are very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel - and I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

hotel is very confortable and closed to Paddigton station/tube.
Staff is friendly and very professional.
For a business travel is definetly one of the best solution I've tried.
international breakfast is for everybody

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London and all it has to offer. We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.
Please do not hesitate to email me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com for future booking.

Kind Regards
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

... quite the opposite. I took my mum for a mini break and stayed at the BW Shaftesbury Paddington Court hotel. From the moment we walked through the door, everything was perfect. All staff could not have been more helpful, especially concierge. We were met with a smile and there was a definite "warm" feeling. The manager went over and above what was expected to make our stay pleasant. Our room was immaculate with a good selection of bathroom accessories and breakfast choices catered for all tastes with good quality products, again with good and friendly service. I appreciate it must be frustrating if one’s hotel room is on the small side and in the past have found it very much “hit and miss” with London hotels, despite their star status, but I definitely found a “hit” and will definitely book again whenever visiting. I would reiterate Felindreman’s comments regarding value for money and locality. There is a great choice of restaurants and amenities within walking distance. Thank you Mr G and your team – you helped make my break with mum very special.

Room Tip: As a few comments have been made about size and location of rooms, check when booking and ask for de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Claire,

I'm gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from our guests, which I will share with the team.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Kind Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a night in single room which was small but well-furnished and clean. Not sure if the hotel has been refurbished recently but the room had that modern feel. I would also add the hotel represents excellent value for money. Also convenient for the main railway station with plenty to do in the Paddington area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the court yard. it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

It was a real pleasure to read your review, and your generous comments about our 'Enjoyable Stay' and the service you experienced - I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind reviews such as yours are very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel - and I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had originally booked a night at the Park Grand London Paddington, mainly because of its location and of the claimed 4 star experience.
Upon check-in, the front desk told me that all single room bookings for the weekend had been moved to a neighboring property, the Best Western Paddington Court Hotel, "for maintenance reasons".
This is equal to over-booking, no maintenance at all. Simply a bad lie.

Best Western Paddington Court Hotel turned out to be one of my worst hotel experiences ever. The room was so small that I could barely turn around or place my small backpack somewhere, and the ultra-small bathroom required you to partly sit in the room to do your necessary things. A moonlanding capsule would offer more space and comfort. Sound isolation was incredibly bad, and you can hear action and body sounds from neighboring rooms all night.
I managed to get maximum 3 hours of sleep before I simply checked out at 5 a.m., simply because I was so pissed and depressed by the entire experience.
I filed a complaint to the management twice, with no response. Don´t stay here.

Room Tip: There are far better hotel options closer to Paddington station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely & profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & Kindly provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much & looking forward to your positive response as per your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#303 Luxury Hotel in London
#339 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.