We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cannizaro House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cannizaro House to your Saves list
Cannizaro House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westside, Wimbledon Common, London SW19 4UE, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have stayed at Cannizaro House 3 times now and always found it conveniently located and well appointed. The last time we stayed the hotel had been upgraded somewhat, and our room on the first floor was more than comfortable with lovely wooden furniture and a bathroom that was enticing in its opulence with gorgeous smelling goodies to use. Took a glass of the complimentary sherry on the coffee table into the bath with me!
The park at the front makes it a wonderful venue for our children and grandchildren to visit and after rambling through all the gardens and feeding the ducks it is a wonderful place to spread out a blanket and have a picnic on the lawns.
Breakfasts are fine, nothing extrodinary, and once we had the attention of the staff (why is it that they are trained to look straight ahead at all times?) we got good service and it was delicious.
On the odd occasion we have had family to the hotel for Sunday Lunch and the staff are very obliging and helpful in every aspect.
It's not the cheapest hotel we have stayed in but location and convenience counts for a lot, and it is wonderful to look out of your window and not see another building, only treetops and garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    77
    27
    14
    9
See reviews for
55
112
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Anna and the team did an amazing job, I don't often write reviews but this hotel and team warrant a mention. I used this venue for a company event and not only was the venue beautifully presented Anna had made sure we were kept fully informed and totally looked after.

The food was great, the function room was more than we needed and the rooms exceptionally presented....we had great feedback from our clients.

We look forward to seeing you and the team again very soon to repeat the experience with a trusted venue.

Thank you for helping to make our event a great success.

Best wishes

Julia and the team

Room Tip: Not a single complaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel looks ideal and you feel sure your decision to book a stay was correct. Enhanced with a smooth check-in and an impressive entrance hall but be aware, they are papering over cracks and these only become apparent when a problem arises.
We were allocated a second floor room for three nights. To our surprise it had an adjoining door to the next room, obviously intended for a family, not disparate couples. The first night was fine but the second proved dreadful. The sound proofing seemed non-existant; very little sleep was achieved and it seemed as if the loving couple next door, were in the same room as ourselves! This went on from 12:30 until 2am and then started again at 7am. It was very impressive but also disturbing and more than a little embarrassing. A complaint to the management brought a room change. I fail to comprehend how an hotel of this standing could make such a silly mistake with family rooms.
One afternoon, the Orangerie was closed for a private function therefore closing to paying guests a vital attraction of this hotel.
Also be aware that any purchases attract a 10% service charge, which can be removed at your request. I always believed that the choice should be the other way; times change!Two glasses of wine purchased at the bar (£18 yes, £18 you read that correctly) attracted a further £1.80 service for simply pouring them. It is my belief that an hotel of this standing should offer first class service throughout your stay within the high cost of a room. You should certainly not pay extra.
It really is over-priced and pretentious.
Cob webs in the room and a very dirty bed valence added to the disappointment. Photographs should you wish to see. I still don't know what was offered in the small decanter left in each room. Wasn't brave enough to try, maybe the couple next door had! Would I book again? Definitely not.

Room Tip: Do not go near 304 or 305 unless you have booked a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you are an irresponsible dog owner or you have a badly behaved pet then please do NOTstay here. For those of us who struggle to find a nice hotel which is dog friendly then it is bliss to find somewhere that ticks all the boxes. The hotel fronts Wimbledon common and backs on to Cannizaro park. There is car parking right in front of the hotel. We only stayed one night but the hotel worked very well for us.

The staff were fine - just not very engaging or particularly interested in guests (although service at breakfast was attentive and efficient). My only disappointment about the hotel is the menu in the Orangerie. As a non meat eater, I genuinely struggled to find anything that I wanted to eat for dinner. I ordered "artisan bread" and a cotton bag with a few slices of unappetising bread - which had been sitting around for a while as it wasn't fresh - appeared. Not warm, not interesting, not eaten. There was one salad with goats cheese and beetroot which sounded fine. It arrived seconds after ordering and had clearly just been taken out of the fridge, given the temperature of the plate/contents. When I had asked if they could serve any French fries, I was told no. The breakfast menu was perfectly fine. A selection of fruits/cereals/juices. As I was quite hungry (owing to lack of much to eat the night before) I also ordered smoked salmon and scrambled egg and that was most enjoyable.

Our room was fine. I had asked for a room on the ground floor on account of the dog, but this request was ignored. However, room was quiet, bed was comfortable, bathroom was modern and functional. Air conditioning was effective.

Overall - the location of the hotel, the fact it is dog friendly, the comfort of the rooms would all encourage me to return. Unless the menu in the Orangerie changes, however, I would not be tempted to dine there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have always booked Cannizaro House (the restaurant) for important occasions and memorable dinners/lunch.

The Menu and the food is simply amazing, very "high class" and amazingly tasteful. it is not at all expensive for the food you eat and the quality of it.
You can also choose from a "Simply Menu", a fixed priced selection that will not disappoint you.

If you are early for dinner or you fancy an Aperitivo, you can always attend the bar at the back facing the common for a glass of wine or quality cocktails accompanied by nibbles.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowmarket
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Probably the best service, food, care and attention we have experienced in any hotel of late.
Admittedly the cycle races through Wimbledon probably made the hotel calmer on Sunday 4th August! We cannot fault anything and had a very, special day.
We are returning shortly for lunch but perhaps this time we won't have the most expensive champagne!!!!!!
We have recommended to friends. A firm favourite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lovely rooms, great orangerie overlooking park/ common. Staff very attentive. Great for breakfast, lunch or dinner or business or social. We have also gone on a Saturday afternoon with our children we sipped champagne whilst kids played.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cannizaro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannizaro House

Address: Westside, Wimbledon Common, London SW19 4UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in London
#172 Luxury Hotel in London
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#207 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cannizaro House 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a hotel in Wimbledon Imagine a hotel where you truly are the focus. Where your preferences are remembered and the team are always eager to please – that's Cannizaro House. Cannizaro House is more than just a hotel, to us she has a personality – a sexy, aristocratic and sophisticated beauty, glamorous and alluring but never aloof. We are very proud of this gorgeous gem of a hotel which has been in the heart of Wimbledon Village for over 300 years. Following a refurbishment throughout, we invite you to enjoy what we believe is the very best service and experience country house living, with a modern twist. I look forward to meeting you here soon. Jeff Ward General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cannizaro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannizaro House Hotel London
Cannizaro House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannizaro House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.