We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-44 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EW, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #95 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“Charming Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Indigo - london kensington earl's court for 5 days in August.
I really loved the design of hotel, room, bathroom, amenities, location near the tube, marks & spencer...
And the free minibar! although there weren't many things it was quite good to enjoy bar without extra charges.
The breakfast was also great.
If your room rates including breakfast, you can choose anything (all kind of menu you want!!) from the menu. Since I stayed 5 days, I tried many things and they were all nice. I already miss delicious breakfast at the mansion bar!

Only one down side is the fridge, it didn't work while my stays and although I told it to one of staffs, it's never fixed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmi Mae L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Frenchie246,

Thank you for your response!

We are very proud that you enjoyed the room, its facilities and the rate!

The location of the hotel is very central to both a high street with shops, pubs and restaurants and also the underground station!

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you in the future!

Emmi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    209
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
347
51
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here back July 2013 while visiting London and couldn't have found a nicer hotel. Great location - helpful friendly professional staff - modern hotel - room very clean - good value for money - breakfast was well filling and a good start to the day. Will deferential will be back for another great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmi Mae L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Frenchie246,

Thank you for your lovely response on our hotel from your stay in July.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the staff and the location!

I hope you got the chance to try our famous waffles when you had breakfast!

Best Regards,
Emmi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel,very clean and stylish. Bed was extremely comfortable and shower fantastic. Location is perfect, just a 2 minute walk to earls court tube station and plenty of restaurants nearby.

Only gripe we had was when trying to order room service on the second night of our stay when I was told that room service was unavailable as there was no kitchen staff! I find this poor considering that 24hour room service was advertised within the in room information, and I only wanted to order a sandwich! I was not offered any alternative which I think is poor service.

Free wifi was a good extra but was very slow.

Staff were all very friendly, and check in and out was very straight forward and efficient.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, however, I do think they need to sort out the inconsistencies with the room service as I have seen other reviewers who experienced similar problems.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here recently and will definitely be back. Rare to walk into a hotel room and find everything one actually needs! Comfortable room, great bed, nice touches though the bold interiors maybe not to everyone's taste. Only gripe was the shower not draining fast enough - they really should get that sorted. Nonetheless will defintely be back when next in London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Dubandabroad,

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you found everything you needed at the hotel and you enjoyed the bright vibrant colours that make this boutique hotel unique. During August we completely audited all of our showers and drainage systems from the comments that we were receiving from guests and this was completed at the beginning of September.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO, US
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A London-sized (not huge) room bursting with character. Free tea, coffee, water and fun alcoholic beverages in the fridge.
Deliciously eccentric decorating scheme (our room was green and teal)
AMAZING shower/bathroom. Great fixtures/towels/toiletries.

Appreciated the iphone dock/speaker.
But perhaps the best was the VIEW of the private Barkston Garden.

Two blocks from the underground and plenty of shops and restaurants in walking distance- very nice neighborhood.

Quiet. Comfortable. Nice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel Indigo worked out very well for us. Super location about a block from Earls Court tube. Very good sized room for London hotels, albeit an upgrade. Modern funky kind of room and amenities (606) Excellent shower facility. Bathroom sink area however needs additional lighting if shaving or putting on makeup. Wine , juices, chips & chocolate gratis with this room. Lots of food, pub places in neighbourhood. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmi Mae L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear macstav,

Thank you for your review on our hotel! We are pleased that you like the location of the hotel and the size of the rooms!

You have commented on the funky style of the hotel; I wonder if you know the story behind it?
Our particular hotel is set in the Victorian era; hence the funky wall artwork and décor in the restaurant and the corridors. I wonder if you noticed the odd shape of the building? - It was once three mansion houses converted into a hotel!

Thanks for your lovely review and we hope to see you again in the future!

Regards,
Emmi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed twice now. Once in 2012 and once in August of 2013. Initial impressions of the hotel are good, but on both occasions this quickly changed. The check in desk lady was more interested in chatting to a lady from housekeeping, before even saying hello on the first occasion.

On both visits my room service turned up incorrect, but they were very apologetic. On the second visit I was told room service was unavailable. After questioning this, I was told the fridge had malfunctioned - so all they could manage was a burger. To be fair, the burger was nice, but not what is expected in a 4 star hotel.

The wifi wouldn't work because it was 'overheating' on my first visit; whilst the air conditioning was faulty on my second visit - so all in all, a bit, Faulty Towers!

The fitness room is limited, but ample for a quick workout, whilst on the road.

It's a shame because the hotel looks lovely - very modern with great boutique features. But for it to be a good hotel, the service must match up. Currently it doesn't. Indigo is a great brand with some great hotels, please sort this one out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Magb


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stays in the hotel. Communication between reception and housekeeping is key however if a guest is waiting to be served then of course it should wait until the guest has been checked in. Our reception team is fully trained now so I am sure that this does not happen but will revisit with the team to refresh on this.

I apologise that on your visit we were unable to offer you a full room service menu, this is obviously not what you would expect from a 4* hotel however I am glad that despite the unforeseen issue we were able to offer other options for room service and that you enjoyed it.

When we first opened one of the modems on the third floor was overheating that was causing problems with 3 rooms on that floor. A new modem was ordered and this problem was overcome. Since then we have significantly increased our free internet speed after listening to our guest’s comments.

We are also completing our 6 monthly services of the air conditioning units to ensure that they are at that their optimum efficiency. I apologise to you as it seems that you stayed before this commenced when we did have to put a few rooms out of order until they had been serviced as they were not working at their best. I can understand your frustration as you have experienced two issues on separate occasions.

We hope that you return to the hotel again so that we have another opportunity to show you the way your experience at the hotel should be and like so many other guests have commented so positively on.

Kind Regards,

Brooke

fohmanager@hotelindigokensington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court

Address: 34-44 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
#111 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Garden London
Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.