We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Rooms

Save Saved
You added Kensington Rooms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kensington Rooms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 - 137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #921 of 1,075 hotels in London
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I made the mistake of booking this Hotel before reading reviews. The accommodations were meager at best. The shower was in disrepair. The staff was Rude, Incompetent and Uncaring. I checked out of this hotel early and the Desk clerk didn't even know how to close my bill. I moved my family down the street to the Crowne Plaza and just took the loss, BUT it was WORTH every penny I spent just to get out of this miserable place.

I would NOT stay in this place EVER!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    87
    116
    95
    131
See reviews for
61
111
36
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Service is non-existent
Value - for 200 euros a night - none at all
Sleep Quality - disturbed by a mouse going through our bags
Cleanliness - they do clean, but its actually filthy due to old age
Location - the ONLY thing consistent with their description of their hotel


1. The bar is effectively closed, although still advertised in your hotel description
2. Although there are various brochures at the table next to the reception desk, including bus tours and theatre listings, the reception does not sell or book those. When asked, they declined to book or reserve, sell, or otherwise provide them.

3. The mouse’s “house” is directly under the table (which is under the tv) in the corner of the room. Did I see the mouse? No. Did I get awoken several times in the night, because unbeknownst to me, a mouse was eating through chips and the remainder of a baguette bought from Sainsbury’s? Yes. Did I wake up to crumbs all over the floor where the plastic bags were? Yes. Did all the plastic bags have holes in them due to the mouse eating through them? Yes. Maybe I am wrong, and it is not a mouse. Maybe it is a rat. Luckily, I am not phobic, and have enough common sense to know that if a mouse is in one room of a building, the whole building is infested with mice. I will report the problem to the Labor Board and the OSHA, since the hotel is threatening the public health.

4. Heavy fire doors in what effectively is a maze of a corridor. Maybe your corridors can double as a playground for the mouse.

5. The stench in the hotel corridors is due to the ancient wall to wall carpeting, fire doors (i.e. lack of fresh air circulation). It is utterly rancid, although I concede, those who work in the hotel are probably used to it by now.

6. As for your not having a portier service, common courtesy would hold when you see a woman with 2 children and 3 suitcases, you offer help. Particularly in the hospitality industry. Kensington Rooms of course is not in that business.

7. Regarding the “breakfast buffet”, in terms of post-war England, it can be considered a good buffet breakfast.

8. No minibar in the room. Again, at 200 euros a night.

9. Beware: Once breakfast ends, you can not even buy a bottle of water there.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Small rooms. Even smaller bathroom. Hideously hot room. Neighbours rooftop garden about 2 foot from our window. Woken up by them fitting decking. Woken at 2:45 by what sounded like someone watching very loud porn. Location is excellent though. Very convenient for the city.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What you pay for here is the ease of access to London. I had a very small single room with a tiny bathroom but the staff were helpful and it was clean. I was on my own and if you are a couple with similar cramped quarters you might be better to see if you can pay for an upgrade. Breakfast was included but I would go along to the Garfunkels just down the road or one of the little cafes as I wanted specific things. The tube station is just down the street and my Oyster card meant easy travel all around the areas I wanted to see. If you have physical problems check where your room is as ther were still steps for me to take my case up after I got out of the lift.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

When I had to make a urgent business trip, this was the only nearest available place. I was very worried when I read the reviews. And, went prepared to face whatever it was.

The room is really small for the price (too small).
It was clean
Bathroom's shower area was small

Overall, if you are staying for a day or two with not more than one suitcase then you will be fine.

Natural history museum is just a few minutes away. The nearest tube is Gloucester Road, again a few minutes walk. There is a Waitrose nearby. Many places to eat. Harrods is 15 minutes away by walk.

Room Tip: Ask for one that does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The 'public' areas of this hotel are clean, light, airy and modern. However, as soon as you start going upstairs it's like going to a completely different hotel. The carpet on the stairs (all three different patterns!) are dark grey. Clearly some of the 'newer' pieces have been replaced more recently but the carpet on the stairs is threadbare and not very clean. The whole place smells unclean. The ornate staircase used to be white but now could do with a good scrub. The room we stayed in was not the smallest we have ever had but the decor was tired and drab. The varnished doors were peeling and the TV was perched on a chipboard plinth that had seen better days. The bathroom was tiny but adequate, although I was glad I had my 6'2" husband with me otherwise I would not have been able to reach the towels. Like the rest of the room the bathroom was tired - the fittings were old and stained, although clean.
The receptionist looked bored and was not very welcoming but check in was fast.
Breakfast was basic. The 'Fresh fruit' consisted of some very unfresh golden delicious apples that looked anything but 'delicious' and oranges. The tinned grapefruit was the cheap and nasty variety as were the croissants.
On the plus side, the window in our room opened to allow plenty of fresh air into the room. This is unusual in London hotels. Also, we could have the window open without lots of traffic noise.

Room Tip: I guess that rooms not directly over the main road would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

There's very little included at this hotel, but you know, if you're not going to stay in your room all day, but actually be out and about, you probably won't mind. The room itself was not very large, and most of it was occupied by a huge bed. Bathroom was pretty ok, as well, even had a small tub. My only two issues being bad ventilation in the bathroom and the fact that I couldn't avoid getting a lot of water on the bathroom floor upon showering. Usually not a problem, but there was no drain in the floor.
Other than that, the hotel is situated close enough to an underground station for me to be happy, making my final complaint the following:
On the night before our departure we both fell asleep with the telly on. This had apparently caused complaints with the other inhabitants, walls were thin, but this was taken care of in a very impolite manner that I have very little understanding of.
At 2 o'clock an elderly man working at reception locks himself in without knocking and without a "please" or "excuse me" brusquely tells us to turn down the sound and asking us why we weren't answering the phone. A phone that was placed directly beside my head, and hadn't made a sound since we got there. This resulted in me lying awake for the next hour listening to the party going on in one of the other rooms, pondering this highly unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kensington Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Rooms

Address: 131 - 137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #921 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Rooms 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Victorian town houses, combines contemporary decor with original period features; Kensington District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kensington Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Rooms Hotel London
Kensington Rooms London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.