We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the right price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Islington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Islington to your Saves list
Hilton London Islington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #198 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
england
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the right price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were able to find this hotel on a Sunday night for under £100 including b/fast. This was an exceptionally good deal.
For that price, the hotel was great. Perfect location for where we needed to be. Rooms were clean and comfy.
I noticed tonight that the lowest price was approx. £440. That is ridiculous. I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel for that price. But, for anything near the £100 mark, you're getting a good deal.
Great large telly, fabulous shower, very quiet. Wifi should be standard in all areas and not just the lobby.
We didn't have b/fast in the hotel as we had plans elsewhere, but we'd certainly stay again assuming we can get a similar rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of the Hilton London islington. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    261
    57
    20
    8
See reviews for
117
245
36
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I have tried other Hiltons, but this is my favorite for location. However, I have found it looking tired and needed a refresh. They have gone in and redone all the rooms and corridors and I am impressed by the new decor and the comfortable beds. Certainly on a par with american hotels with a modern comfortable look. Full marks to Hilton. Happy to go back on future trips.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am so glad that you are more than impressed with the Hilton London Islington refurbishment and that you found your stay an enjoyable one.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here many times over the years on business and the quallity, helpfulness of staff, cleanlyness of rooms have always been very good. locally lots of restaurants, and a nice bar in the hotel to relax in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. Glad to see that you enjoy the newly refurbised hotel and that you enjoy staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I would probably have rated this hotel lower if it had not been for the customer care I received here. I was given a room which, on opening the door, smelled as if there was a drain problem. I returned to reception expecting a fuss and received an apology and an immediate upgrade to a better room on the second floor, which was immaculate. Great customer service. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food but was in a great position for my visit to London.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hilton London Islington. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were more than accommodating.

Please remember the Hilton London Islington when you are next in London.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights. Thought the hotel was lovely and we had a newly refurbished double room which was also very nice. Location was great for us, a short walk from Angel tube station and beside lots of lovely restaurants and shops. Only downside for us that there was only free wifi in the lobby and not in the rooms.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the hotel. I am happy that you had a fabulous stay and enjoyed the newly refurbished rooms.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights. Had the usual weirdness of booking online from the US, and getting assorted rated depending on the date. That was annoying but not a surprise, it seems to happen with all hotels. Not unique to this particular one.

The location is great! We picked it completely by random, this was our first visit to England. It's close to all sorts of public transportation (plus the desk will call a cab any time). The Angel area is charming, lots of restaurants (skip the Japanese place, do go to the Winchester Pub), nice small shops, larger ones too. Chapel Market sets up several days a week so that's available too. Five stars for the location!

Because we were meeting someone each morning we made the lobby our rendzbous spot. I didn't give the hotel a total of five stars for a couple of reasons, one being the extremely limited seating in the lobby.

Also, you can't get free wifi except in the lobby, and while there is a fancy area just off the lobby it's reserved for the top tier of their Hhonors program. It was almost always empty while the rest of us were standing around trying to send emails etc. That didn't set well. This goes in the one star department because the wifi actually did work but the password business was much more confusing than it tneeded to be. They should just provide free wifi and be done with it. They certainly charge enough for the rooms!

The front desk staff was lovely to us. We are retired, unfamiliar with London, and they were very kind. Helped us book theater tickets, figure out our English cell phone, gave directions, etc. Wayne (not sure what his job is, maybe bell captain?) was exceptionally pleasant and gave us good tips on where to eat. We were always greeted with a big smile by everyone. They get five stars.

The elevators were fast, clean and surprisingly fancy in a modernist way. One has a speaker that needs serious help, it was almost too garbled to make out and the recording sounded like it was pouting. Never failed to give us a laugh. Five stars for the unintended comedy.

Breakfast was a delight. It set the tone for the day and the staff in the dining room is outstanding. Alex and his team (Erieni, Leronette and Carmen in particular) made us feel welcome every morning and were friendly, pleasant, and went out of their way to start our day off in the nicest way possible. We looked forward to seeing them every day. Plus the pastries were divine, the rest of the breakfast was fine but we liked the pastries so much that's about all we ate. Five stars here!

We had supper in the dining room one night. Zero stars. I'd give them a minus if possible. Terrible food, high prices, and lackadasical "service." A total 180 from breakfast! The host was so busy with his important business (he bustled back and forth like it was life or death and looked right through us) that we finally flagged down someone busily polishing glasses and ignoring us and asked to be seated. We were the only people there other than a special group that had its own buffet. The food was cold, poorly-prepared, overpriced, you couldn't get anybody's attention to save your life. Do NOT eat supper here! IT's hard to understand why they bothered to even be open.

We stayed in two refurbished rooms. Not the most attractive I've ever been in but my taste doesn't run to the stark and industrial. The Hilton beds and pillows were wonderful as they always are, and the towels were too. Our room was not very clean, that was a big disappointment--with new carpet you need to vacuum and dust daily until it's done fuzzing and we finally had to talk to the desk about it. (I left a note in the dust but it was ignored...) Housekeeping is one of this hotel's weak spots, we asked for face cloths daily and it was hit or miss, there was a lamp that wouldn't work no matter what we tried (not plugged in but when we did plug it in it was dead) and there was no place to put your clothes that didn't go on hangers (like underwear). After a week we had to insist the sheets get changed. The plumbing--well, it worked, and there was plenty of hot water. The mirror was too high for me to see in it (I'm not tall but then, many women are even shorter than I am). At least they had a mixer faucet so you didn't need to use the sink plug to get warm water. Zero stars for housekeeping (noticing fuzzballs and dust is not brain surgery), and two decor--mostly because it was so incredibly peculiar.

We had two different rooms, one on the side and one facing the front. One was right by the elevators. We heard nothing. Very quiet. Also the in-room refrigerator was perfectly silent. Five stars for that!

So we will most likely return to this Hilton when we next visit London. We certainly won't be eating supper there, and we'll live with the wifi situation. The location, the front desk and breakfast staff, the comfortable beds--those are worth a lot. We prefer Hilton properties and this was certainly a very good spot to stay. The few difficulties were not insurmountable by any means.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front on the fourth floor have a bit of a view. We stayed in two different parts of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad to see that you had a great time whilst in London and the comforts of the hotel and staff made it a more enjoyable holiday.

We look all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great location close to Angel underground station, plenty of food and drink establishments close by. Hotel was clean, modern and stylish. Very comfy pillow topped beds. Rooms were quiet and had all that was required in them. Very good breakfast included hot and cold selections. Cooked food not at all greasy and was freshly made. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the hotel. I am so glad you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the hotel from the rooms to breakfast.

We hope we have the pleasure of seeing you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Islington

Address: 53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in London
#146 Luxury Hotel in London
#173 Family Hotel in London
#179 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Islington 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished mid 2013, Hilton London Islington is situated in the heart of fashionable Islington yet remains close to central London, striking the perfect locational balance. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Angel tube station and one stop from Kings Cross St. Pancras, making it an ideal base from which to connect to Europe. Located next to the Business Design Centre and just a 5 minutes' drive to Emirates Stadium, the hotel offers convenient accommodation for attending a conference or event. An adjacent car park is available with discounted overnight rates for hotel residents (0.70 Per hour from 18:00 until 08:00). Within walking distance of the hotel, guests can see a play at Almeida or Sadler's Wells Theatres and discover the street markets. Stay only one tube stop away from Old Street Station or to some of London's most popular attractions: Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Eye and the famous Oxford Street. Unwind in an elegantly furnished guest room or suite with modern amenities and new decor. Catch up with work at the desk or relax with on-demand movies on the 42" flat-screen TV.From 1st May 2014, in-room WiFi is complimentary (for browsing the news, read emails and chat with friends). To stream video and download large files, a fee of £7.50 Inc VAT for 24 hour connection will apply. Relax in the trendy Axis Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel restaurant serves locally and internationally inspired cuisine in a laid back atmosphere. Dine in with 24-hour room service. The new Executive Lounge allows guests to enjoy free WiFi, breakfast, coffee and snacks throughout the day and canapes in the evening. New Cancellation Policies, effective 1st January 2015: No cancellation charges until the day prior to arrival, 11:59pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton London Islington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Islington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton London Islington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Islington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.