We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashburn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ashburn Hotel to your Saves list
Ashburn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DP, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a great hotel. We were upgraded to a deluxe room with 2 tvs, a lovely big bed and a great street view. Water, biscuits and welcome chocolates were a lovely bonus. The concierge could not have been more helpful. We loved the complimentary prosecco in the charming drawing room - we also got free refills! I had a lovely cocktail in this bar for 6.95 which is good for London. The bar had up to date free magazines like grazia and esquire! Breakfast is adequate - yes the room is small but it is quaint and we only had to wait for a very brief period of time on the morning of new year's eve. This is a lovely boutique hotel which employs courteous and friendly staff. An added bonus is that it is just around the corner from gloucester road tube station. We greatly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    221
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
79
348
43
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel had a great location, near the Gloucester Road tube station and well situated for those wishing to see various London attractions. Mainly, we would agree with other recent reviews that this hotel is good (esp. for price/location in London, from what we could find -- London is so expensive!!), but not a five star experience. Our hotel room was pretty spacious by UK standards, and we found it to be pretty clean and quiet. One small thing did not work (e.g., side table lamp) but it wasn't a big deal to us. We purchased our hotel nights on Expedia with breakfast included. This ended up being the continental breakfast, which was a pretty good selection of fresh fruit, pastries/bread, cereal/milk, tea/coffee, and a few meats (salami, etc.) and cheeses. (You can add eggs, bacon, etc., individually for a small cost). The breakfast room itself is quite small and cramped, but the servers were very polite and friendly, and the selection of food was reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed on December 2013, The hotel was very good. The room was pretty big, and a comfortable bathroom too. The location was perfect, 15 minutes to Picadilly Circus on the tube. The area is very nice, lots of shop, restaurants and of course the underground station. The hotel staff were great, especially one of the receptionist (Sharam I think) who was very helpful with every question we had, gave directions, made some calls and basically went above and beyond to help. The breakfast room was pretty full every time we went there, and the breakfast itself was more than enough for us.
We would defenetly recommend this place, and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Yes the location was good but the hotel did not quite match its 4* rating. The staff were nice the hotel looked good but the rooms were a mixture of charm and "tat". My room had a strange smell and some of the wallpaper was pealing off. It was very small with the bed tucked in an alocove so you had a wall on one side of the bed next to the pillows. The breakfast room was soulless and very cold with only one waitress attending.

It was OK but would I stay there again, NO

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Ashburn Hotel, the last being in 2010, and I was very happy to return. The Ashburn Hotel is still a lovely hotel. It is clean, quiet, charming and in a great location. While the room we occupied was not large it was comfortable. Double windows insure the room is quiet. It is close to historical sites, museums, parks, restaurants, a Waitrose and the Gloucester tube station. The staff is friendly and professional. Breakfast was fresh and delicious, service was attentive. We were able to enjoy the glass of champagne on a few evenings, a nice touch that seems to be very popular.

Room Tip: I have stayed in four different rooms, varying in size but all meeting my needs depending if I trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Ashburn Hotel. The location is simply unbeatable, 5 minutes from Gloucester Tube station. The hotel is quite nice, they give you complimentary newspapers every morning at your door, a glass of champagne in the afternoon, lovely toiletries and a little surprise thing every night. We were upgraded to a large beautiful room on the 5th floor.Our continental breakfast was satisfactory and all the staff was extremely nice and accommodating. The only thing I would suggest is to have more adaptors available for all the foreign visitors who have non-English appliances. There were a lot of clients looking for adaptors at the Reception, and not enough available. But this was really a minor thing, I will certainly consider staying here next time!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th or 5th floor are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have stayed in lots of hotels this year, mainly in UK, but also in Europe - and this one comes way up the list.

lovely to be greeted at the door - check in was very quick and efficient. Superior room was lovely too, all one would expect.

We went to have a glass of wine before going out for the evening - and were offered it with the compliments of the house, as we would not be in the hotel to take advantage of a complimentary glass of champagne a little later!!! - Great customer service.

Dining room was 'in the basement' but what a pleasant surprise - lovely room, clever use of windows/mirrors - did not have a 'basement' feel about it. Breakfast, although continental, was lovely - lots of choices, and also a choice to 'upgrade' to a full English!!

We would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn Hotel

Address: 111 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Luxury Hotel in London
#228 Business Hotel in London
#320 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury boutique hotel with 38 rooms located in South Kensington, central London. Offers continental breakfast, welcome drink and glass of champagne in the evening with all rates as well as a different turndown gift on your pillow every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ashburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburn Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashburn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.