We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Islington

Save Saved
You added Hilton London Islington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Islington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £140
Ranked #163 of 1,075 hotels in London
Northophall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“brilliant!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and i arrived on friday afternoon, and were greeted by a very helpful and nice receptionist. We confirmed our booking and were given our room keys. In the process, i mentioned that we were staying for the weekend as it was my birthday on the friday and our wedding anniversary. The room was excellent, and we settled in. Later that evening we received a knock on the door to find a lady with a tray with a bottle of expensive red wine, and some chocolates on a platter with 'happy birthday' written in chocolate. There was a card from the hotel manager wishing me a happy birthday, and us a happy anniversary, and there best wishes on our stay! my husband and i were flabbergasted! for a large hotel chain to have a culture that allowed there local staff to show such initiative to make our stay so welcoming was just amazing! wonderful, wonderful, wonderful - really made our weekend. Thank you Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay with us. It is always a pleasure to turn moments into memories for our guests, and we were truly delighted to help you celebrate these special moments.

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to celebrating many other special occasions!We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    139
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
64
132
22
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Here for just one night but a good deal on a suite made me choose this hotel. Last stayed here 3 years ago but a recent refurb has breathed new life into this hotel. Friendly check in and a great room.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we would also like to thank you for staying with us. We're thrilled that you enjoyed both our recent refurbishment and our friendly staff while you were with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Although the hotel room was pricey, the room was great. We also had room service and food was good. Had a problem with tub drain cover which wouldn't open. Called for help but they weren't able to solve the problem. My husband just pried it open so water would drain. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your room and that the room service was satisfactory.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience with the tub drain. Please rest assured that I have shared your feedback with the other Department Managers and Hotel Manager.

Once again thank you for you review, and we look forward welcoming you back to the Hilton Islington

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here again after their recent refurbishment and they have done a great job. My room was massive and was really very nicely furnished. I was hoping the new Executive Lounge would have been open but it was not side this is due to open I believe at the end of July. It will be even better then.

The breakfast is always good here and this trip was no exception.

My only, minor, irritation, is that I was charged for my Times newspaper. As a HHonors Diamond member they are often free in other hotels.

I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hilton Islington following your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your views, and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and our Hilton Breakfast.

Please note that our new Executive Lounge will be open on 17th July and we look forward to your next visit to London and another opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Islington.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a very comfortable stay in a hotel that was very convenient for us for our family needs. The daily breakfast was a varied and tasty buffet. Service was quick and efficient. The hotel is located near an area of London that is full of interesting and varied restaurants, shopping and pubs. It's close to the Angel tube station so transportation is convenient too. All in all, a very satisfactory, pleasant hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the opportunity to write a review regarding your recent visit at the Hilton Islington. We are delighted to hear that you had a satisfactory and pleasant experience at our hotel.

We thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have stayed at this Hilton several times now and love it because of its convenience to the underground and buses, which are only a couple of minutes away. The hotel is set back from the main road so there is no noise at all so it makes for a good night's sleep.

The corridors are a bit dated in décor but the rooms are have been refurbished and are modern and well maintained. The breakfast is a typical English breakfast with plenty of variety and if you can get a package it is reasonably priced.

There are numerous restaurants and pubs on your doorstep when staying here so you are spoilt for choice. I believe if you book through the right agent then this is a very reasonably priced hotel for central London. I would recommend staying here rather than right in the West End where prices tend to be higher and rooms smaller. It is only one stop away from Kings Cross and the Eurostar terminal.

Room Tip: We always request a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Hilton Islington. We are warmed by your comments about our great location and our Hilton Breakfast. Also, we are delighted you appreciated our newly refurbished rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location of this Hilton is very convenient; a newly gentrified area of London that is a very short walk from Angel, and manageable distance from King's Cross. It is very clean and just far enough away from the high road to avoid the noise. But a) the food selection is just average, even for British standards b) the price is definitely high, considering they have no gold lounge or other amenities you would expect from a Hilton and c) the staff is just plain mediocre; I always give hotel staff the benefit of the doubt, but they simply cannot ALL be new. They were not at all welcoming or knowledgeable about their own hotel services or the surrounding areas. So, if you want a convenient location in a clean and safe environment with a name-brand, then this would be your choice. But there are no bargains to be had, nor anything that would impress you one way or another.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Islington, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are pleased that you highlighted our great location and delighted that our clean rooms were on par with your expectations. However, we are sorry to hear that you found the food selection less than satisfactory.

Your comments will be passed to the our new Executive Head Chef for review. Please also note that on 17th July we will be opening a new Executive Lounge for guests staying in our newly refurbished Executive rooms..
Again,

Thank you for your feedback. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton London Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Islington

Address: 53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Family Hotel in London
#121 Luxury Hotel in London
#130 Romantic Hotel in London
#162 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Islington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished mid 2013, Hilton London Islington is situated in the heart of fashionable Islington yet remains close to central London, striking the perfect locational balance. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Angel tube station and one stop from Kings Cross St. Pancras, making it an ideal base from which to connect to Europe. Located next to the Business Design Centre and just a 5 minutes' drive to Emirates Stadium, the hotel offers convenient accommodation for attending a conference or event. An adjacent car park is available with discounted overnight rates for hotel residents (0.70 Per hour from 18:00 until 08:00). Within walking distance of the hotel, guests can see a play at Almeida or Sadler's Wells Theatres and discover the street markets. Stay only one tube stop away from Old Street Station or to some of London's most popular attractions: Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Eye and the famous Oxford Street. Unwind in an elegantly furnished guest room or suite with modern amenities and new decor. Catch up with work at the desk or relax with on-demand movies on the 42" flat-screen TV.From 1st May 2014, in-room WiFi is complimentary (for browsing the news, read emails and chat with friends). To stream video and download large files, a fee of £7.50 Inc VAT for 24 hour connection will apply. Relax in the trendy Axis Bar & Kitchen, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel restaurant serves locally and internationally inspired cuisine in a laid back atmosphere. Dine in with 24-hour room service. The new Executive Lounge allows guests to enjoy free WiFi, breakfast, coffee and snacks throughout the day and canapes in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hilton London Islington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Islington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton London Islington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Islington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.