We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Stars? I think not, it's 2012 not 1972” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Commodore Hotel to your Saves list
Commodore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #773 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Four Stars? I think not, it's 2012 not 1972”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Very cramped room, archaic air con, creeky floorboards & thin walls. Fitness room had just two machines in; thankfully I was the only one there...

Staff were good, but facilities are not what you expect for this price, even with the proximity to Hyde Park & the West End. Just about bearable for a one night stopover.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob_Anderson_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights, room was dissapointing, beside lift, which we heard often, bathroom was very small, carpet was worn on stairs inside room that lead to bed, in addition there was no bar or menu available on sunday which i have never witnessed before. the plus side was the location, which is good for getting around the sights.. all in all a good hotel but better value around the same area..if i got an excutive suite for the price of a double i MIGHT stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms next to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice hotel, big comfortable bed and friendly staff. The room was small but clean and tidy. Down side, small rooms, lots of banging from upstairs at times we thought they were coming through the ceiling. We had beef sandwiches which were very expensive. it was plastic beef on cheap bread. The bar was a waste of time, no draught beer, bad wine no lime for my Gin and tonic and expensive. I also found that 11.00 am kick out time a bit early.

Would I go back....Yes, great location and stayed in much worse and paid a lot more than £150 .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliet2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel is well located - very near Hyde Park and Lancaster Gate Tube station, but we found it expensive, the breakfast was uninspiring and the floorboards squeaked a lot, which some might find charming, but which we found trying.
£159 for a double is serious money, even for London. The plates of ham and sliced cheese every morning do not make for a good continental breakfast and the lift is bijou.
On the plus side, the staff are very helpful and friendly. Would I use it again? Only if I could get that £99 for a double deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john12p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for one night in February 2012. Great value for central London - £99 for double including a very good continental breakfast. Very close to Hyde Park with good underground access, location is lovely and reasonably quiet. Not too far from West End and very accesible, we took taxi to get there (£8) and we walked back after visiting theatre which took about 30mins. The only problem was that the room we had was a smoking room - I was unaware of this when booking, they provided us with some air freshener. If we had been visiting for more than one night we would have requested to move. We would stay here again but request a non-smoking room. Good experience of a central London hotel visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StokeGiffordRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is very near Paddington Station but unless you know your way around London, take a cab....it took me the better part of an hour to find the place. That said, it was in a very tony neighborhood, a block away from Hyde Park and in a charming area, with restaurants not too far away.

I booked the hotel for an overnight double on a business trip to England. The room was quite small even though I had booked their Club Room ( supposedly premium). One could get around, but by no means ample. The bathroom was adequate, the amenities nice for a hotel in that class. The lobby is a bit worn but quite charming in the typically British fashion. They serve afternoon tea, which we did not avail ourselves of.
A major plus...I made a mistake with my reservation and was one day off!! they noticed my error, did not charge me for it and we went forward without a hitch.
Breakfast was more than adequate and full English Breakfast loads you up for the day!
Wifi though adequate, is five p. per day....per device!! so if you don't want to spend a bundle on internet choose wisely. They also forgot to mention this small fact when we asked about wifi....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seberus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotels in London can be a mixed experience - and rather expensive too .
We have now visited The Commodore twice over the last couple of months .
The hotel is located in Lancaster Gate ( parallell to Bayswater Road ) and hence quiet and still just 100 meter from Hyde Park, midway between the undergrounds Lancaster Gate and Queensway .

Hotel seems to be refurbished recently and all rooms are newly decorated with new TV etc.
Rooms are rather small but functional, incl . coffee/tea-making facilities.
Nice bathrooms.
Breakfast included ( £ 99 for a double ) and served in the basement restaurant . Maybe not charming restaurant, but brekfast definitely OK.
Value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#509 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#339 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#371 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing