We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a difference.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #519 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hotel with a difference.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel with lots of character. Our room very small but intimate. Really Nice. Definitely stay there again next time in London. Breakfast excellent too, lots of choice. Good Service from all staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from our guests, which I will share with the team.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Kind Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    545
    351
    185
    277
See reviews for
185
575
199
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived early, but still given access to our room..............very much appreciated. All staff very friendly and helpful, Great value for money, but we did have the benefit of an internet deal which included a full English breakfast. Usually use another National Brand for short stays, but will in future try for a Best Western deal first.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London. Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from our guests, which I will share with the team.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Kind Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel was clean. Rooms small but that is typical for London. Price was comparible. Internet worked very well and was available in teh room and lobby area. the Location is fantastic. Near lots of food and easy access to Paddinton station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London and all it has to offer. We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Padding Court London in the future.
Please do not hesitate to email me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com for future booking.

Kind Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and my Fiance stay at this hotel on the 10-11th November weekend. We paid for the Superior Double Room through Booking.com. The pictures on Best Western website and Booking.com made the hotel look spacious. The pictures do NOT match the rooms.
We were given a DELUXE instead of a superior. Woodchippings on every item, NO space to move, staff told us where the lift was not our room, dirty laundry randomly in hall from cleaners. We complained and told we could 'See' another room. This was the club room. Very Poor Service, misleading website saying the rooms were spacious, NO Value for money. The ONLY good thing about this hotel was it was near Paddington station. Would NEVER stay there again or recommend it!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Best Western Paddington Shaftsbury
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely & profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & Kindly provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much & looking forward to your positive response as per your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalmadena, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Unless you like paying through the nose for a claustrophobic experience avoid this chic hotel like the plague! I could barely fit in the room! The bed hogged the room, I had to slither around it to get to the already cluttered, tiny desk. My suitcase balanced precariously on a silly arm chair I had no leg room to sit in anyway. I slithered into the shower where moving my arms required me to behave like a snake to avoid hitting the stall walls! Definitely, if you are large sized you won't fit and there was no tub!
Breakfast was shameful for such a stuffy, higher than thou place!
Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
Unfortunately our standard rooms can sometimes seem small due to the nature of the hotel and it’s design, however we do have larger doubles and studio suites available that I’m certain you would find much more comfortable.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you and we hope to have a welcoming back to you to our property in near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on 02077451200.
Best Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The good: 1) This hotel is well-located, near Paddington but on a quiet street. 2) Although tiny, our basement room had lots of storage space, as did the bathroom.

The bad: 1) Wi-fi isn't guaranteed in the rooms, only in the lounge. There is a LAN cable at the desk. During our stay the Internet went down for about a day, but when it came back we did get wi-fi in the room. 2) You have no control over the heat, except to leave the window open. When we first entered the room, we noticed that the maids had left the window open. We closed it for security but soon realized that if you don't want to roast, you have to leave it open. The overheating is especially bad because the bed has no top sheet and no blanket. It only has the comforter, which is quite warm. 3) There are disturbing scratching noises in the walls late at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We are pleased to inform you that we have recently installed WIFI in all our bed rooms and public area.


If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02077451200.

Sincerely
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Venere, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.