We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, personal service, lovely accommodations in the heart of London.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waldorf Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Waldorf Hilton to your Saves list
The Waldorf Hilton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #441 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, personal service, lovely accommodations in the heart of London.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The location of the Waldorf Hilton puts you within walking distance to Covent Garden, Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, the British Museum, with lots of great shopping along side streets. We were thrilled with how accessible everything was around the hotel. The staff was very friendly and took good care of us with great attitude and lots of smiles. The gym downstairs has pretty much everything you'd want, as well.

Room Tip: Our room facing the inner courtyard was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Susan,
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at the Waldorf Hilton.
We are very pleased to hear that our team members impressed you by providing excellent customer service. I will definitely share your kind comments with the management so they could be rewarded for their excellent customer service.
We hope to see you back again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any further assistance.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    602
    385
    182
    94
See reviews for
302
887
61
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice Romantic hotel round the corner from the main covent garden square (well we went the other way because the HOTEL STAFF told us the wrong way so instead of it taking 5 minutes took us 25 as we went in opposite direction to get to the main central area they need to train staff in directions definately. But always staff around for assistance with anything. Valet staff on hand however when we went second weekend of november they were too busy to valet ours.

This is a lovely romantic hotel clean rooms however slightly small for my liking but nice bathroom creams and extras in room all teas hot chocolate etc available everyday.

THE PROBLEM
reason for average rating...
After a night out on the town we were hoping to sleep in however there was a loud banging and work was going on as early as 8am on sat!!! This ceased after a call to management but the damage had been done!

Romantic nice hotel especially if your impressing your other half unfortunately for me my other half took me there but wasnt romantic in the least :'(((

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments following your recent stay at the Waldorf Hilton.

We apologise for the shortfalls in service you experienced and we thank you for bringing these to our attention. I strongly believe that these issues you have rightfully mentioned are the exception rather than the rule however we recognise the need for improvement. Please rest assured that our Front of House management team is taking immediate actions following your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waldorf Hilton hotel in the near future and in the mean time if I can be of further assistance, please do contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is immaculate. Staff is helpful and friendly, rooms are beautiful and well kept and the location could not have been any better.
The only strange thing was having mainland european sockets in the room. Being a UK resident going to a hotel in London I did not expect to need adapters to plug our phone chargers!!! We ended up finding the sockets for the desk lamp and the kettle were UK standard so we had to remove both. Not a major problem but a bit annoying in today's gadget world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share such lovely comments about our hotel.
I am pleased to advise we are installing more sockets in our new rooms following comments from our guests. I hope you will find it more comfortable during your next visit.
We hope to see you back again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I could ensure newly refurbished room is allocated for you.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here on New Year's Eve, for one night in an executive room, the room it's self is very spacious, clean and modern.
The location is perfect for the West End and Covent Garden. If you like walking it only took us 15 minutes to walk to the London Eye and Embankment area as well.
The hotel breakfast was buffet style with everything you could possibly want, from cereal to full English, salmon to fruit, there really is something for everyone.
As we stayed in an executive room, we got access to the lounge which was great, it's a small quiet room, which has a selection of newspapers and complimentary soft drinks during the day. At night there are complimentary alcoholic beverages from 6-830 which is perfect for a drink to start if the evening. Nibbles are also served which put us on until we reached our restaurant.

All the staff were extremely friendly, polite and welcoming aiding us with any queues or issues we had.

I would definitely recommend his hotel for a short stay when Visiting the west end, book early to get the best rates :)

Room Tip: book an executive room, to gain access to the lounge, a few evening drinks and nibbles easily covers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Lizzy,
Thank you for taking time to share your detailed experience with other travellers following your recent stay with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. All of us here at the Waldorf strive to provide excellent service and to exceed our guests’ expectations. Your comments will help us to grow and improve.
We hope to see you back again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any further assistance.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed in the hotel last weekend and was thoroughly impressed.

Check in was very swift, friendly and professional. My suite was beautifully presented and immaculately clean.

I had dinner in Homage restaurant and drinks in Good Godfrey bar. The service in both was superb and the food very impressive.

I feel a little picky to point it out but there were no power sockets in my bedroom at all and only two (of UK standard) in the whole suite. I therefore could not charge my phone near my bed overnight and was not able to use my various gadgets. I'm sure this would not bother all guests but I must say it would influence me in deciding whether to return.

That aside, a great hotel, fabulous location, first class service and a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share such lovely comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that our team members impressed you by providing excellent customer service and that you enjoyed your time with us.
Regarding additional sockets in your room, I am pleased to advise we are installing more sockets in our new rooms following comments from our guests. I hope you will find it more comfortable during your next visit.
We hope to see you back again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I could ensure newly refurbished room is allocated for you.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hilton is reknown for his comfortable hotels and nice-to-sta-in rooms.
I had the opportunity to stay in one of the 'classic rooms', free of charge, because of the HH program. I have to admit that I always have a certain feeling of suspicion when it comes to 'free of charge' but this time my suspicion was not correct.
The only remark I could make was the fact that, although in the streets you couldn't ignore the christmas spirit that on the inside you hardly noticed the difference between christmas and another period of the year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
All of us here at the Waldorf Hilton take great pride in making our guests feel special and welcomed. Please rest assured we shared your comments regarding Christmas atmosphere within the hotel with our management team in order to improve for the next festive season.
I hope that you will visit us in a near future and that I would be able to personally welcome you back.
In the meantime please contact me if I can be of any future assistance.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Really liked the Hilton Waldorf Astoria! Great location, friendly staff and comfy rooms!

Check in was speedy, the porters and door staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 5th floor and view was of internal courtyard, which wasn't much to look at, but then again, didn't really need to! Room was lovely, big and comfy and loads of room for luggage/clothes, as well as a safe, iron and ironing board and coffee/tea facilities in the room. No ventilation in the bathroom which wasn't a major issue, but if we stayed for longer could see it need mopping up constantly. Taps were a bit fiddly though to find the right temperature of hot water, but got there in the end. Towels and toiletries very nice.

Smart tv flat screen in the room and room for a desk and chair as well to work on if needed. Room also had an a/c unit which doubled up as a heater and worked fine.

Plenty of lighting around the room and in the bathroom there was a light up vanity mirror which was handy.

Breakfast was the usual Hilton affair, loads off choices and eat as much as you like! Coffee was ordered via the waiter and the only disappointment throughout the whole stay was that the coffee did not taste nice! Other than that, cannot fault the hotel at all and really enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend to anyone.

However, to note that it is very expensive and I'm sure if you shop around you can find better deals, but if you are after a lush hotel for what you are paying in the centre of town, then this is the one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We can’t thank you enough for your wonderful words about our hotel. It was such a pleasure to see that you have taken your time to share even smallest details with other travellers.
We hope to see you back again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any further assistance.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waldorf Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton

Address: The Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in London
#62 Spa Hotel in London
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
#332 Business Hotel in London
#347 Romantic Hotel in London
#364 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waldorf Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. The restaurant Homage pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating the new opened Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waldorf Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.