We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   172 Gloucester Place | Regents Park, London NW2 6DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #684 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A very tired hotel with tiny rooms. They only serve a cold continental style breakfast so don't expect a good old full English, just cereals & toast etc.
All staff were pleasant enough but I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    98
    68
    31
    25
See reviews for
35
123
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was relieved to find a hotel in this location on short notice, still paying London rates but not as audaciously as other brand names in the area. The rating and (most) reviews gave cause for optimism.

Upon checking in I had to carry my bags up a flight of stairs as the elevator stops at the 3rd floor. Fine, it's London - small rooms etc are the norm although this felt almost Parisian with the do-it-yourself double sliding doors to fit into the tiny elevator.

Unfortunately my room was not even close to acceptable. I would have been better off in a hostel to be quite honest, and Ive stayed in many a lot more presentable than this. My room was absolutely freezing - I kept my coat and scarf on for around 30 minutes, while I checked that the windows were closed and the heating was on max. It was. I got so cold in the room, combined with the completely shabby look (see pictures) that I decided to pay for another hotel on the same night. Ive never done this before but I knew I would never sleep properly in a room like this. Possibly the most negative experience Ive had in a hotel to date (and I travel a lot).

The owner offered me another room but having already seen a glimpse of another I politely declined as I'd had enough, and walked to the tube to travel further out to another hotel. Expensive night but at least I slept ok in the end. Having done quite a bit of research I have to say the price didn't reflect the quality at all; if it had appeared as a very low-budget option I would have been less surprised. However it is listed as a 3-star option on various booking websites.

I have no idea if the other floors are in better condition; the lobby was basic but seemed absolutely fine, so perhaps you can be luckier than I was.

Overall I'm sorry to write such a negative review about someone's business, but clearly the owner needs to ensure the entire hotel is kept at some form of minimum standard. I've never written a review like this before, as I normally wonder about reviews I see with such low ratings. I think in this case its entirely justified. Hope they get their act together in the near future.

Room Tip: Cannot understand the positive reviews, so presumably do not accept a room on the 4th floor, not lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel was excellent value given the price and location. It is staffed 24 hours per day with very helpful and friendly staff. We would definitely stay there again and recommend to others. Close to main line and tube stations and walking distance to various attractions. On edge of Regents Park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked this hotel at special Gala Hotels rate of under 50 pounds/nite. Great value for that rate. Friendly 24-hour reception' free wi-fi at lounge; good spread of breakfast. Queen bed room I got was cramped (not sure of configuration of others) with only enough space to walk around the bed. Bathroom and toilets were also minimal size but they were clean so can't complain for that price. Stay was during 2nd week of January 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights .It was very nice they have a beautiful breakfast .Which is very impotant for us .Sleeping at your hotel is wonderful and the entire staff are very nice and good kindly Bus station for your return is 2min walking down the street Glochester place. 3 min walk to Baker street metro station and Main bus stop of Hop-on Hop-off tours. Close to many pubs. Hotel is not 3 star - rooms are extremely small with old furniture. Good cleanliness. Nice breakfast. There are free coffee and tea at any time whish is really good. My global opinion

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. First of all hotel has perfect location. Only 3-4 min walk from Baker street station - perfect if you arrive from luton with bus tansfer. Bus station for your return is 2min walking down the street Glochester place. 3 min walk to Baker street metro station and Main bus stop of Hop-on Hop-off tours. Close to many pubs. Hotel is not 3 star - rooms are extremely small with old furniture. Good cleanliness. Nice breakfast. There are free coffee and tea at any time whish is really good. My global opinion: Not 3-star, but this hotel is very good value for money - we paid 90eur per night for dbl room with breakfast and we get very special offer - free 3th night, so we paid 180eur for total 3nights - you can't find similar price for central located hotel. Good for short stay and once again rooms are really extremely small!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I felt something was wrong when the taxi driver had never heard of this hotel before. I chose this hotel for my recent stay in London as it seemed a decent place...what a mistake! The hotel is shabby and dirty, the carpeting has stains everywhere, and the room I had was so small I could hardly get dressed, although I was told it was one ofe the larger rooms! The only bright spot is breakfast, which is included with the room, and has a choice of cereals, soft boiled eggs, cheese, ham, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice. I will definitely avoid this hotel in my next stay in the City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 172 Gloucester Place | Regents Park, London NW2 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #684 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Americana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located and thanks to our close proximity to Baker Street Underground Station guests staying at the Americana have easy access to London's business district as well as its many tourist attractions, shops and theatres. The Americana Hotel has a friendly welcoming atmosphere and our staff is available 24 hours per day to take care of your detailed requirements and maintain a safe environment during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.