We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, and excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waldorf Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Waldorf Hilton to your Saves list
The Waldorf Hilton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #416 of 1,063 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Riyadhs, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“Convenient, and excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had to stay in the hotel since the conference I was attending was in the Hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful as much as possible. Was not asked if I would like to be part of their loyalty programme. Room a little bit small although I did not book the standard size.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Ghadah M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Waldorf Hilton on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind words regarding our reception team. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location allowed you to have a great time in London. I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    586
    361
    169
    91
See reviews for
288
859
57
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very good location if you're there for the touristy things, theatre etc. I had room 340 facing Aldwych (executive plus) which was clean and spacious. Room was a bit warm at times even with the aircon on, you can't open the windows more than about 2cm so getting fresh air is not much of an option. Exec lounge is pretty good, I only had breakfast twice and the selection was fine. Wasn't at the hotel in the early evening when I believe they serve appetizers and wine etc.. Used the gym downstairs which is the LA Fitness brand so not managed by the hotel but guests have free access. For a 'hotel gym' it was better than most I've used but make sure you take a bottle of water with you with water in it, there's no water fountain in the gym (at least I couldn't find one) unless you want to keep going back to the changing rooms. The gym does get busy in the mornings before 9am and a bit stuffy/warm. Check in/out was efficient and front desk staff polite. I'm a Diamond member and requested a late checkout for 4pm. Hotel allowed until 3:30pm with an extra charge which is generally fine if you're on business, perhaps not if you're on vacation. Overall good stay, I'd return and can recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Danielmax,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ok, there WAS a large function on at the hotel, which meant that we weren't given the upgrade we normally get or access to the executive lounge, but notwithstanding that, our room was very small, even by European standards. Several items had to be requested from housekeeping (tea bags, shower gel, batteries for the TV remote). The bed was VERY small and did actually cause issues with sleeping. The room we had would have been ideal for someone on their own, not a couple.
We always try to use Hilton as the standard is generally high (we currently have 3 pending reservations) and we get treated very well usually, but this visit was just ordinary, nothing special.
It won't stop us from visiting again, we were just disappointed on this occasion

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused whilst staying with us, our aim is to always upgrade our Diamond and Gold members when the hotel occupancy allows us.
I hope to have chance to welcome you back in the future and hopefully to restore your faith in our hotel.

Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Concur with review from room 236, room was very poor for a so called 5* hotel , sink tap leaked (did report that) , flush the loo and it sounded like plumbing was about to wreck the room , grouting/mastic around sink was peeling/gone, very poor. View was dismal , looked like a view from a prison camp. Couldn't even get breakfast in the morning (Monday 23rd September , 09:20) unless you were willing to queue 40-45 minutes. I have never in all my years of staying in hotels have ever had to queue for breakfast, ended up going to a local restaurant that served breakfast. For a one night stay which was a surprise present from my wife I must say I was extremely disappointed and would not recommend this hotel. I did feel that as we had booked via Eastons Travel that we were given the 'poor' end of the stick and were not given the quality room that you would have expected.

I will be ensuring Eastons Travel are made aware of my experience and that in no way does it reflect on Eastons. This was entirely a poor experience from the hotel.and not Eastons.

I would like to add that all staff were very polite and courteous however overall I very poor experience , one which I will doubt forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
I am saddened to read you review about your recent stay with us at the Waldorf Hilton.
Please accept my sincere apologies or the shortfall in the service and lack of attention to details in your room. I wish you would have voiced your concern while staying with us as we could have offered you an alternative room in order to rectify the issue there and then.
I would like to discuss this matter with you personally and I would like to ask you kindly to contact me on 0207 836 2400 so we can discuss your experience in details.

Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great place to stay, near lots of touristy places, on the doorstep of Theatre Land and Covent Garden which on weekends is vibrant both day and night with shops, restaurants, cafes and live music. The room we had was very nice and we thought very good value for money.. staff pleasant and when they knew it was a special birthday I was sent chocolates and wine. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay and I hope you have had a enjoyable birthday.
Here at the Waldorf Hilton we believe in personalized service and we all strive to deliver exceptional customer service to all of our valuable guests.
I am pleased that you will come back to the Waldorf and we are looking forward to have you with us in the near future.

Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Amazing hotel, however the changing facilities to the pool were dreadful, they smelt so bad of urine it made you feel sick and the ceiling tiles were stained yellowy brown. However I don't think the pool facilities belonged to the hotel even though they were under the same roof.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay, referring to your comments about the cleanliness of the LA fitness facility.
As you have rightfully mentioned they are part of the Waldorf Hilton as they are managed separately however I will pass your concern to the management in order to improve the cleanliness of the swimming pool area.
I hope this issue does not prevent you from staying with us in the near future and please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of the Waldorf Hilton team for this issue.

Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent our 25th wedding anniversary here. It was lovely - especially the raspberry bellinis. Our room was in the attic, and a bit dark, but the bed was spectacularly comfy. The doorman seemed to be on duty for our entire 36 hour stay, and was endlessly helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to read your review and I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay.
I hope you enjoyed your wedding anniversary and left us with nothing but good memmories.
We are looking forward to have you with us in the near future.

Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waldorf Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton

Address: The Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in London
#62 Spa Hotel in London
#267 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Business Hotel in London
#325 Family Hotel in London
#340 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waldorf Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. The restaurant Homage pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating the new opened Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waldorf Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.