We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location, comfy bed, helpful staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Covent Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Covent Garden to your Saves list
Travelodge London Covent Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Drury Lane, London WC2B 5RE, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #445 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location, comfy bed, helpful staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is a little gem. Budget price, spotlessly clean, great breakfast (although not cheap), genuinely friendly staff who want to help.

Stayed in a double room with my daughter as we were both working in London for the day & we were delighted. Only slight issue was the temperature in the room - it was very very hot even in December.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    866
    375
    143
    115
See reviews for
463
751
61
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I just stayed here for the second time and this is a clean and tidy, but basic hotel that is decent value and very central. The check in is not terribly friendly and there are a large number of rooms so it does feel a lot like you are being stacked in and it's not got any kind of ambience at all, but then you probably wouldn't stay here if you were looking for that.

The rooms are a decent size but very little at all in them - an open plan wardrobe, small desk, small telly etc. The bathroom was clean and tidy but you don't get any toiletries and the shower tends to soak the floor as it's a curtain that meets the tray, so be careful and put a towel down.

The windows are annoyingly small and don't let in much light, but a high floor can give you a decent city view, depending on which way you face. For a busy hotel I found it quiet on both occasions and I slept well enough. I think higher floors or rooms away from the street are probably better if you are sensitive to noise.

There is no feel to this hotel at all, hence my review title. I have eaten here before and it wasn't very good, but the staff in the bar were very friendly, much nicer than the reception staff who seemed a bit harassed and stressed.

If you want a quick bite to eat, Eco Pizza directly opposite was very nice and absurdly cheap with friendly staff. There are lots of places nearby as well.

I will probably stay here again as it's good value, but it is pretty stripped back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - quieter and you might get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review Andrew R. We do expect our staff to offer a warm and friendly welcome to all of our guests so we are truly sorry to learn you felt our staff could have been more friendly on this occasion. It’s regrettable to learn you were disappointed with the facilities we offer, we want our customers to have a comfortable stay with us and we feel we provide all that’s needed for a great night’s sleep, this includes a clean room and bathroom, a television and tea/coffee facilities. Unfortunately we do not provide toiletries in our rooms as a brand standard however should our guests forget any items there is a vending machine at reception to purchase anything extra. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our Hotel Manager so that they can be aware of the improvements which need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hi folks have stayed here every time iv been in London, I really enjoy my stay here the whole time.The hotel spotless clean staff are very helpful, and centeral to all areas, and not far from tube. Only problem is wifi is way too dear.Rooms are basic but clean and modern. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Wifi too dear and not great. buy a uk sim and ur away with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Booked to stay 7th Nov as had plans in central London on the Saturday and throughout Sunday and thought staying would be easier. Check in was easy and convenient, although had a long wait as so many others were trying to do the same.

Got to room, which was on the 6th floor, and the problems began. Room was tiny, with no natural light as the window was blocked by another building. It was also cold, with no signal.

After quickly dumping bags we went out. We returned later that evening and noticed the trains...every thirty seconds. We waited and waited expecting the trains to stop for the night. We gave up at 1:45 am and were pretty annoyed by this time.

When I got down to reception there was a family complaining as they had checked in and then had their room given away to someone else. The hotel was full so they were basically told tough. They were left without anywhere to stay at all...pretty appalling!

The lady at the desk clearly didn't want to deal with me after having all the abuse from the family in front so pretty eagerly gave me 50% back. I said this wasn't good enough, but she said that's all she could do. She didn't really seem to know what she was doing.

Eventually the trains did stop for the night, and then they began again at about 4:30am. We got about 2 hours sleep. For a hotel, I would have thought it was pretty fundamental that you be able to sleep?! This hotel is in a ridiculous location and certainly not worth £125 a night. I really don't understand how a hotel can put you in a room on top of a train and not pre-warn you. If you're being offered a cheap room and you know, fair enough, but to just assume you'll pay and put up with it is DISGUSTING.

Needless to say we were exhausted and did nothing that we wanted to on Sunday. Our trip was completely ruined and we went home to sleep.

I am still not happy, and want the other £50 refunded too. I would not have stayed in this hotel if I had have been warned about the noise and feel I have been completely taken advantage of. I have emailed Travelodge and filled in a review asking to be contacted, but as of yet I've heard nothing back. From what I've read on here, I shouldn't expect to.

If you have any sense at all, you'll avoid this dingy, noisey, aeroplane bathroomed monstrosity and book somewhere half way decent, or at least cheaper.

Room Tip: Check about train noise before your book. Reception staff were well aware of noise in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We are truly sorry that you were disturbed by noises outside at the hotel and did not have great nights sleep Madge1984, the location of the hotel is in the hustle and bustle of the city so regrettably some external noise may be heard. In an attempt to reduce noise we do provide double glazing and insulated walls however despite these measures we cannot always prevent the noise outside of the hotel. Our Customer Care team do respond to every contact received via our website so we would like to apologise for the delay. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Having read other reviews, I was a bit hesitant (small rooms, dirty bedding, miserable staff etc). However, the room and the bedding was flawlessly clean, the room big enough to sleep and staff cheery

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Cheap, cheerful and basic. Very clean rooms and spacious. New King size comfy beds which were very comfortable. We stayed in the Drury Lane site, there is another site across the road. The hotel was clean and looked quite newly decorated. We didn't hear any noise from within the hotel or outside the hotel during the night. We didn't eat there but we did have drinks when we returned to the hotel at night. There was only one member of staff behind the bar which led to long waits for service, but it didn't bother us too much. There is a really good cafe for breakfast outside the hotel on Drury Lane, cheap and really good value. It is an excellent location, particularly for the theatres and Oxford Street. Handy for the underground as well. will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on Drury lane site are smaller than the others. Third floor was quiet. Room 315 very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is what you expect from any Travelodge, no frills and pretty basic. However the staff were incredibly friendly and the service was fantastic. Also the location is fantastic, it's only a couple of minutes walk from Covent Garden and for the prices of the rooms this is a fantastic place to stay if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Covent Garden

Address: 10 Drury Lane, London WC2B 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#275 Luxury Hotel in London
#350 Family Hotel in London
#360 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge London Covent Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge London Covent Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Covent Garden Hotel London
Travelodge Covent Garden
Travel Lodge Covent Garden
Drury Lane Hotel
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Inn Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Covent Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.