We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Commodore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #613 of 1,073 hotels in London
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for one night in February 2012. Great value for central London - £99 for double including a very good continental breakfast. Very close to Hyde Park with good underground access, location is lovely and reasonably quiet. Not too far from West End and very accesible, we took taxi to get there (£8) and we walked back after visiting theatre which took about 30mins. The only problem was that the room we had was a smoking room - I was unaware of this when booking, they provided us with some air freshener. If we had been visiting for more than one night we would have requested to move. We would stay here again but request a non-smoking room. Good experience of a central London hotel visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    225
    141
    50
    35
See reviews for
80
209
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is very near Paddington Station but unless you know your way around London, take a cab....it took me the better part of an hour to find the place. That said, it was in a very tony neighborhood, a block away from Hyde Park and in a charming area, with restaurants not too far away.

I booked the hotel for an overnight double on a business trip to England. The room was quite small even though I had booked their Club Room ( supposedly premium). One could get around, but by no means ample. The bathroom was adequate, the amenities nice for a hotel in that class. The lobby is a bit worn but quite charming in the typically British fashion. They serve afternoon tea, which we did not avail ourselves of.
A major plus...I made a mistake with my reservation and was one day off!! they noticed my error, did not charge me for it and we went forward without a hitch.
Breakfast was more than adequate and full English Breakfast loads you up for the day!
Wifi though adequate, is five p. per day....per device!! so if you don't want to spend a bundle on internet choose wisely. They also forgot to mention this small fact when we asked about wifi....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotels in London can be a mixed experience - and rather expensive too .
We have now visited The Commodore twice over the last couple of months .
The hotel is located in Lancaster Gate ( parallell to Bayswater Road ) and hence quiet and still just 100 meter from Hyde Park, midway between the undergrounds Lancaster Gate and Queensway .

Hotel seems to be refurbished recently and all rooms are newly decorated with new TV etc.
Rooms are rather small but functional, incl . coffee/tea-making facilities.
Nice bathrooms.
Breakfast included ( £ 99 for a double ) and served in the basement restaurant . Maybe not charming restaurant, but brekfast definitely OK.
Value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose this hotel for location. It is less than a 5 minute walk from the Lancaster Gate underground station - and there are buses that run along the main road (Bayswater).

The room is small, but find most non-chain hotel rooms quite small in Europe - so was not really surprised. The bathroom was quite large - with Neutrogena toiletries. The bed was comfortable, and the sheets very clean and in good condition. One negative, in my opinion, is the carpeting. It was quite worn on the edges - but was clean.

There are actually 2 elevators - but both are very small. I was happy with the continental breakfast --> juice, coffee or tea, freshly baked croissants, rolls, bread, cheese, meat, cereal, yogurt, 3minute & 6 minute boiled eggs - and a bowl of fruit. There was the option of a full breakfast if you wanted - but £10 (approx) for this. We had no issues with the temperature in the room - there was an air conditioner, but we didn't turn it on. The heat worked just fine.

We were in a double room at the back on the 1st floor - and it was quiet. The floors are a bit thin, so you can hear people walking above you - but not really annoying for us.

We didn't eat in the restaurant other than for breakfast - as there are a number of options within walking distance. We got a good deal booking for a week in the fall - £99/night - and would stay again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 101 - overlooked a small courtyard at the back of the hotel. It was very quiet here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had an issue in my room and they changed me right away to an even better and bigger room. Good service and breakfast. I believe the hotel went to some renovations lately. It was a good cost x benefit choose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for four nights in October. Room in first floor against back room, no view. Stayed before in a great room in forth floor with small terrace with a great view towards the mews, missed this feature!

Room small, but with big bathroom with a great shower, and the cleaning of the room was good. Carpets on floor.

Breakfast good for a continetal buffet. The hotel bar was very quite, and this reflected the choices on beers, with just two brands in bootles.

Close to subway, both Lancaster Gate and Bayswater.

Disappointing that on a hotel with this rate for rooms don´t provide free wi-fi - this is expected in 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel rooms are quite small and the building is just about heratige listing.The breakfast and dinner meals were good.The lift to meals area is very small,two people with cases will struggle.Opposite to Hyde Park which is worth a walk through.The hop on hop off bus is not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#335 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.