We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of London Guards Hotel

Save Saved
You added London Guards Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London Guards Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36-37 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #599 of 1,073 hotels in London
Cave Creek
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

it was a great little hotel! beautiful on the inside and out. rooms were multi-level but very good water pressure! wifi was available for free but connection was a little weak. overall i was very happy with the stay. rooms were hot and A/C didnt work but opening the windows helped tons. breakfast was very convenient and theres a convenience store just up the road

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    191
    94
    43
    33
See reviews for
108
95
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Helpful staff; great location; basic, scruffy, though reasonably clean, rooms. Bathrooms fairly scruffy. Beds quite hard and cheap. Would consider staying here again because of its price and location, but only one night. Ask for a rear room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great position , opposite Kensington Gardens and few minutes walk from Lancaster Gate tube . Staff on reception polite , helpful and check in swift . Room itself dated and shabby round the edges . We booked a twin room but were suprised to find we had a double and a single bed which was ideal . Bathroom compact and again shabby but shower worked well and was hot . This is an ideal hotel if you just want it as a base for a couple of days from which to explore London .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I couldn't get into my room as there's a certain way that you open the door which I couldn't master. The hotel staff were very kind and helped me each time I needed to get into the room.

However the room itself was small, there was a large dried out damp patch on the wall, marks on the carpet, the curtain didn't fit the window, the taps in the bathroom were rusty and the shower curtain had mould on it.

On the plus side, I didn't hear any noise from neighbouring rooms.

It wasn't a comfortable experience and I won't be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was the first time i've stayed here but certainly won't be the last....
Inside it's not the most modern hotel you'll stay at but that aside it was very clean and tidy and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.. We booked a twin room which consisted of a double bed and on a seperate level a single bed which is quirky i have to say!
It's in a fantastic location and for value for money i reckon it must be one of the best there is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was a bit concerned about he so-so review of this hotel but took the risk and booked a four night stay when we were in London.

Pros - Very friendly and helpful staff. The front desk in particular was very helpful and assisted us a fair bit. They were kind and gracious.

Pros - The hotel is conveniently located, with the Lancaster Gate tube station located 8 minutes walk away.

Cons - The carpet in the room seemed not to have been cleaned for a while and my family & I would not walk around the room bare footed.

Cons - We got a second floor room facing the road. I am not sure who the occupants of the adjoining building were but they seem to love sitting along the street and making a loud ruckus every night. Laughing and shouting until very late at night. DON'T GET A ROOM FACING THE ROAD.

Overall, given the prices of London hotels, I would probably come back to the London Guards if the room carpets were cleaned and shampooed and if they can get the people of the adjoining property to keep it down at night.

Room Tip: Avoid getting rooms facing Lancaster Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I booked a single room and got a double so pleased about that.The fridge in the room very useful if a bit noisy. The room was spacious, big bath and very hot water. Lots of storage space and a bathroom cabinet. The room was like your spare room at home! Bed very comfortable

This hotel is in a quiet location just off Bayswater Road and seems to cater for the older traveller who tend not to be door slammers (anyone who has read my reviews will detect a theme of disliking door slammers but that didn't happen here)

Only gripe is the lift which is noisy and could be a problem if you're in a room next to it. Didn't have breakfast as 7.30 is too late

I'd definitely stay here again but it is almost always fully booked. One of the better experiences during my last 9 weeks working in London.

Room Tip: try and get a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Guards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Guards Hotel

Address: 36-37 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #599 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — London Guards Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an almost noise-free location, yet a two minute stroll to Kensington Gardens and only five minutes from Paddington and Lancaster Gate Stations, The London Guards Hotel offers affordable accommodation for tourists and business travellers alike.The traditional White Stucco Grade Two Listed Building has room sizes catering from one to six guests. Our low room rates and recently improved continental breakfast mean that many of our guests return time after time.Harrods, Hyde Park, Queensway and High Street Kensington are within walking distance of The Hotel, whilst a very short minute tube ride takes you to Oxford Circus for Oxford Street, Regent Street and to Tottenham Court Road for Cinemas and Theatreland.A quick tube or bus trip to the West and you will find yourselves at Westfield for its fantastic shopping and eateries.The Hotel is easily reached from all of London’s Airports and Railway Stations and we can easily arrange a Pickup if required.Central London has so much to offer and, at the end of the day, you can relax in your comfortable room before heading out again for an evening in one of the World’s greatest cities.We look forward to welcoming you at London Guards Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your London Guards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guard Hotel London
London Guards Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Guards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.