We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Commodore Hotel to your Saves list
Commodore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #644 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Aarhus
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotels in London can be a mixed experience - and rather expensive too .
We have now visited The Commodore twice over the last couple of months .
The hotel is located in Lancaster Gate ( parallell to Bayswater Road ) and hence quiet and still just 100 meter from Hyde Park, midway between the undergrounds Lancaster Gate and Queensway .

Hotel seems to be refurbished recently and all rooms are newly decorated with new TV etc.
Rooms are rather small but functional, incl . coffee/tea-making facilities.
Nice bathrooms.
Breakfast included ( £ 99 for a double ) and served in the basement restaurant . Maybe not charming restaurant, but brekfast definitely OK.
Value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    227
    144
    51
    43
See reviews for
83
215
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose this hotel for location. It is less than a 5 minute walk from the Lancaster Gate underground station - and there are buses that run along the main road (Bayswater).

The room is small, but find most non-chain hotel rooms quite small in Europe - so was not really surprised. The bathroom was quite large - with Neutrogena toiletries. The bed was comfortable, and the sheets very clean and in good condition. One negative, in my opinion, is the carpeting. It was quite worn on the edges - but was clean.

There are actually 2 elevators - but both are very small. I was happy with the continental breakfast --> juice, coffee or tea, freshly baked croissants, rolls, bread, cheese, meat, cereal, yogurt, 3minute & 6 minute boiled eggs - and a bowl of fruit. There was the option of a full breakfast if you wanted - but £10 (approx) for this. We had no issues with the temperature in the room - there was an air conditioner, but we didn't turn it on. The heat worked just fine.

We were in a double room at the back on the 1st floor - and it was quiet. The floors are a bit thin, so you can hear people walking above you - but not really annoying for us.

We didn't eat in the restaurant other than for breakfast - as there are a number of options within walking distance. We got a good deal booking for a week in the fall - £99/night - and would stay again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 101 - overlooked a small courtyard at the back of the hotel. It was very quiet here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had an issue in my room and they changed me right away to an even better and bigger room. Good service and breakfast. I believe the hotel went to some renovations lately. It was a good cost x benefit choose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for four nights in October. Room in first floor against back room, no view. Stayed before in a great room in forth floor with small terrace with a great view towards the mews, missed this feature!

Room small, but with big bathroom with a great shower, and the cleaning of the room was good. Carpets on floor.

Breakfast good for a continetal buffet. The hotel bar was very quite, and this reflected the choices on beers, with just two brands in bootles.

Close to subway, both Lancaster Gate and Bayswater.

Disappointing that on a hotel with this rate for rooms don´t provide free wi-fi - this is expected in 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel rooms are quite small and the building is just about heratige listing.The breakfast and dinner meals were good.The lift to meals area is very small,two people with cases will struggle.Opposite to Hyde Park which is worth a walk through.The hop on hop off bus is not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

we stayed in this hotel when we went to see the last night of the proms in September. For just one night this hotel was okay but such a small room for the price. Our bathroom was bigger than our actual room. The room overall was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was the biggest dissapointment as we thought we would get a cooked breakfast and told when we arrived to the restaurant that we had to pay another £10 each if we wanted a cooked breakfast, seeing as we payed nearly £100 for the room (that was tiny) you would think you would get a decent breakfast. The location is really good for the tube station and also hyde park. Very nice hotel but wouldnt come again as too highly priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Positives: The Commodore looks very impressive as you walk up and is a nice hotel in a good location. The rooms are a fine size. The shower is powerful. The beds are comfortable.

Negatives: It is ROASTING hot with no air con, even in autumn we couldn't sleep for the heat. Our shower was broken (but someone did fix it quickly). My bed sheets were ripped. I really wouldn't recommend the restaurant - at breakfast there was a long queue to get seated. Luckily there was only two of us so we got a table quicker. The food was ok and service okish. We went down for dinner as we'd had a long day and we were the only people there (on a Sat nght!). The waitresses weren't particularly good even with so few customers and the food was average to say the best (my friend who had come to meet us had burger and chips and her chips were completely bizarre - really greasy with no potato inside)... The lift is teeny.

Overall: We got a good deal (£119 on booking.com) and it was handy for us as we were visiting Kensigton Palace (it's right across the road from the lovely Kensington Gardens) but I was slightly disappointed but not enough to warn people off at all.

Room Tip: Our room was very warm and we were on the top floor - perhaps lower floors would be cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#339 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.