We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Piccadilly to your Saves list
Thistle Piccadilly
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Coventry Street, London W1D 6BZ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Central and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed for two nights and it proved a very good location and felt it was recently refurbished. The room was very modern with great facilities and despite being adjacent to Piccadilly and Leicester Square, proved very quiet. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming.

Although we didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food, we did go for a drink in the basement bar. It's location in the hotel meant it was a bit oppressive despite a huge screen flashing up London images which was odd given some of these images were only yards away in reality. The other down side was the bar prices which saw a small bottle of beer and wine spritzer come to over £12.

However, on balance it proved a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    147
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
44
217
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Management at this hotel could teach the rest of the world how to run a hotel. From the front desk staff to the breakfast staff couldn't have been any better. We travel often and this hotel is one of the best. Any trip to London, Piccadilly Thistle will be my first choice.

Special thanks to the front desk employees who made our holiday a very special one. You guys were so great!

Room Tip: Inside rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the Thislte hotel, Piccadilly Circus for my wedding anniversary, as I work in London and my wife travelled down to stay with me.
The hotel front counter staff were extremely helpful and showed me a few rooms and layouts before I booked the day before.
When my wife arrived they had left a box of chocolates on the bed and a card, congratulating us on our anniversary.
The location is very good, in the hustle of PIccadilly Circus and Leicester Square with an abundance of bars and restaurants. St James's park is also just down the road, for a nice stroll.

The rooms can be quite noisey due to the location and hence the higher up you are the better.

The room was very large and the bathroom enormous, with a lovely walk in shower. Not all the rooms have bath tubs, so be careful what you book.

Breakfast can be in the room but they charge you a £5 tray charge.

Room Tip: Go higher up the hotel to be quiet and also barter on the junior suites and exec rooms. These are ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel really is fantastic. We stayed here last weekend (17th May) and were very impressed by its location and its close proximity to a lot of the London hotspots. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfy. We arrived at the hotel at 10.30am and was allowed to leave our luggage in the holding room until check in which was at 2 pm. We had purchased a day pass for the underground but this really wasn't needed as a lot of things were in walking distance including Covent Garden, Leicester Square, Oxford Street and many of the theatres. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely stay again on our next trip to London

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in April. It was our anniversary and everything I pre-ordered (flowers, wine and chocolates) was waiting for us in the room, as planned. Although we checked in close to midnight the staff was very friendly and invested time and effort to assist us in last minute arrangements...
The executive room is quite large and the bed is big and comfortable. The room was clean and quite (despite the noisy environment outside). The shower is very enjoyable as well.
And if you plan on visiting central London you'll find that ,everything is within a walking distance: West End theaters and restaurants, Leister Square , Piccadilly , Trafalgar square, and with a small effort even Oxford street!

Room Tip: The Executive King room is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Perfect location...Staff very helpful....Room was nice...Estelle the manager solved a problem I had very quickly...Everyone was ready to help with anything that was needed...Would stay there again....5 minute walk to National Gallery and Trafalgar Square...The West End shows and restaurants also just a 5 minute walk...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The huge double bed allowed us both a very good nights sleep. As we were going to the theatre in the afternoon we were kindly allowed an early check-in. Breakfast - spot on! Staff - very efficient! Rooms - very clean. We will return!

Room Tip: Go for the de-luxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Piccadilly

Address: 39 Coventry Street, London W1D 6BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#149 Romantic Hotel in London
#159 Family Hotel in London
#212 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle Piccadilly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its authentic Victorian exterior, Thistle Piccadilly fits right in among its genteel neighbours, who include Fortnum & Mason and the Royal Academy. Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, the West End, Covent Garden and Oxford and Regent Streets are all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Piccadilly Hotel London
Thistle Piccadilly London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Piccadilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.