We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Baker Street, London W1U 6LJ, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #309 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location, only ten minutes walk to the shopping street, many places to dine in the neighborhood. Our room was quite large, wooden floors, nice bed, the bathroom needed a little touch-up. Friendly staff! Have stayed here before, and will probably stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, the Location and the hotel in general.

We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return. Please do reach out to us at ppshres@pphe.com or myself directly at ktalwar@pphe.com when you are next planning a visit to London.

Kind regards,
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    550
    213
    87
    50
See reviews for
222
516
95
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here recently on a Saturday evening. Our room was upgraded to a suite, which was very spacious for our needs, and in a quiet location towards the back of the hotel. The room itself was very clean and the bed very comfortable, although the bathroom was a little bit small - but I do expect that in a central London location.
We ate in the hotel as part of a large group. The food was excellent, and the portions huge. All the food came out together which is often difficult with a large group, especially as the restaurant was busy that night.
The service throughout our stay was very efficient and welcoming. Overall we had a very good trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review on Tripadvisor. We are humbled to have received such thoughtful comments, for there really is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest.

We truly appreciate that you have so graciously allowed us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience and we also appreciate the feedback you have provided. Thank you once again for reaching out to us, I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Ktalwar@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for one night as having dinner in town. Stayed in a double suite, split level. Bed was on a level above the sitting area. Very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and very comfortable stay for an overnight although the suite would be considered too small for a longer stay. Excellent location for access to the city. Nice touch with the Sherlock Holmes collected works in the bedside draw although my partner got the Gideon bible. My gain I believe. Would stay again when need an overnight in London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, the Location and the hotel in general.

We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return. Please do reach out to us at ppshres@pphe.com or myself directly at ktalwar@pphe.com when you are next planning a visit to London.

Kind regards,
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice. Very centrally located hotel in London, with more space than we have had in any hotel room in London previously. Maybe we just got an over-sized room. But, it was nice after the postage stamp sized ones we had stayed in previously. They held our luggage after checkout so we could go and see the British Museum nearby. Very accommodating staff as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time in leaving a great feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are happy to learn you found our rooms and the staff with pleasant.

Receiving positive reviews such as yours is always of great pleasure to read.

On behalf of myself and my team we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warm regards

Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Ktalwar@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have just come back from London after staying at this hotel on Friday evening - we stayed in a superior twin - the room was beautifully decorated but small - saying that though the bathroom was very spacious and the bath was huge - I have never seen a bath so big - the food in the restaurant was okay - I asked for a steak medium/rare it came overcooked - I spoke to a waitress who took it away and brought it back completely cremated - which did make me laugh but after explaining again - the correct steak arrived. The hotel is in a prime location for Madame Tussauds and also an approx 10 minute was from Oxford Street - just come out of the hotel turn left walk to the bottom of the road and Oxford Street is there. We had a function there on the Saturday but that was a bit of a disaster it took nearly an hour to get a drink due to staff shortages - but apart from that it was okay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback.

First and foremost, I must sincerely apologise that your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. The matters that you have raised are absolutely not indicative of the level of service and quality that we pride ourselves on providing, and I am very sorry to hear that you have had such an experience.

In order to fully investigate this matter, I would ask you to please contact me at ktalwar@pphe.com to provide me with the name that the booking was under so that I may follow up with the relevant members of upper management.

Thank you very much for reaching out to us in these matters, and I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Ktalwar@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We had an impromptu visit to this hotel after a wedding and got ourselves a great bargain on last minute.com. The hotel has a great location. Our room was small but had everything we needed. The hotel had a lovely bar for an evening drink. Breakfast was excellent! All the staff were very pleasant. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time in leaving a great feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are happy to learn you found our bar and breakfast excellent with pleasant staff.

Receiving positive reviews such as yours is always of great pleasure to read.

On behalf of myself and my team we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Warm regards

Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
ktalwar@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stay a lot with the Plaza Hotel Group, and decided in April to use some of our Club Carlson points against a stay at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes hotel in London, as this was near to where we were meeting up with some friends. After booking online a double room with a queen bed, with an option of upgrading. When we arrived we were told that we had already been upgraded to an Executive room, which turned out to be a very tired looking room with dust on furniture, the TV etc. The room had twin beds placed together, and we had squeaky floorboards for free. The hotel was full that weekend so we could not be offered an alternative room. The only thing about this weekend that was good, was the breakfast, but we won't be going back. However the management did say sorry, and offered to re credit our account which was fine. We learned on departure from a manager called Patrick that the hotel was about to have a major refit shortly. Say no more!

Room Tip: Apparently all the Executive rooms are different, but avoid room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback.

First and foremost, I must sincerely apologise that your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. The matters that you have raised are absolutely not indicative of the level of service and quality that we pride ourselves on providing, and I am very sorry to hear that you have had such an experience.

I am deeply disappointed that you were not satisfied with the room provided and that as a valued Loyal Member of the Company the availability of the hotel did not allow us to upgrade your room.

Thank you very much for reaching out to us in these matters, I would like you to contact me directly at ktalwar@pphe.com should you wish to plan your next visit.
I look forward to your response.

Yours sincerely,
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London

Address: 108 Baker Street, London W1U 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in London
#210 Business Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
#241 Family Hotel in London
#249 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Regency-style Hotel situated 200 yards from Baker Street tube station & convenient to West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.