We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #513 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at the Shaftesbury hotel 2 nights and I have to say that I have been in a lot of hotels during my life, and this for me is the worst hotel I have ever slept into!
My room was situated underground but that was not the problem. The problems were many:
- The room was so small that you can't move yourself into: think that you couldn't get out the chair from the desk because there wasn't space!
- My room was abandoned alone at the end of a corridor in the middle of two other rooms: one used by bricklayers for preparing things and the other (the room closest to mine one) on renovations. So I couldn't sleep in the morning because there were works!
- The air conditioner was exactly perpendicular to my bed and I couldn't switch it off. So to avoid the neck blocked the next day I decided to put a pillow in front of it helped by the wardrobe that was exactly under the conditioner.
- this is veeery beautiful: there were ants in my little bathroom, yes maybe they were coming from the room under work for finding peace :)
- Last day I had to wake up early in the morning to get the flight. the tube was still closed and so I decided to ask to the receptionist to call me a taxi for the morning….. Be careful!! Maybe I didn't know that because it was the first time but they didn't call me a normal taxi, they called me a private one or something similar. He came in a biig mercedes old and squared like the old "mafiosi" cars.
and for 5 mints of trip I had to pay 35 euros!!! Ok I was in a business trip and I accepted to go with him but if not? If I was In a normal vacation?

anyway for every bullets above DON'T GO TO THE Shaftesbury HOTEL!!!! Big price, lousy hotel...

Room Tip: don't go to this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Once again I do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 02077451200.


Sincerely,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    619
    380
    204
    287
See reviews for
203
627
219
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

the rooms/building are in desperate need of restauration. i have chosen this hotel as it was in a convinient location for the purpose of my stay. the first room i was shown looked like a prison cell and was so small that i could not even put my suitcase on the floor. they changed the room but it was only a small improvement. the window did not properly close so it was rather cold in the room. also i have got to say that i was not really happy with the cleanliness of the room either. i would not return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Once again I do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 02077451200.


Sincerely,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The staff were great very attentive, polite and went out of their way to help. I am suprised about comments on the size of the rooms but surely you dont go to spend the whole of your time in your hotel room. I would recommend the hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London and all it has to offer. We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.
Please do not hesitate to email me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com for future booking.

Kind Regards
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I'm not sure what part of the hotel the other reviewers stayed in but it certainly wasn't the same place we did!
Myself and my colleague booked to stay at the Shaftesbury on the 17th October for 1 night after returning from a businness trip abroad. We arrived late around 11pm, after having a long journey back to the UK all we wanted to do was get our heads down and after seeing the reviews and pictures this is what we had hoped for, however when we arrived to what looked like a lovely hotel this did not happen. Firstly we had problems checking in as the receptionist did not have our managers pre-auth payment form, even though I had rang 2 weeks previous to ensure they had done. After a lengthly wait we were able to check and were located a room on the '6th floor' we were instructed to go across the road from the hotel to another building, which they called building 6, and go downstairs to our room. Now I'm not sure what their interpretation of the "6th floor" is but mine certainly isn't to go downstairs! Anyway we went into our room, which can only be described as a basement/cellar, the room stank of urine and was freezing cold, we paid £177 for this room plus breakfast and for this price expected a lot more not a basement, smelly room!
I did contact reception and insist that we were moved, of which at first they were hesitant stating that no other rooms available, in the end they moved us to another building, which again wasn't in the main hotel, it was around the corner in another building. By all accounts this room was a lot better but I won't be staying again which is a real shame as I think the location is excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Lauren,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Once again I do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 02077451200.


Sincerely,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Booked a standard single room for £95 and was given a room measuring 14'6" x 13' which includes bathroom/toilet and cupboards (see pictures). There was no space to even walk around the bed and nowhere to put my suitcases other than on the bed. The toilet required a sideways manoeuvre to sit down to avoid the loo roll and I could not get into the shower cubicle because the opening was too narrow. The room was very noisy all night with shouting outside, re-stocking the bar with bottles and inside from the door banging with staff taking the side access immediately opposite my door.

Overall, this was a TERRIBLE hotel and be warned, DON'T GO THERE!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

Unfortunately our standard rooms can sometimes seem small due to the nature of the hotel and it’s design, however we do have larger doubles and studio suites available that I’m certain you would find much more comfortable.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you and we hope to have a welcoming back to you to our property in near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me on 02077451200.

Best Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. I can say the staff are lovely. It is in a very good location, close to the underground and not too far if you like a stroll in the park. And if you're looking for a longer stroll, across the park and a bit further down, you can make your way to Harrods.
I definitely would recommend this hotel and I would also stay here on my return to London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms, small but not suprisingly since it is London we talk about. Nice service, room was not made up when I got in but a comment to reception it was swiftly fixed and a free breakfast was included. Brilliant location close to Paddington station.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London and all it has to offer. We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.
Please do not hesitate to email me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com for future booking.

Kind Regards
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#311 Luxury Hotel in London
#353 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.