We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so hot in there!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington West Hotel

Best prices from these 14 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kensington West Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington West Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Matheson Road,, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #678 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so hot in there!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

we have just come home from there after spending 3 nights,it wasnt as bad as i thought it was going to be after reading some of the reviews,yes the rooms are small and there were 5 of us,but all we wanted was somewhere to sleep after a day sight seeing,and thats exactly what we got! the only downside we found was the heating,we turned it right down and it was still red hot,and made a noise throughout the night! we had to keep the window open all night,all in all its a 2 star hotel and thats exactly what you get,the staff were very polite and helped us with any problems we had (apart from the heating) would defo use it again as its close to the tube and shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Donna,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Kensington West,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, apart from the heating in your room being too hot which has been informed to our maintenance team.

We are glad to hear that our reception team were polite and helpful. We take pride in ensuring that our guests get the service that they expect when they are away from their homes.

We hope to welcome you to the Kensington West again in the near future

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    82
    78
    29
    45
See reviews for
70
62
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in 2012. Barely room to step around the bed. Can reach the door from the bed. Had to walk past the bathroom door to open it because the room was so small that you couldn't get the door to swing completely open. Breakfast? Should have saved my money and hit the corner store on Hammersmith instead.
Hotel? No. B&B? No. Just a bunch of closets along barely lit hallways. Staff was rude.

Room Tip: As far as i know from talking to other guests, there were no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we take your feedback very seriously.

We believe that guests should be given the choice of where to have their breakfast and thus we do not have a breakfast room on premises. There are many near by cafe's where our guests can have a hearty breakfast. We used to sell a continental premier breakfast packs however we have now discontinued this and all of our rooms are sold as room only and thus breakfast is not inclusive in any of our room rates.

Kensington West is trying to act greener and thus our corridor lights work on a sensor and thus as you walk down the corridor the lights come on. I do apologize that this was not to your satisfactory requirement.

The team at Kensington West Endeavour our promise to make your stay COMFORTABLE, FRIENDLY AND PLEASURABLE and provide the service that is expected by our guests. You just have to ask the team of Kensington West if you have any further requirements that they may be able to help you with.

Your comment that the staff were rude will be relayed back to the team in our team meetings to ensure this does not come up again for any future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked with a group of 11 persons (I was the single) from 1 tot 4 nov 2012.
We pay for the double rooms 345 £ each and for the single (with 2 beds) the same. So far so good buth it isn't normal that I also pay for 2 breakfasts while I was alone.

The breakfast from 8 tot 9 is chaotic (to litle room).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our rooms are mainly available on a room only basis. Some third party sites offer breakfast as an additional extra. I am unable to locate your reservation to investigate further however it seems you had booked a twin room which accommodates 2 adults and thus had booked in 2 breakfasts. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in this area, and we feel we give good value given our central location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This B&B was what We'd expect of a 2 or 3 star hotel in central London. The outside was nicely kept and the rooms were clean though small (again what we're used to in London). We only stayed here for one night whilst attending Volleyball at Earl's Court, which is a few minutes ride away on the nearby tube station West Kensington.
We declined the breakfast as we didn't fancy crisps first thing in the morning! But a small Sainsbury's on the corner sell fresh pastries, croissants etc. I was annoyed at having to pay really inflated prices for the olympics (more than double what I'd usually pay for a similar room in London) but I guess greed is the name of the game for London hoteliers too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We at Kensington West appreciate your feedback which aids us in bettering out services to future guests. During the Olympic period our pricing was comparable to similar properties in this area, and we feel we give good value given our central location. We hope to welcome you again to the Kensington west in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège, Belgique
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I'm travelling frequently to London.
I was excited to travel to London for the 2012 Olympic Games

This hotel is just fine for a one night stay with friends.
The people are friendly and helpful

The Room (4 wall mounted beds sleeping 4 guests) was just enough
But the bed sheets where not as clean as I’m used to be while traveling to London
The bathroom was also very small but just enough for a one night stay.
The hotel is quite.

The nearest Tube Station is at 5 minutes’ walk

Anyway I would recommend this hotel, for his excellent Quality/Price

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Out of all the places we stayed in our 2 week adventure around England and Scotland, only this ONE hotel left us all a bit disgusted and wishing we would have gone elsewhere, at any cost. Saving a $ was NOT worth the way it made us all feel.

Not the greatest area, but you will survive.
Parking is hard if not impossible to find. We needed to park in a lot about 10minute walk away for about $40 usd...
we got the top floor for a family of five, beds crammed in anyway they would fit...walking space only from door to bath door.
3 of the 4 beds had blood stains on the linen. Seriously. Gross.
I would have preferred they cut out all the blood stains and had holes.
Several holes in the walls.
One plus was being able to open the windows all the way to get some fresh air.
The halls are very small and dark. On our floor as you step off the elevator its pitch black and it takes a second or so before the halls will light up for you.
There is a smoking patio on the front street. On both nights of my stay street people came up asking for a smoke.
Inside the bump out window 2 feet away you could see in to someones room full of bunkbeds. I felt bad for them.
I love riding the tube so the distance into town wasnt a big deal.
All in all it was a depressing stay, service was not friendly, sketchy area and just so nasty.
I would gladly go back and pay double to go anywhere else for our memories of London.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 2 night in Sept 2010. Wow. The staff was nice but it was like a maze in there. The place was clean and they have internet, but the room was sooo small, we and our luggage could barely fit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington West Hotel

Address: 25 Matheson Road,, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#678 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington West Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington West is situated in the heart of stylish London, Kensington. Just a 3 minutes walk from Olympia exhibition centre & within easy reach to Kensington high street; boasting many restaurants, bars, shops & a cinema. Kensington West offers good-value en-suite bedrooms. All of which have free WI-FI, flat screen LCD TV’s, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, ample power outlets and in-room tea & coffee facilities. We also offer a lift to all floors and a friendly 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kensington West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kensington West
Kensington West London
Kensington West Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington West Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.