We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and small hotel close to Hyde Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Commodore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #604 of 1,073 hotels in London
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quite and small hotel close to Hyde Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for four nights in October. Room in first floor against back room, no view. Stayed before in a great room in forth floor with small terrace with a great view towards the mews, missed this feature!

Room small, but with big bathroom with a great shower, and the cleaning of the room was good. Carpets on floor.

Breakfast good for a continetal buffet. The hotel bar was very quite, and this reflected the choices on beers, with just two brands in bootles.

Close to subway, both Lancaster Gate and Bayswater.

Disappointing that on a hotel with this rate for rooms don´t provide free wi-fi - this is expected in 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    263
    169
    61
    36
See reviews for
79
206
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel rooms are quite small and the building is just about heratige listing.The breakfast and dinner meals were good.The lift to meals area is very small,two people with cases will struggle.Opposite to Hyde Park which is worth a walk through.The hop on hop off bus is not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

we stayed in this hotel when we went to see the last night of the proms in September. For just one night this hotel was okay but such a small room for the price. Our bathroom was bigger than our actual room. The room overall was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was the biggest dissapointment as we thought we would get a cooked breakfast and told when we arrived to the restaurant that we had to pay another £10 each if we wanted a cooked breakfast, seeing as we payed nearly £100 for the room (that was tiny) you would think you would get a decent breakfast. The location is really good for the tube station and also hyde park. Very nice hotel but wouldnt come again as too highly priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Positives: The Commodore looks very impressive as you walk up and is a nice hotel in a good location. The rooms are a fine size. The shower is powerful. The beds are comfortable.

Negatives: It is ROASTING hot with no air con, even in autumn we couldn't sleep for the heat. Our shower was broken (but someone did fix it quickly). My bed sheets were ripped. I really wouldn't recommend the restaurant - at breakfast there was a long queue to get seated. Luckily there was only two of us so we got a table quicker. The food was ok and service okish. We went down for dinner as we'd had a long day and we were the only people there (on a Sat nght!). The waitresses weren't particularly good even with so few customers and the food was average to say the best (my friend who had come to meet us had burger and chips and her chips were completely bizarre - really greasy with no potato inside)... The lift is teeny.

Overall: We got a good deal (£119 on booking.com) and it was handy for us as we were visiting Kensigton Palace (it's right across the road from the lovely Kensington Gardens) but I was slightly disappointed but not enough to warn people off at all.

Room Tip: Our room was very warm and we were on the top floor - perhaps lower floors would be cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is in quit area and close to Underground Stop. Room was not big but if your just looking to visit London nothing wrong with this place. Also a nice pub close by. The breakfast was decent and not bad to start your day off. Across the street from Hyde Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Commodore is a quietly stately hotel, located in the Bayswater section of London, just off of Hyde Park. The rooms, which come in varying sizes, are simple and very comfortable. The hotel offers a continental buffet breakfast and full dinner (dinner menu is very good, but service can be a little slow at times). The entire front (Reception), restaurant and housekeeping staff is very responsive and helpful.

Located close to public transportation [taxis/bus and tube (subway)] it is very convenient to access Central London as well as long-distance rail and air service.

Whenever my wife and/or I are in London, The Commodore is our "home".

Room Tip: Given the speed of the service provided, if you are on a tight time-table [i.e. business meeting; pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed at the Commodore for a third time, having been cleaned up on the exterior along with the rest of the area this hotel really covers all bases. Good location, near to a tube station, short walk and youre in Hyde park, decent rooms, maybe on the small size(most London rooms are at this price level) good continental breakfast (full cooked at a suppliment) The staff always very helpful and polite. All in all a great place to stay.The only negative is that the ground floor rooms tend to be a little noisy from rooms and corridors above.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground and lower ground if possible, but this is a very minor issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#329 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.