We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Trafalgar Square London to your Saves list
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 40%
Ranked #202 of 1,065 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a great location! Walking distance to anywhere in central London. Two tube stations with connections to north, south, east and west. The rooms vere no luxury, but neat and clean. And the price-level was much lower I could imagine for a modern hotel in such a central location. I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    431
    121
    52
    23
See reviews for
355
286
44
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night before a conference and found it to be in a good location. Receiption staff were friendly and helpful and I even got to practise a little Spanish. I had a small studio that was adequate for a couple of nights. Very clean and trendy decor if a bit dark brown and impersonal. Bed was 2 single beds pushed together to make a double and I found this very uncomfortable. Bathroom was big but very slippy bath with no anti slip mats. The position of the shower made it difficult to get in and out without slipping. Breakfast was a pretty average affair with a poorly laid out continental buffet. I would prefer a full service hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We love this hotel. It is in a fantastic central position in between 2 Tube stations and close to Charring Cross station. It is a short walk to West end and all the theatres and there are many options for eateries close by. Our last visit was in a studio apartment which was very good for our purposes. If we chose to cook there were choices of small supermarkets close by. It was fresh and newly renovated. I would not recommend it though for any one elderly or with a disability as the shower was in the bath and was very deep to step into.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and a studio and found both good though the kitchen in the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I enjoyed staying here. We arrived at 7am which normally means expensive early check in rates but the reception there gave us a room straight away which was great after a long journey. Our room was spacious, inexpensive and had all a young family needs. A fully equiped kitchenettlywas so helpful with our kids and their snacks. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Recently refurbished, our premier one-bedroom apartment was rather stark, and decorated in "modern" (i.e. bland) style.  The rooms are very clean with a perfectly efficient heating/aircon system and plenty of storage space.   Practically everything is well designed for guests and the few problems we faced were addressed on the first day by pleasant staff.   Trafalgar Square is ideally situated, close to just about every meaningful London bus, two tube stations, a main-line station and a few 24-hour supermarkets.  The retro entrance hall has newspapers, free coffee & tea.    We found the hotel quiet and slept deeply;  a very enjoyable and comfortable place to stay in spite of the unassuming decor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hard to understand and rude staff meet you on arrival. Then our pre paid apartment wasnt available. Breakfast is self serve and expensive for what it is. For the price they should be ashamed of themselves.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel so that we could have some of the advantages of a kitchen and more space. We thought it was preferable to an apartment because it would provide some hotel services such as recommendations and directions for tourists. What we did not know was that we would not find one employee at the hotel who even knew the neighborhood, let alone, London largely because most of the staff were German or French. The kitchen was minimally adequate for breakfast (one frying pan, no spatula), two cups, 2 spoons, 2 glasses, etc.. Other meals were impossible.
On the plus side the staff was polite if unhelpful, the rooms clean and the bed comfortable. If you are a first time visitor to London, the location is wonderful. There are tube stops 3 minutes away but you can walk to most sights.
However, the room had an unremitting draft and the curtains so skimpy as to be uncoverable on the sides. Contrary to their advertised "grocery", they had sodas, and snacks. Bare floors helped add to the monastic theme of the room (sarcasm intended). If you care to keep up on the news at home, buy a paper because there is no US station on the miniscule television. Next time we will rent an apartment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square , Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in London
#145 Luxury Hotel in London
#151 Family Hotel in London
#191 Romantic Hotel in London
#302 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Agoda, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Trafalgar Square London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Trafalgar Square London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.