We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A 5 Star Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sidney Hotel London-Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sidney Hotel London-Victoria to your Saves list
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68-76 Belgrave Road | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 2BP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #640 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not A 5 Star Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Superb ,from start to finish,Check in quick and efficient .
Room ,small modern , very clean , Bathroom modern ,spotless .
Breakfast Busy ,more than adequate for an advertised continental breakfast.
Check out Quick and friendly .
Receptionists who dealt with us were both very helpful and great ambassadors for the hotel.
Location great for Victoria and getting about .
For the price I cannot believe the Reviews on this Hotel ,If I had paid for the Goring or The Dorchester and ended up at the Sidney Hotel Id be furious but I didn't. Value money makes this a 5 star Review .

Room Tip: Room 511 very nice but next to lift ,noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    220
    183
    71
    68
See reviews for
149
209
49
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hausjarvi, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in many London hotels but this one was a disaster. When puffing with four stars at the website, you could expect a bit more.

The worst part was the unpleasent feeling and smell of mold in the basement where our room was. The room itself was spacious enough for a weekend trip but the symptoms in the respiratory system weren't part of the plan. The so called continental breakfast was a symbol to the general state of the Sidney Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The reception was fast ( it was not high season)...and efficient.. The rooms are tiny and dark but I beileve it is ok for this segment. Room and bath was quite clean. Good continental breakfast. The value for money is quite good. In some 5-8 minutes walk, you have access to Victoria station's gate to gatwick express, taking you to the gatwick airport within 30 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was ok for the price we paid, good central location, room was quite small.I asked for a taxi to take us to the theatre. The first night because it was raining, the hotel ordered a luxury car when I only wanted a normal cab

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Good location for Victoria. Polite and friendly check in. One lift out of order which meant going up in a different one to a higher floor than I was allocated, walking across the breadth of the hotel, then walking down one flight of stairs. This would have been a real pain if I had more than hand luggage, but I didn't so no great inconvenience. And of course this is not an issue when both lifts are functional.
Room small, but reasonably decorated and clean. Shower room adequate with good water temperature and pressure. Complimentary toiletries, tea, coffee all fine.
Did not try breakfast s cannot comment.
Overall, price is fair given location and quality.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We stayed at sidney hotel this weekend celebrating my son's 30th BIRTHDAY the hotel was brilliant new furnished room clean and bright .very wary after reading a few of the reviews but no worries were celebrating a birthday and the staff dressed our room with banners very helpful.breakfast continental but that's ok so much to eat on our days out.the hotel close to Victoria coach and rail...shops and restaurants very close ...tube station Pimlico just down the road.....staff very pleasant and welcoming.room 416 spacious little bit warm but ceiling fan was an added bonus...I would recommend this hotel to anyone of my family and friends.there is refurbishment going on but nothing deserbed us....only a good thing for this hotel.we loved our stay would go back.

Room Tip: Triple room 416
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Tried to book in to this hotel last week on business. After having to park around a mile away as it offers no parking, I eventually fought my way in to reception being offered no help with the 4 flight cases and a bag I was dragging across London.

Tried to book in and was asked for the credit card which had been used to make the booking. I explained that it had been booked by the company I was freelancing for the next day and I had no access to the card, only an email to confirm it had been booked! They confirmed the room was booked and had indeed been paid for in advance. However! The receptionist told me that without the card I wouldn't be able to check in unless I paid again for a room which had already (and they admitted this), been paid for upfront. They asked me if I could phone the office and get a fax of both sides of the card and the id of the person faxing it due to their new fraud prevention policy. At this point it 1745 pm and I didn't have a hope of anyone being in the office!

So in short they left me stranded with 4 flight-cases of equipment, 200 miles from home at 1800 on a Thursday night and with an empty room that had already been paid for!

On the upside whilst sat waiting in reception i managed to book in to the Premier Inn around the corner who took payment off my card via the internet and let me check in no problems.

Avoid at all costs if you are a business traveler and someone else pays for your room! The receptionist was lovely and tried her hardest to help but management wouldn't back down!

Room Tip: Premier Inn round the corner will let you check in with out any of the nonsense of this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sidney Hotel London-Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Hotel London-Victoria

Address: 68-76 Belgrave Road | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #640 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidney Hotel London-Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sidney Hotel London-Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidney Hotel London-Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.