We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Piccadilly to your Saves list
Thistle Piccadilly
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Coventry Street, London W1D 6BZ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Promo - From £149!
Ranked #162 of 1,065 Hotels in London
stroud
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfy Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay in a double executive room. The room was very clean, nice comfy big bed and subtle lighting. The only little winge we had was that the TV wasn't properly tuned in so all a bit fuzzy (not great for hubby catching up with match of the day...I didn't mind!). The bedroom had secondary double glazing which was needed as our bedroom was at the front of the hotel looking over the main streets, which on a Saturday night don't stop until Sunday morning! The main let down was the bathroom, which although was beautiful and had a wonderful large walk in shower cubicle, did not have secondary glazing, the windows were old and had gaps in them where a very cold breeze came in, as well as noise. There wasn't any form of heating in the bathroom either so it was very cold.
Breakfast was downstairs in the restuarant and was fine, not the hottest cooked breakfast as was a buffet style, but was topped up and kept fresh.
Location was just fantastic, right in the heart of London, easy walk to theatre land, and just down the road from a tube stop.
Would I go back again.....Yeap indeed I would! (as long as the bathroom has been fitted with a radiator bbrrrrr!!)

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms at the back, maybe a bit quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Piccadilly, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Claire h

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed the visit and would return in the future. I have taken note of your constructive comments and will make sure all our TV ariel connections are checked today. We are also currently adding additional heating to some of the larger bathrooms. Thank you again for your balanced feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    147
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
44
216
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and got a really good deal by going on a last minute booking site where they keep the hotel name secret until you've booked. The rooms are very well thought out (e.g. socket for hairdryer right next to full length mirror). The double glazing in the bedroom kept out the noise from Leicester Square. There was single glazing in the bathroom but so long as you kept the door to the bedroom shut, you only heard the noise when using the bathroom. We were on the 2nd floor - may be even quieter higher up. The room was nice and spacious - we've found a lot in London are cramped. Shower was excellent and plenty of hot water.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we had plans both evenings and breakfast was not included in our package. They could perhaps advertise whether breakfast is available at extra cost - we had looked at the hotel restaurant menus and assumed they didn't serve breakfast. There are plenty of places nearby to get breakfast though.

Reception staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Piccadilly, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Greenislander

Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay. We have recently completed a full refurbishment of the entire hotel so I was delighted that you enjoyed the room. I have taken on board your comments on making the breakfast more visible on the website as I am sure you would have enjoyed our House Lounge restaurant and bar.

Kindest regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a Saturday. Location is great, right in the heart of the West End, just near Chinatown. You couldn't be more central. The hotel itself is excellent, clearly had some investment which really shows. The rooms were very nice, the one I was in had a king size bed and was very comfortable and quiet given the location. The bathroom was excellent, very modern with a great power shower. The staff here give excellent service and are very welcoming, Melvin in particular worked very hard to look after customers and helped with bags and in getting taxi's - a great asset he is. In short, definately would recommend - I stayed in a much more expensive hotel the night before and this one was somewhat superior!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My fiance and I recently enjoyed a superb weekend staying at this hotel. The location is fantastic, right in the heart of everything, with two tube stations very close by. The hotel has recently been completely modernised and the rooms and all of the public areas are excellent with very nice contemporary decor. We had a king size executive room which was on the first floor, overlooking Leicester Square, and was perfect for a weekend. The bed was very comfortable and I had one of the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. The atmosphere and service in the restaurant was very good. There was an adequate choice from the breakfast buffet and the food was of a very good quality. The service at dinner was excellent and it was so nice to dine in a quiet, spacious restaurant rather than the cramped conditions of many nearby eateries. The restaurant was very underused and would probably be more successful if it offered a wider choice at more of a fine dining level rather than the current gastro pub style (although it was very nice!). Highly recommend this hotel and we would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.....lots to see outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Brand new room 610, very clean, very modern,friendly staff and superb breakfast.. Loads of choice and great service..
You can upgrade for bigger room, go for it. Hotel is in heart of London, close to all attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Thistle Piccadilly for a long week end in London. It is perfectly located in the centre of london. Close to eveything. The hotel has been totally refurbished in a very nice modern style. And you feel really good in this place. Colors and furnitures are warm and space well used.
The staff is really professional and friendly, helpful and always available.
We had our breakfast every day, the team is helpful and very discreet. We had ni englmish breakast.
We come quiet often in London and we definiitely will come back to this charmant hotel. I recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms are soundproof so we had no problem of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It's a Thistle so good value, albeit a bit more expensive than other locations. Just steps from Piccadilly and the same from Leicester Square, so great for theatre and eating out. Less than ten minutes' walk to Covent Garden too.

Looks like it's been refurbished so the room we had was great, everything worked and a super bathroom as well. Coffee and tea in room.

Staff were excellent throughout, from attentive check-in to friendly check-out. Breakfast was weak point, staff were great and good range of items but some could have been better (poor preserves, sad sausages).

We were really surprised at how good this hotel was in almost every respect. Well done to Thistle! Tried to book for summer but prices are going up all the time.

Room Tip: Don't risk a 1st floor room - we could hear the music from the bar below and were moved to a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Piccadilly

Address: 39 Coventry Street, London W1D 6BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#154 Romantic Hotel in London
#156 Family Hotel in London
#212 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle Piccadilly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its authentic Victorian exterior, Thistle Piccadilly fits right in among its genteel neighbours, who include Fortnum & Mason and the Royal Academy. Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, the West End, Covent Garden and Oxford and Regent Streets are all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Piccadilly Hotel London
Thistle Piccadilly London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Piccadilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.