We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Russell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Russell to your Saves list
Hotel Russell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #487 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Bourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was really nice and clean.
The room was a little on the small side but it was for only one night, however the bed creaked really badly which was quite annoying.
THe breakfast was lovely and a lot of food to pick from
Would stop again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    1,049
    664
    329
    203
See reviews for
327
1,028
270
737
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

on arriving at the hotel we were checked in quickly I was looking for the bedroom as it looked fantastic on the website a standard rm great.opening the door we found a small room so unlike the "standard on the website"the rooms were clean albeit dust on the lightbulb at the top,breakfast was everything from cereals to scrambled egg the toaster wasn't working and why can someone not make a milkjug that doesn't tip the lot over you?? the shower wouldn't drain properly that was sort of fixed for a four star hotel it should be a 3 star hotel receptionists and staff were friendly this is a three star hotel, all these things should have been looked at before we arrived

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Russell in London the night before the start of the Olympics and I wasn't expecting too much. However, when I checked in, I was told that the room I had booked was very small and for an extra £20 I could upgrade to an executive suite - at that price I thought it would be rude to say no ;)

The room was absolutely gorgeous, as well as being massive; it was on the top floor and had fantastic views out of the huge bay window. The shower was one of the most modern I have ever used - water sprays from everywhere!

The staff were very well presented and very friendly - not always the case in other hotels unfortunately.

I cannot comment on breakfast as I overslept (in the very comfortable bed), so I did not have time to try it, but I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in London (particularly if I can get a reasonable deal).

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed with my daughter in a superior twin room on the fifth floor. The Reception staff were efficient, friendly and excellent allowing us to check in early. The Concierge was very helpful and charming. The room was very warm and the air conditioning unit would not go below 19degrees. Surprised to see scratched cabinets and furniture. The windows were filthy. The em suite shower was grubby with black mould on the grout and the shower partly broken. No mini bar in room. Big queue to get to breakfast in large dining room, felt like a cheap, buffet abroad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were extremely disappointed with this hotel which is more like a 3 star than a four star. The room we were allocated (230) was not big enough to swing a cat and the bathroom was so small you had to virtually stand in the toilet to get out of the shower. The room was also very noisy, we could hear everyone coming and going from their rooms and had the constant noise of the traffic outside as the windows were not double glazed.

We had to queue for ten minutes to get a table for breakfast and the food was not much better than a greasy spoon. We have stayed in Principal Hayley hotels before and not been disappointed but we don't feel that the Russell meets to the usual standards. The only plus point was the Concierge, a lovely man who was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid room 230 which is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

5 of us arrived at the front desk with 3 prepaid reservations only to have the clerk disappear. Minutes later she returned telling us that our rooms were unavailable. (This seems to have happened to some 50 other "guests".)
Instead, we were told we had been relocated to a hotel several miles away (not to be found on my London Streetwise map). Explaining that this was unacceptable, they did find another hotel which had a more suitable location for our need to be somewhat close to the 2 theaters where we had tickets.
I have never been treated as shabbily as this by any other establishment any where in my travels.
I would never even consider the Russell Hotel for my next trip to London

Room Tip: Don't bother. You could find your room in Brighton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked through Gala - best deal around, all went smoothly. Quick check in. Lovely hotel and room. Was my birthday and had a card and a piece of cake waiting in the room - nice touch. Breakfast was good. Ideal location for all attractions. Met other family members at hotel, all had nice rooms. Enjoyable stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Russell

Address: Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#356 Romantic Hotel in London
#360 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Russell 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Russell is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London’s most exclusive addresses, Hotel Russell is the perfect base for business or pleasure. With 19 air conditioned meeting rooms you can rest assured that your business requirements will be met with ease.It is our mission to bring you the very best luxury hotel in London and we can guarantee that Hotel Russell will not disappoint. This Victorian hotel stands out from the crowd with spectacular views over Russell Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Russell London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Russell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.