We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel let down by terrible evening meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Russell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Russell to your Saves list
Hotel Russell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #514 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel let down by terrible evening meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a two night break in this hotel on a deal which included a meal on the first evening. All staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room on the fourth floor was clean and comfortable but was overlooking the generators which gave a constant whirring but this didnt keep us awake at night (if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs). Breakfast was good, we took heed of reviewer's warnings and got there early. The only let down of the whole stay was the terrible evening meal - my starter of smoked haddock and leek tart for more resembled a rock than a tart but the worst disappointment came with the main course of squash and chickpea masala which was a plate of a solid brown mud looking substance which you could lliterally lift up on your fork, the "naan bread" was actually a stale pitta bread and the "corriander rice" showed no signs of corriander. My partner was no more impressed with his sausages and "bubble and squeak" alias a splodge of bland mashed potato. To be fair, the when the waitress came to clear our table and saw that i hadnt eaten my food she did offer to get me a replacement but by this time I had lost my appetite. So the moral of this story is stay at the hotel but go out for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebita D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of your room as well as the friendliness of our team as we endeavour to make all of our guests feel as special as possible.

Breakfast is extremely popular at our Hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed this as our team of Executive Chefs create a variety of fresh dishes each morning to suit any palate.

We are so disappointed to read your comments regarding your evening meal as we normally receive many compliments on flare and innovation of our dishes. Please be assured that our Head Chef is personally addressing this as this is certainly not the high standards that we pride ourselves in. I am glad that your waitress did offer to replace you meal, however we would like to have an opportunity to turn around your experience regarding this. Please do contact our Guest Relations Executive, Bebita Dhaya at bebita.dhaya@principal-hayley.com and she will be delighted to assist you.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    932
    611
    302
    192
See reviews for
290
905
243
672
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Found the hotel to be of a good standard with helpful staff on reception and in the dining areas. Our room was clean and spacious with comfortable beds and good facilities. We had room 640 which had 2 double beds and a seating area. It was very quiet with no traffic noise so I assume it was at the back of the hotel.

The breakfast was good with a good selction of fruit, cold pastries and continental cheese and meats etc and we did not have to wait for a table. Hot items were good and varied although the sausages were pretty horrible! The bar food was OK but a tad expensive for what it was. Nothing unusual for London!

Would definately stay here again though. Lovely marble floors and chandeliers throughout with attractive and colourful decoration.

Room Tip: 640 a good spacious family room and very quiet. Large bathroom with bath and overhead shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebita D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us.
We have a variety of different rooms to suit our guest preferences and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the comfort, spaciousness and high standards of your room.

Breakfast is extremely important to us as we want all our guests to start their day content and happy. Our team of Executive Chefs have created a wide variety of dishes to suit any palate. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy the sausages as we usually receive many compliments on this. Please be assured that your feedback has been given to our Head Chef as we do pride ourselves on providing exceptional standards throughout your stay.

Please also be assured that our bar menu is in line with other leading hotels and will certain take your comments on board.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from the Russell after a good weekend. The room was clean and comfortable. Full breakfast was very good but could have been hotter on the Sunday. Russell Square tube station is just around the corner, only 1 or 2 stations from most sites and theatres. Staff in the hotel were helpfully and very pleasant. Will return again

Room Tip: Ask for one fairly high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebita D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you found your room comfortable and clean as we endeavour to make each guest feel as relaxed as possible during their stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed your full English breakfast, however we are sorry that you found your breakfast was not as hot as anticipated on Sunday. We will certainly share your feedback with our team of Executive Chefs.

We are a stone’s throw from many of London’s major attractions and transport links and we pleased that our location was so convenient for you.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford Uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our third stay at this hotel, but our last stay was around 3 years ago. The hotel has been refurbished and our room, on the 4th floor had lovely views across London. The room was spacious and the bathroom had new fittings and tiling. We like the location of this hotel and we park our car in the Imperial hotel car park, which is 100 yards from the Russell hotel. This is £18 for 24 hours and is much cheaper than other parking options. The staff do deserve a mention for being helpful and courteous at all times.

Room Tip: Shop around for a good deal on this hotel which is housed in a beautiful building in a very convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebita D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We endeavour to make each stay memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that our team were so helpful and courteous at all times. Please be assured that your very kind comments have been shared with them.

We do appreciate your loyalty and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with work & it was lovely. The room was great, service was very friendly & the breakfast was very good. The only slight down side was that the hotel was extortionate. I would definitely stay here again as it is so central & next to Russell Square tube.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebita D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us including you room, friendly service and breakfast as we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service throughout our hotel. We are also glad that you appreciated the ideal location as we are within walking distance to many transport links as well as major tourist attractions.

Please be assured that our prices are extremely competitive and we ensure that we provide the highest possible standard to our guests during their stay with us.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Second stay at the hotel Russell and I would return again. Ideal location around 15 minutes walk from Euston station and about the same distance to Oxford street. Our room was ready early and our standard double was very comfortable. Friendly staff and a lovely breakfast. We stayed for the evening meal which was a little disappointing but there are many other places to eat nearby. I would recommend this hotel and will probably return later this year. Set only yards from Russell square underground it has an impressive public area as you enter and efficient staff on reception. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebita D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are ideally located as we are within walking distance of many of London’s major attractions and transport links and we are pleased that you found our location ideal.

We understand that our guests may arrive earlier than anticipated and hence endeavour to ensure all of our rooms are prepared as soon as possible for you.

We do apologise for the disappointment you experienced with your meal and do hope that you shared your thoughts with our team as we strive to create and maintain high standards throughout our Hotel.

We are pleased that our staff were friendly and that you enjoyed your breakfast with us.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west lancs
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from a two nights stay at the Hotel Russell (10th till 12th Jan). The hotel is in a great location,just a 15min walk to Oxford St, the hotel room (318) was large enough for the two of us,very clean and well equiped,though the windows were a little drafty but all in all a great room. Breakfast was brilliant,lovely dinning room with plenty of choice to eat,also great staff serving, it amazes me why anyone would complain about the breakfast as did one previous reviewer.Check in was very quick and we found all the staff at the Russell to be friendly and did all they could to make our stay a memorable one.I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone looking to stay in London

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebita D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you had a lovely stay with us.
We are extremely well located as we are within walking distance to many of London’s major attractions and transport links. We are glad that our location was so convenient for you during your visit.

We are sorry that you found your window slightly draughty and will certainly highlight this to our Maintenance team. We are also pleased, however that you enjoyed your room.

We are delighted that you also enjoyed your breakfast experience including the service provided by our breakfast team. Our team of Executive chefs take pride in creating a wide variety of fresh dishes on the day.

We endeavour to make each stay memorable for our guests and we are very happy that our team were so friendly and helpful.

We do appreciate you recommending Hotel Russell and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Russell

Address: Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Russell 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Russell is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London’s most exclusive addresses, Hotel Russell is the perfect base for business or pleasure. With 19 air conditioned meeting rooms you can rest assured that your business requirements will be met with ease.It is our mission to bring you the very best luxury hotel in London and we can guarantee that Hotel Russell will not disappoint. This Victorian hotel stands out from the crowd with spectacular views over Russell Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Russell London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Russell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.