We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced for tiny twin room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Piccadilly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Piccadilly to your Saves list
Le Meridien Piccadilly
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Piccadilly, London W1J 0BH, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10% off Suites
Ranked #507 of 1,066 Hotels in London
1 review
“Way overpriced for tiny twin room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Toilet ran for an hour, beds were twin and tiny. This was the most I have ever payed for a room, supposed to be a four star? Wow, I give it 2. The older doorman was excellent and what you would think of as classic London service, the younger guys were too busy adjusting their images to be of any use. Manager was very helpful, I give V 10 points for effort. With a hotel of this level, rooms need to be updated to keep up with the facade, or that's all it is...a facade! Sorry but I have stayed in cheap motels that beat you in comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Willawhim

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at Le Méridien Piccadilly.

The rooms may vary in size and shape as they do in most historic landmark hotels in Central London and according to the room category booked. May I suggest that on your next stay you book one of our twin queen beds which are more spacious than the standard twin room.

My sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and we do hope that this mixed experience does not deter you for visiting Le Méridien Piccadilly or Starwood Hotels & Resorts in the future. We look forward to seeing you again with us soon.

Yours sincerely

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    595
    292
    166
    111
See reviews for
295
469
141
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband, 2 children and I recently returned from a trip to London. The location of this hotel is ideal for sightseeing. St James Park and Green Park are within easy walking distance, and just a little further away are Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery, and Buckingham Palace. We spent our first day with a leisurely walk from the hotel to watch the horse guards, then to Westminster Abbey, Parliament building, Big Ben, then over the bridge to the London Eye. It is also just steps away from the tube. Right across the street is Waterstones bookstore, and about a block away is Fortnum & Mason for wonderful cream tea. The front desk staff, especially Drew, were very helpful and accommodating. The staff at the club lounge were also very well trained and professional. The lounge was always well stocked with a choice of drinks and we would have used it more if our schedule had allowed it. Our room was clean and pleasant. The beds were fresh and comfortable, The bathroom was also clean, although slightly dated. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay. And again, I can't stress enough how great the location is for seeing London's major landmarks. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back of the hotel to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Marnie G

Thank you for staying with us at Le Méridien Piccadilly and for posting your kind comments on TripAdvisor website.

It was hugely encouraging to read that you appreciated the comfort of your room and the helpful service provided by our associates. Our associates are a great asset to the Hotel and I have shared your comments with them.

As you mentioned the Hotel is enviably placed for travelling around London and for visiting most of its theatres and its major attractions and sites.

Once again, thank you for posting your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Le Méridien Piccadilly.

Yours sincerely
Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco,ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am in midst of a 5 night stay with Mrs. and 2 smaill kids. The previous reviews are spot on. Location is key at this property. I want to make a comment on the club lounge.

Smallish with decent food and beverage offerings thoughout the day. The Lounge is over run at all hours. It seems like everyone has access to this lounge. At peak times, the 1-2 attendants are overwhelmed with dirty dishes and trying to keep the food areas stocked. Customer service seems the lowest priority at the CL. Maybe the management should reconsider the staffing levels at the CL to allow the quality of service to match rest of the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear sfdweller

Thank you for taking time to post your review on the Trip Advisor during your stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly.

I trust that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The Club Lounge offers excellent benefits and is very popular with our guest for its convenience and food selection. I was sorry that on this occasion you found Club Lounge slightly too busy, I have noted your comments.

Thank you for your feedback and we will continue to strive to improve our standards of service. We hope to welcome you back to Le Méridien Piccadilly sometime in the future.

Best regards
Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having stayed at Le Meridien Piccadilly many times in the past, we stay there again this year. It has the best location in all of London due to its proximity to the Piccadilly underground station. It is just a few blocks from excellent theaters, restaurants, activities and shopping.

The property was renovated a few years ago so the facilities are new. The rooms are clean, lovely, and possess character, not like the cookie cutter rectangles at other hotels. Inside storm windows were added to make the old building less drafty but our room was still a bit chilly for me. The staff is friendly and very helpful.

We stayed in a junior suite so we had a very large room by European standards. It also included access to the club lounge that provided a light breakfast and cocktails each day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Ann V

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Le Méridien Piccadilly and for taking the time to post your favourable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your last stay with us. I was pleased that you appreciated your well-appointed suite and the value that the Club Lounge offers. The Hotel is an Oasis of calm within the busy metropolis. Our Hotel is a historic landmark in the centre of London, it opened its doors in 1908. During our recent renovations we have combined contemporary design with the historic features of the building, something which hope you found pleasing.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your favourable review with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Yours sincerely

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent four nights in March at Le Meridien Piccadilly and while not flawless, great value for money in London given unbeatable location. We arrived mid afternoon, there was a line at check in but staff was working efficiently, we were given (almost apologetically) a classic room (I am starwood preferred, so they tried to find us a deluxe but none were available with 2 beds), so based on some reviews here I braced myself for a challenging experience.

The room itself was relatively small but not bad at all for London, and the bathroom appeared to be recently renovated. We were pleased to not be on the street side so there was absolutely no noise at night, it's worth asking for a room on the back side of the hotel for that reason. The beds were very comfortable, and use of good gym and pool was a plus.

Would stay again when in London, based on reviews here, it appears there are a small number of rooms unrenovated and in poor condition so if one can avoid those, you should be rewarded with a very good stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear atl_trav917

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was glad to read that you found your room comfortable and spacious as well as appreciating the location of our Hotel which is indeed the perfect place from which to explore London's most interesting sites and most of it on foot.

It was great to hear that the Front Office Associates delivered a very efficient and professional service and I have shared your comments with them.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back at Le Méridien Piccadilly in the near future.

Best regards

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I came back again on my own two weekends ago, for just one night unfortunately but was again amazed by the room, the location and even the mini bar. I got a room at the top floor (6th floor) this time and it was a twin bed as I stayed with my old flatmate. The room would have been too small since it was set under the roof. But some genius of an interior designer put a slight platform at one end of the room (so it was raised like a mini mezzanine) and instantly transformed the small bedroom with an area for the desk/study area.

The bathroom was a decent size, very clean.

The location is just mindblowing - straight from the tube and less than two minutes from Picadilly Circus and you're back in your cosy, warm bed!

Will definitely return again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear foreignasigirl

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly again and for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor.

We were pleased to read that you had another enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated the layout and features of your room. The Hotel’s certainly does have an enviable location within the heart of London which allows easy movement around the Capital City.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you will continue to make many more enjoyable visits to Le Méridien Piccadilly. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Oscar del Campo

General Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

SUMMARY

The Good:
* Location, location, location - 50 yards from the center of Piccadilly Circus. Great access to theater district, underground, museums, etc.
* The room we stayed in (239 I believe) was quite large, had nice large windows and a comfortable bed.
* Service was above average. Front desk staff was very nice and service requests for towels, extra cot were handled promptly.

The Not Good.
* So this may be a bit picky, but it doesn't live up to a 5* status. 4 yes, but 5 no.
* , Only exception to the good service was the concierge. Really felt like my questions were below him when I was talking to him.
* The room felt just a bit dated. Again, no specific complaint, just felt a bit outdated. I know it is an old hotel, but just felt like it was in need of an update in the interior.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear TimmyTuna

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at Le Méridien Piccadilly.

We are indeed ideally located in the heart of the wonderful city of London, close to all of its major attractions including main art galleries and museums.

I was delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated the service provided by our associates. I was however sorry that you felt our Concierge Department did not delivery our usual high standard of service and was also disappointed that the room décor was not to your liking.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Yours sincerely
Oscar del Campo

General Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Piccadilly

Address: 21 Piccadilly, London W1J 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Piccadilly 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Piccadilly is set in the heart of the West End one of London’s most fashionable destination, and only moments away from London’s cultural attractions, including Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, and Covent Garden. The hotel features many amenities including meeting facilities and banqueting suites, the Piccadilly Health Club and one of London’s largest indoor swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Piccadilly Hotel London
Le Meridien Hotel London
Le Meridien London
London Le Meridien
Le Meridien Piccadilly London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Piccadilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.