We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard of accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melita House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melita House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melita House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Charlwood Street, Victoria, London SW1V 2DU, England (Victoria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #635 of 1,075 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good standard of accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Chose this hotel to stop over after an evening out in the West End. Not cheap, but competitive pricing against the competition.

Nice room, small and compact but OK. Only real grumble would be the lack of tea/coffee-making facilities. Understand they have a vending machine in the reception area, but as we'd arrived back about 12.30 am it was locked. No water either in the room so less than ideal.

Excellent, but little small breakfast; dining room incredibly tight. Staff were helpful, but weren't very proactive, having to be asked for extra coffee etc.

Check-out was 11.00 am which was a bit of a shock (on Sunday morning!) and despite reception telling us not too worry about the deadline too much, we still got a housekeeping knock n the door at 10.40 am.

Room Tip: Get down to breakfast early. The photo on the website is a creative piece of genius in terms of how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    69
    39
    30
    23
See reviews for
42
36
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Together with my husband and my 4 year old son, I stayed at the Melita House Hotel from the 5-9th June 2013. Hotel was very clean, all the staff were very caring and helpful and breakfast was very good. Our room had a double bed and a single bed, with the balcony and it was very comfortable and clean as well. Good choice of TV stations. Position of the hotel is very central - there is the bus stop for the number 24 just 1 minute away from the hotel which took us directly to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and London Eye (10 mins). Also there are 2 underground stations which are very close to the hotel - Pimlico & Victoria station. I will definitely visit London again and my choice of hotel would be once again Melita House Hotel. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I'm very surprised by some recent unhappy comments here. This doesn't sound like the same hotel I stayed in for 2 nights in May. We had a twin room which was of ample size - I have had similar sized rooms at greater expense in other London hotels. Melita House Hotel was spotlessly clean and tidy, the breakfast area small but well arranged, breakfast was well cooked, with even satisfactory poached eggs. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobG661, Front Office Manager at Melita House Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Jean,
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. We strive to achieve this level of satisfaction with all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best wishes
Melita House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A double room not much bigger than a broom cupboard, no cold water and a bath towel the size of an oversized flannel all added up to make this a less than perfect two day trip to theatre land. When combined with a breakfast room not much bigger than the aforesaid cupboard and breakfast portions from the Oliver Twist cookery book our disappointment at this hotel was complete. However, what proved to be the final straw was on voicing our compaint to the reception manager we were told, sarcastically, to "try the Bellvue on Park Lane". I can only suggest you follow his advice.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobG661, Front Office Manager at Melita House Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear these guests didn’t enjoy their stay.

Upon inspecting the room after check-out we didn’t find any issues with the cold water. The guests didn’t inform us about this during their stay.

Each room is provided with a set of bath and hand towels. In this case, the bath towels were not in the room. Again, we weren’t informed about this during the stay.

Both of these issues would have been solved with a simple phone call to reception.

We always try to make the stay of our guests most enjoyable, however we can’t help with issues we don’t know about.

Unfortunately these guests have decided that for some reason it would be better to do nothing, wait until the check-out and then complain.

On a side note, to our knowledge there is no “Bellvue on Park Lane” hotel, therefore the recommendation could not have been made, even “sarcastically”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Two nights in the Melita in a room that would make Harry Potters cupboard under the stairs look big! Had to move things to do anything! Very claustrophobic. Positives was it was clean. Dining room diminutive but staff pleasant. Breakfast not plentiful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The staff were friendly and did all they could to make a bad situation better

Terribly overpriced; not enough space to feed all guests at breakfast at the same time; no room in shower to stand up (hand held shower in bath) without banging your head; masking tape (and not even neatly stuck) around door to block out drafts; general sense that owners are trying to pack as many in as possible to what could otherwise be a nice town house experience. Breakfast ingredients very basic also, not at all worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed in London for 4 nights and stayed at this hotel, simply because of closeness of Victoria station. Hotel room was single and extremely small, I dare to say even claustrophobic. Breakfast options were very limited and not very satisfying. On top of everything, I had to pay 10 GBP for 24 hours of usage the WiFi (which by the way did not work particularly well).
The only great side of this place is the location. Ten minutes away from Victoria station and a lot of other sightseeing attractions.

Room Tip: If you use single room, be ready to sleep at extremely small space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melita House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melita House Hotel

Address: 35 Charlwood Street, Victoria, London SW1V 2DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #635 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Melita House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melita House Hotel is an ideally located Central London hotel , close to all the major tourist attractions, and the financial centre. Nearby Victoria Train, Underground and Bus Stations make everywhere easily accessible. Our location in the heart of central London makes the Melita Hotel an ideal place to stay to explore London and the UK . For both business and pleasure the Melita Hotel London offers great value for money to fit into your budget whilst still offering outstanding accommodation and facilities. The hotel was founded in 1972 and is still independently owned and managed by members of the same family. It is situated in a period building, dating back to the mid 1850s. Today the building has a delightful blend of traditional features and modern facilities. Exactly what a City centre hotel should be. The service and the setting sets it apart from the chain hotels. The Hotel is independently inspected annually by Visit Britain and has been awarded a Three Star Rating. This is your guarantee of quality. The rooms are newly renovated, so we are sure that we can offer you a pleasant and comfortable stay in London . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Melita House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melita Hotel London
Melita House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melita House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.