We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waldorf Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Waldorf Hilton to your Saves list
The Waldorf Hilton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England (Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Offer
Ranked #442 of 1,049 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
westminster, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Waldorf in October, 2012. We loved it! Great location in the west side, near Covent Garden.Easy walk to almost everything. Very personalized service. Nice touches such as juice at check-in served in champagne glasses. We mentioned that it was our fortieth anniversary and they immediately upgraded us to a suite which was beautiful. We were using Hilton Honors points, so we had access to the Executive Lounge (appetizers and drinks) and a free breakfast every morning. When we returned to the hotel that evening, there was a cake with anniversity greetings on it in our room!
Wonderful staff, personalized service, beautiful hotel, great location- what more could you want!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    683
    442
    205
    104
See reviews for
351
1,003
66
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just spent 4 nights on a Hilton Honors award stay as Hilton diamond members. We were greeted warmly by the Waldorf Hilton and upgraded from a queen room to an executive king. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room--including a couch and two chairs and a large bath--plenty of room to stretch out. In the room were robes, slippers and nice Roth bath amenities. We were given access to the Executive Lounge where breakfast, afternoon tea, and canapes and drinks are served during the day. We were also allowed to have our breakfast in the homage restaurant where, in addition to a larger buffet, you could order an omelet. I preferred breakfast in the Executive Lounge for the intimate feel. the lounge also had a computer and newspapers. We also had dinner in the Homage restaurant where there is a good option for a set dinner either of two or three courses that saves money over the a la carte menu. Service was terrific in the restaurant; service was terrific everywhere in the hotel. There is also a gym, pool, steam and sauna in the lower ground level run by LA Fitness. You can wear your robe and slippers over your swim suit and pick up a towel in the gym for use in the pool. The pool was very nice--warm and included some swim weights and "noodles." There was also a beautiful gym, sauna and steam room but I did not use these.
Location- the hotel is a short walk from the Covent Garden and Underground stop; there are many theaters in walking distance. Covent Garden also has a number of restaurants with "set prices" for lunch and dinner, an economical option.
We took the Heathrow Express to Paddington and then a cab to the hotel. If you have minimal luggage you can take the Piccadily Line 6 zones from Heathrow to Covent Garden and then climb the 19 steps in the station.
I would recommend you get an "oyster" underground card early in your stay--5 pounds deposit which you can get refunded when you leave and then add value to the card. Use of the oyster cards saves at least half the price of a single ticket which is outrageous for 1 zone travel at 4 pounds 30; with oyster it is 2 pounds.
We had a wonderful stay at the Waldorf Hilton and will definitely return when we are in London again.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth it for the space and access to the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

First class hotel rooms very nice and Amilton on reception was really friendly.
Only issue was we waited 10 minutes to get breakfast and the drinks in the bar are expensive. Would definitely stay again when in London.


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Upon arrival at The Waldorf, we were welcomed by friendly and efficient staff. The reception area was stunning, beautiful chandeliers and marble everywhere, just as you would expect.

Our room was on the 6th floor and it was lovely. Clean, comfortable and well equipped. My only gripe was that the bathroom door was frosted glass which meant there was very little privacy in the bathroom...fine if you are with your spouse but even so I don't think a solid door is too much to ask?! Noise from the traffic was minute.

Bathrobes and slippers were provided but as we were only staying for one night we didn't need to use them. Unfortunately I didn't get to sleep for a while due to the room temperature (was very hot) but thankfully I was able to turn the air conditioning on and it soon cooled down.

Breakfast was fabulous, the best I've ever had and I've had a few breakfasts! There was a good variety of both continental and cooked breakfast and it was all delicious! I enjoyed smoked salmon, pain au chocolat as well as a selection of cooked bits and pieces.

Check out was easy, walking away was difficult! I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently stayed four nights, there was a problem with our room initially, but we were upgraded to a deluxe room which we could not fault. Bed was very comfortable, furnishings were stylish, bathroom large with oversized tub. Breakfast was amazing, in fact I shall say the best Hilton breakfast yet, and I've had a few. As diamond members we were able to access the executive lounge, this was very busy on the first evening and didn't appear to be large enough, also I found the seating to be uncomfortable there especially for a short person, and this is my only criticism. The hotel is ideally situated centrally, the nearest station being Covent Garden only five minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Ok older hotel. Opened in 1907. My room was small, very small but nice. The staff was very professional. The location was excellent with a brisk walk - 20 minutes to Buckingham Palace through wonderful vibrant neighborhoods. So much to see and experience. Cost to quality - location this is a WInner!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in my trips to London. It has a comfortable location and the hotel service is amazing. Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Definitely a nice place to stay while in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waldorf Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton

Address: The Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in London
#54 Spa Hotel in London
#282 Luxury Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
#350 Romantic Hotel in London
#355 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waldorf Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. The restaurant Homage pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating the new opened Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waldorf Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.