We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kensington West is now "K West" Hotel & Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington West Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington West Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington West Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Matheson Road,, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #700 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Kensington West is now "K West" Hotel & Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The K West Hotel & Spa (formerly the Kensington West and before that the Aston Court Hotel) is located about two blocks from the Shepherds Bush subway ("tube") station and also about two blocks from a large, indoor shopping mall and restaurant area.

Staff members at the K West/Kensington West were extremely friendly and helpful during a recent October 2013 visit. The room was comfortable and clean. The food in the upstairs, small restaurant was tasty and reasonably priced (for London). The complimentary self-serve breakfast downstairs each morning does not have a large selection, but the food was tasty and certainly more than sufficient to begin the day for business or leisure travel in London. There is complimentary wifi, but you'll need a password from the front desk staff.

Room Tip: If you like your modesty and privacy, do not take an "executive" room. The bathroom doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    90
    83
    31
    47
See reviews for
74
64
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Barely room to move. Loads of noise from the smoking area outside which was full of foreign students. Reception gave up asking them to be quiet!
No hot water for a shower which after a very sticky night wasn't ideal.
I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us. You are very kind to have taken time out to express your views.

We read all our reviews on regular basis and try to improve ourselves
I am extremely disappointed to know that we were not to your satisfactory levels.
We have 40 rooms in the hotel accommodating up to 6 people and they all differ in size and shape.
It is very appalling to know that you did not have hot water in the shower. Had this reported to one of our friendly team at the reception, this would have been rectified for you immediately.

I apologise for the disturbance by the group of students.

I hope you give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights this month. I have absolutely no complaints whatsoever. The room and beds were nice and clean, great sheets and blankets. The bathroom was small but perfectly acceptable and very clean. Towels were replaced daily and the beds changed. Wifi worked just fine for me, a bit slow but I only needed it to look up a few things here and there so no issues. We stayed on the ground floor so it was a bit noisy at times with what sounded like people slamming doors and going up and down stairs but that was few and far between and didn't bother us at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is in a quiet area close to the tube and tons of food and coffee shops.

I don't feel the hotel was expensive whatsoever, but keep in mind this comes from a Norwegian standpoint where the price I paid for three nights is about the cost of one night here, so it was a fantastic deal for us. I highly recommend the Kensington West if you need a nice place to stay with your kids. My daughter took full advantage of the free hot chocolate :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for a very generous and detailed review. Our sincere gratitude to you for the time you took out to write this review remembering your stay at our hotel. It's been a pleasure serving you. We feel immensely inspired by your kind remarks. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a pleasant overall stay.

We would love to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel was very clean and they clean the rooms every day.

The Internet access is VERY bad. In these days that you need Internet for everything, the access here is almost impossible.

The bath is very very small but, it could work.

I think is a little expensive for what you receive.

It says Bed and Breakfast, but NO breakfast in the premises.

The location is OK.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking out time to review us.

We at Kensington West are glad to know that you found us to your satisfactory level.
We thank you for your comment about the cleanliness. We take pride in providing our guests a clean base to stay when they are miles away from their home; our friendly team try to make all our guests feel at home.

We provide free wireless service to our guests; it is a limited speed voucher, which is sufficient to check emails and browse the Internet. However if guests want to watch videos and download large files we give all our guests the option to purchase a faster speed Internet voucher, which has a speed of 1 MB/sec.

Kensington West offers a quality basic standard accommodation. Our aim is to provide you with 'value for money' . You will find that our prices are competitive with hotels of the same rating in our area.

We have discontinued out premier continental breakfast packs all of our rooms are sold as room only. We are located walking distance to many cafes and restaurants allowing our guests to choose where to have their hearty breakfast. Directions and Information can be obtained at reception.

We hope to welcome you to the Kensington West in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed from Sept 17-22, 2013 at £86.05 per night
PROS - Near shops, buses and the West Kensington tube station / designated smoking area (outside).
CONS - This is a very cheap 'hostel' not an hotel as per website description.
Entire building only had one tiny lift / No kettle/tea or coffee supplies in room
No standard (two small bottled water) / No in-room safe / No phone or intercom in room.
No air conditioner or fan – very uncomfortable room to sleep in / Dripping shower head /
WIFI – Although free, Service is ridiculously slow and kept on disconnecting even when in use. I had to keep on logging back in every one hour! Shower room SINK is unbelievably tiny and located in a very tight spot – (wall, sink and shower enclosure all squashed together) / No room to move my right hand when brushing my teeth or wash my face! / Picture of ‘hostel’ looked nothing like the picture advertised (disappointed) - located in very close proximity of residential houses, literarily next door to one another! / Extremely narrow corridors with smelly carpets (same in room) / Double bed squeezed in room leaving no room to put my luggage. Had to sleep with my luggage and shopping next to me on the bed. Preferred to keep my stuff on the bed anyway because the carpet smelt was too unhygienic to leave any of my stuff on / tried the complimentary hot drinks located in the reception area and it was not to my taste. Would not stay here again nor recommend this place to anyone. This ‘hostel’ deserves NIL star as I really can’t comprehend why the rated 2 stars! for what?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review for us. We value all our guests feedbacks and work upon them to ensure we give our guests the best service.

I am very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations.

We are a budget hotel with a transparent pricing policy and do not state or advertise that we have Air Conditioning, fans, phones or safes in our rooms. However, we do provide Safes at reception. Our sister hotel a 4* guest accommodation Chiswick Rooms have all these facilities and their price reflects these in-room facilities.

We have a standard sized lift to all floors and can take up to 5 people or 400kgs.

We offer complementary hot beverages at reception throughout our guests stay with us. This includes Hot Chocolate, Cafe Late, Cafe mocha, cappuccino, espresso, tea and coffee and is quite popular amongst our guests as our guest reviews suggest. I am sorry to hear that these were not to your satisfactory standard.

I apologise that you had a dripping shower. Had you reported this issue during your stay to our reception team we would have been happy to offer an immediate solution.

We have a very enthusiastic team of housekeeping who take pride in making the room perfect. Most of our reviews state that our rooms are clean. The carpets are deeply hovered every day and are being checked by the supervisor everyday.

We provide free wireless service to our guests; it is a limited speed voucher, which is sufficient to check emails and browse the Internet. However if guests want to watch videos and download large files we give all our guests the option to purchase a faster speed Internet voucher from the reception, which has a speed of 1 MB/sec.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was small but since we only used it for sleeping and keep our belongings while seeing things in London it was perfect.
Close to buses and the tube, and with a convenience store just a block away we really liked the location.
Very nice and helpful staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We value your feedback.

Your extremely kind remarks are a great reward for our efforts.

We feel touched by your comments. It is gratifying to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We would love to welcome you again.

Good wishes from all of us at Kensington West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked 2 rooms a double & a twin, both were clean & tidy, beds comfy, ensuite v.clean, staff very nice. The area is quite & only a 3 minute walk from tube, loved the tea/coffee/hot choc machine in reception available 24 hours. Ok the rooms are small, but we only wanted a hotel to sleep in & not spend the day in. They don't do breakfast, which we knew when booking, don't let this put you off, just up from the tube on the right side of road then down a side street there's a fantastic deli, full English £5.50 ! really great breakfast, Would be happy to stop at hotel again no probs !

Room Tip: the twin rooms are bigger then the doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank You for a great feedback and generous appraisal. We value your opinion and feel immensely inspired by your review. We are glad to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable and enjoyed the location, service and accommodation.

We are blessed with a great team who are trained to give an exceptional customer service experience to all our guests.

Our hotel is situated in an area blessed with a large number of local restaurants, bars, cafes and supermarkets.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for the high recommendation and appraisal.

We would love to welcome you again.

Best wishes from all of us at Kensington West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington West Hotel

Address: 25 Matheson Road,, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #700 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington West Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington West is situated in the heart of stylish London, Kensington. Just a 3 minutes walk from Olympia exhibition centre & within easy reach to Kensington high street; boasting many restaurants, bars, shops & a cinema. Kensington West offers good-value en-suite bedrooms. All of which have free WI-FI, flat screen LCD TV’s, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, ample power outlets and in-room tea & coffee facilities. We also offer a lift to all floors and a friendly 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kensington West
Kensington West London
Kensington West Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington West Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.