We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for short people” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BJ, England (Pimlico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10%off on Hotel's website
Ranked #896 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Vancouver
1 review
“Ok for short people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

It is a 20-minute walk away from Victoria. We were greeted by a pleasant employee at the entrance. Unfortunately, there was no elevator and our room was on the 3rd floor. The room was Ok, though a bit small. However, what stood out was the small size of the bathroom. Being 1.89m tall, I found it almost impossible to turn around or sit on the toilet seat. Apart from this the room was Ok. Some people here complain about the cleanliness but that wasn`t my impression.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    30
    50
    34
    55
See reviews for
50
46
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

My boyfriend booked this as a surprise for me as it is close (10 mins walk) from the Apollo Victoria where we saw Wicked.

On arrival we noticed a strange musty smell but as my boyfriend had prepaid we decided to stay. Plus the lady at reception was friendly enough.

On entering out room 208 we were struck by the tiny size of the room. Barely enough room to squeeze around the one side of the small double bed. The windows were old and single glazed so we had the pleasure of drunken revellers and traffic all night long.

Being pregnant at present my only concern was a comfy bed and a nice bathroom. Unfortunately the Carlton had neither. The bed was rock hard, with frayed pillowcases and not at all inviting after a day walking the streets. The bathroom was a glorified cupboard. It was in effect a tiny wetroom with a showerhead almost over the toilet.

We hoped that the breakfast wouldn't be as bad as expected but it was worse.

The breakfast room is only open from 8am to 9am and has around 6 tables to seat 4 people. It was crammed into a small room in the basement. We went down to eat at 8.15 and the room was full so we went back to our room for 10 mins. We went down again at 8.25, 8.35 and 8.45. At 8.45 we decided to stand in the hall to wait for a table. We finally sat down to eat at 8.50 but there was no food left! We waited for 10 mins but none arrived.

On the whole this is a smelly, overpriced excuse for a hotel.

Please book anywhere else but the Carlton B&B!

  • Liked — Leaving there this morning!!!
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

My husband and I had a horrible stay at this hotel! The room was very dirty, the "coffee maker" was caked with grime, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the walls are so thin that you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the rest of the hotel, all hours of the night. The "Continental Breakfast" consisted of dry cereal, instant coffee and toast in a small room downstairs with about 5 or 6 tables (not nearly enough to accomodate all guests) that were not wiped clean from the other guests who ate there. We even missed breakfast one morning because there was not enough room for us to sit anywhere. Last but not least, the bathroom floor flooded with water whenever we took a shower because there was not adequate drainage nor a "lip" to contain the water .

  • Disliked — Dirty & Uncomfortable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

I read the TripAdvisor reviews of this hotel before booking and, having travelled extensively staying in hostels, dismissed the complaints as the typical whining of tourists expecting 5-star treatment for 2-star prices. I can put up with a bit of dirt and cramped quarters if it's central and cheap, and who spends that much time in their room anyway?
Please read all these reviews and believe what is said about the negative aspects of this place because it is true, and more. Our room was on the top floor (room 220) and not only were the sheets stained and the mattress mildewed all down the side, but the carpets were filthy and frayed, there was long black hair in the bathroom, the toilet was leaking from the base and had "sunk" into a pool of vile-smelling liquid on the plastic floor. Sitting on it was precarious and an exercise in not getting one's feet wet from the leakage. When having a shower in the tiny 3x4 bathroom with a stained, smelly plastic shower curtain (impossible not to touch and have it stick to you when showering in that tiny space), water would run all over the floor, creating an overpowering urine stench from the obviously crusty stucco-like plastic floor and the pool of water/urine around the base of the toilet which would wash all over the bathroom floor when the shower was on. My daughter and I had to go out and buy flipflops just to make the bathroom experience tolerable. We requested another room (also because my elderly father was joining us mid-way through our stay and could not climb the 8 flights of stairs easily) and were treated fairly rudely by the night clerk. (Although the young woman on the desk during the day was quite polite and helpful.) When we did change rooms (to room 209) it was somewhat better, having high ceilings, a balcony and a clean(er) bathroom floor. It still had the basic cleanliness problems including other people's bandaids, razors and used tissue under the beds and cigarette butts and beer bottles on the balcony. We also had an over-anxious maid banging on our door at 10 am one day when we were trying to sleep in, insisting she clean the room. Don't bother with the breakfast - instant coffee, wonderbread toast and tang. Croissants, yogourt and tea were OK though. Spend a bit more and stay at the comfort inn next door (it's lovely but twice as much) or the easyhotel.com or the belgrave inn on the same block which are cheaper - there are lots of hotels in this area that are a bit more expensive but infinitely nicer. At the very least insist on seeing your room first, as our second room was much better than the first one. I may not have had the same reaction if we had been given that room first.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binan City, Philippines
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

It was very expensive for its price because its amenities weren't good. We booked for five nights and I already indicated how many people we were, but they expected us not to have heavy luggage so they reserved our room on the top floor and there's no lift. There was no way to bring our luggage using the very narrow stairs so they had to give us this tiny, tiny room on the basement on our first night. They transferred us the following day to a room on the 2nd floor which was only a little bit bigger than the first room. The bed covers were dirty with hairs (a lot of hairs from the previous guests). On our last day my son shoved his toy cars under the bed so we had to move the bed to get them and surprise, surprise, the bed was very easy to move but was never moved to clean the floor. There was dust, tissue papers, a razor, plastic bag and a lot of other garbage that made me want to throw up. The bathroom was very small, it was hard to move around. The smoke alarm was set off about 3 times when we were there and we were terrified the first time but it was just false alarms. The breakfast was very ordinary, the breakfast room very small, either you go there very early to get a table or you go very late so everyone else is finished.

  • Liked — it was near the bus stop
  • Disliked — not clean
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Our one night stay at this hotel did not start well as what greeted us as we walked in was an overpowering stench of vomit. Stupidly we did not immediately walk out and try to find somewhere else - we had already paid for our stay through lastminute.com and we could see that the hotel was in the process of being cleaned with doors & windows open etc & a competing smell of cleaning fluids. We knew we weren't going to spend much time in the hotel so thought we'd make the best of it. We eventually returned to the room at about 10 that night, armed with rose scented incense - just in case!! Initially there was relief as the whole hotel did not now stench, only to be succeeded by horror at the realisation that it was just our room in the basement which still had a stomach-curdling stink of sick. We burnt the incense (6 sticks!!!!) which masked the smell & tried to distract ourselves with tv for a while. But as we walked around the room or sat on a bed the smell wafted strongly through the room again. We did complain to the receptionist, but he misunderstood us & said he couldn't smell anything except the incense. He just suggested we talk to the management in the morning.
Other reviewers have documented the awful breakfasts, the tiny far from spotless bathrooms etc. - this is all true. However, our room for four people was not overly small though it was dark & dingy in the basement. The hotel is reasonable-ish (£119 for 4) & is in a great location - handy for tubes, mainline stations & Victoria coach station. I will not however be ever going back.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Hideous smell
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

We had two rooms. One was supposidly a double but my Mother said that "she couldn't swing a cat in there". I stayed in a twin room. The sheets were clean but we had one blanket on each bed and a bed spread which was heavily stained. The light switch was filthy and needed a good wipe down with some bleach.

The shower head was encrusted with lime scale and mould but the rest of the bathroom was ok.

Breakfast was a bit of an ordeal. The 'waitress' didn't speak any english and my mother thought she looked like she had just got out of bed. Her t-shirt had food stains all over it. Breakfast consisted of toast and butter along with jam if you were lucky. I didn't risk cereal. Every bowl, cup and plate was chipped. The glass jug containing the watered-down orange juice was also chipped.

This hotel is ok as a 1 star but not 2. On the whole, I would suggest that you spend another £20 or £30 and stay somewhere a bit nicer.

I think I would go so far to say that this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. From now on, 3 stars is the absolute minimum.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor standard of the rooms and breakfast room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 90 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #896 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carlton Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a free internet kiosk and a 24-hour front desk, this hotel offers continental breakfasts and traditional rooms. Carlton Hotel B&B is situated in Pimlico, just 300 metres from Pimlico Underground Station. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom with a hairdryer. All rooms have a TV and work desk, and tea/coffee facilities are also provided. Light continental breakfasts are served daily in the spacious dining room at Carlton Hotel. Breakfast options include fresh coffee, fruit juices and a selection of cereals. The Carlton is situated in the Belgravia area, just a 15-minute walk from Westminster Abbey. Buckingham Palace, big ben and london eye is a 20-minute walk,Victoria Place Shopping Centre is 600 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.