We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all the "Grand Dame" that i was expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Waldorf Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Waldorf Hilton to your Saves list
The Waldorf Hilton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England (Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Offer
Ranked #442 of 1,049 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not at all the "Grand Dame" that i was expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here on business for one night last week.

Location is good, just a two minute walk from covent garden and no doubt perfect for theatreland.

Reception staff helpful and room ready early when i got there around noon. As a HH GOld member, disappointed to have been "upgraded" from a deluxe room to a deluxe Plus (not quite sure of difference). Room clean and tidy, but as you would expect, not that spacious. NO exec lounge access was a let down, but technically not guaranteed.

Room view appalling, looking at (literally) a brick wall and aircon units. Didnt eat or drink here as busy working, only used it as a sleeping place !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Dukesy,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Waldorf Hilton. I was disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations.

I hope that your next stay with us is as relaxing and enjoyable as you expected on this stay.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    683
    442
    205
    104
See reviews for
351
1,003
66
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed overnight for a 2 day theatre trip away.
Room was very comfortable and we had a fantastic nights sleep. Good facilities in the hotel although the swimming pool run by LA Fitness was a bit of a let down as they had no means to store our valuables. Lockers but no way to lock them unless we buy a padlock! Apart from that, the breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very attentive and polite. We used the valet parking service and this was both value for money (compared to car park prices in London!) and very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Dean E,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I first stayed at the Waldorf over 25 years ago and it still has the charm and elegance that I remember. (Even the Tea Dances once a month). Very good concierge and house services, excellent breakfast and a good executive lounge (if you qualify!!) Some of the rooms are being re-furbished but the rest are all good sized and in period style.
Tip: Take the Heritage buses from just outside, the Route 15 has Routemasters running every third bus or so and they go to St Pauls and the Tower of London

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Gromlin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Waldorf Hilton on TripAdvisor. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location allowed you to have a great time in London.

I shared with the team that you returned after 25 years and they were heppy to hear that you were able to enjoy yourself once again.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were very happy with our weekend at the Waldorf. In the heart of the bustling London Theatre area, it was very quiet and peaceful in the room. The room was beautiful and well appointed and very comfortable. Things were similarly calm in the executive lounch. It's a beautiful hotel with a great staff. the bar was a nice mixture of busy, but calm on a Saturday night. We were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Waldorf Hilton on Trip Advisor. I am always happy to read reviews from guests that have enjoyed their experience at our hotel and hope that you will be returning very soon.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is my 3rd stay at this hotel, this time after a lapse of 3 years. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the theater district. The building remains a classic and the staff as friendly and helpful as ever. The Grand Salon restaurant with its Louis XVI style decor is outstanding.

Some guests may find the many steps along corridors problematic (this is an old charming building, designed more than 100 years ago, although it has been thoroughly renovated), so please inform upon booking if an easier access room is required.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear KT785,

Thank you very much for your review. I was glad to hear that you returned to our hotel and found your stay just as enjoyable as your previous stays with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for a week in October 2013, room 539.

Hotel staff were great. We had some special perks due to Elite status, and really enjoyed the daily free breakfast, tea and snacks in the afternoon. It curbs the appetite enough to really get you through your days without impacting your food budget! More money for nice evenings out. :)

It's location is just a jaunt to the best of shops in Covent Gardens, if you are there on the right days you can even stumble into the maze of shops at the Jubilee Market. Tube is close as well.

Great bedding, towels and a lovely towel warmer.

Concierge was more than happy to arrange for an early morning cab (3am), and were essential in getting me to where I needed to be on time. They were much more familiar with the bookings I had made than I was. Front desk was super accommodating, and housekeeping took great care of us. I have zero complaints and would stay here in a heartbeat if the opportunity presented itself.

Room Tip: 539 was perfect for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Emily W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Waldorf Hilton is a very good Hilton property in central London that is good for business travelers and couples. They have very nice rooms with tasteful decoration and the hotel's staff are well trained and helpful. The Hilton Honors Lounge is very nice and a special amenity. Very good breakfast, free newspapers and great coffee. The staff was quite friendly and helpful in every respect. Though I didn't score an upgrade I did get one of the larger standard rooms with a spacious bathroom and raised seating area in front of the windows. There are no views, but the newly renovated rooms are very handsome and well equipped. This is the nicest Hilton I've stayed at in the UK. My only complaint was the very standard and boring toiletries items. Thought the bathroom felt luxury, but the by now very familiar Peter Thomas Roth stuff didn't inspire me to raid the maid's cart.

Though its a ten minute walk to the tube, but the hotel is server by dozens of major bus lines. London bus service is great and it was convenient to walk out the front door and jump on a bus to nearly any destination.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear DuChamp_98,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Waldorf Hilton on TripAdvisor. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location allowed you to have a great time in London. I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waldorf Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton

Address: The Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in London
#54 Spa Hotel in London
#282 Luxury Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
#350 Romantic Hotel in London
#355 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waldorf Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. The restaurant Homage pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating the new opened Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waldorf Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.