We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-44 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EW, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #89 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The place to be in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is awesome,
at first i would like to say thanks to the hole staff you make our stay unforgettable.
It starts with the reservation (Lorenza) and it goes on with the check in (Igor) they be so friendly!!!
We get a free room upgrade to a junior suite.
The room was awesome, all the nice colors, the bath and every night the turndown service with the hot chocolate.

Once again THANK YOU and i will come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you think we are awesome!! I will make sure I pass your comments onto the team especially Lorenza and Igor. I am really pleased that you liked the decoration of the room and the turndown service.

We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    257
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
90
450
69
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Located in an eclectic part of Kensington, this updated Indigo hotel is a quick tube ride to all the sites while offering refuge away from the tourist crowds. You don’t have to go too far to grab a bite or pick up any amenities given the selection of pubs, restaurants and supermarkets on Earls Court Road. For those looking for some retail therapy, Kensington High Street is also within walking distance. Featuring modern decor with hardwood floors, the room comes with Aveda toiletries, as well as free Wi-Fi and mini bar with limited items. While Indigo offers a relatively comfortable stay at an economical price, having to put up with thin walls, a leaky ceiling, and apathetic staff makes one think twice about coming back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. I am really happy that the location worked for you with everything you might need just a stroll away. I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay, if you would like to drop me an email with your room number then I can look into that further for you.

Kind Regards,

Brooke
fohmanager@hotelindigokensington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night and couldn't have been happier.

Lovely clean and beautifully furnished, lots of nice touches and the staff this morning at breakfast were fantastic.

Really good value too. Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

So happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for leaving a review and recommending the hotel.

We hope you visit again.

Kind Regards,

Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel from 17th March 2014 for 3 nights and had a brilliant time.

The location of the hotel is brilliant. It's less than 2 minutes from Earl's Court Tube station on the Piccadilly Line which is great if arriving at Kings Cross Station in London as you will get there without changing tubes.

There are loads of shops near this hotel including Sainsbury's Local, The Co-Op, Pharmacist, M&S Simply Food, KFC and Mc Donald's to name a few!

The Hotel Staff could not do enough for me. The room was perfect although slightly on the warm side which was sorted by tweaking with the temperature gauge. The breakfast was fantastic especially if you get an all inclusive rate.

Can't wait to go back

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for telling us about it. The location is great to get almost anywhere in London, the Piccadilly line connecting us to Kings Cross and Heathrow and the circle line taking you directly to the City.

I am really glad that the staff went out of their way to help too and will pass your comments to the team.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Brooke
fohmanager@hotelindigokensington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in room 103, yes we heard the deliveries in the morning but this did not effect our stay, fantastic room decor, bed only a double size, and very high, shame no bath. Breakfast choice is amazing so try and get a rate that includes it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The room was small but fully refurbished to a good standard. The staff was helpful but some had a fairly simple knowledge of English. This created a few misunderstandings, which did annoy. Perhaps if their employees were better paid, customers would also have a better experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Snufkinn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff and staying in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience our service level has caused you and truly sorry for the poor customer care you have encountered. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and you can be confident that corrective measures will be taken to improve our guest services.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

A friend had recommended the Hotel Indigo as a nice hotel and less expensive than many - she was spot on. It appeared as though the hotel was new or newly renovated. My room was large for London standards and the bath towels were large and fluffy! It was also colorfully decorated and the shower was large with plenty of counter space. As others have said, it is less than a 5 minute walk from the tube station and there are pubs, as well as a M&S food shop off the corner. It was nice to have a few complimentary drinks and munchies in the mini bar. I did not try the restaurant so can't comment on the food. I would have ranked this a 5 but I like a softer mattress but that might be me. For the price, comfort, service and location, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court

Address: 34-44 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in London
#69 Family Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
#91 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Garden London
Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.