We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay at Hotel Indigo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-44 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EW, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #95 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay at Hotel Indigo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were quite happy with our stay at Hotel Indigo, which was booked by Lisa Zwissler at Beach Bum Vacation. Lisa did a wonderful job of selecting a hotel that was suited for us. We wanted free wi-fi as well as a good location close to public transit. Hotel Indigo fit our criteria. It's located right across the street from the Earl's Court tube stop. It's a nice little place on a side street; the rooms were clean and offered basic amenities that you'd expect in a hotel. The staff was very helpful and quick to respond to our needs, especially considering we had never been to London and didn't know our way around at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    209
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
347
51
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bray, Ireland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We got a good deal at this hotel, which is a relatively new property in an excellent location very close to the Earl's Court underground station.

A lot of thought has gone into the design of the hotel, and there is a 'boutique' style to everything that aims to fool you into thinking that this is a one-off rather than part of an international chain, and is largely successful in doing so. Certainly a big improvement on the cookie cutter approach that the chains often take.

Rooms are small, as expected in London, but well designed with space under the bed for suitcases. The bathroom is very modern.

Staff on our visit were friendly and helpful, and food was equally well thought out, in keeping with the design of the hotel, and good quality.

In all a very enjoyable experience and highly recommended assuming the price is right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a great boutique hotel directly across the street from Earls Court Tube Station. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the view overlooks a lovely park area. The service is very good for the most part, breakfasts are great with a sit-down option and continental style as well. Mini bar items are all free, which is refreshing.


Reasons for not marking excellent:

1. Showers are beautiful with a half pane of glass and no door. The result is a flooded bathroom floor.

2. On two occasions I had to convince them that our room included breakfast.
3. One morning our taxi, which hotel had arranged for us, was late. The staff couldn't find the phone number.

4. Staff didnt know a lot about the area.
5. We loved our first floor room but the lighting was very dim in both the bathroom and living area. I couldn't see to put my make up on. They gave us another room on second floor that had much better lighting and more lamps.

I would definitely stay here again. I look forward to exploring more Hotel Indigos in other cities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Me and my partner stayed there for two nights initially for business.
The hotel is very well located, close to tube and London Overground.
The hotel itself is very stylish with an elegant decor.
The staff are polite, but their English language understanding is rather poor.
The rooms quite small, but acceptable, free mini-bar with ONE of each item (for a couple, that shouts: argument :)). Our shower over-flowed on the 1st day, leaving us with no dry clothes.
Breakfast OK, but again waiting staff not as much - misunderstood orders, failure to inform about items missing, etc.
After two nights and checking our we were forced to stay another night. The hotel upped their rate per night by another £100 on an already expensive one, so really not impressed!
We were given a tiny loft room as well, even smaller than the one before in what I think used to be staff quarters - which meant climbing up stairs with no lift.

Generally unimpressed, would not stay again.
Poor service just finished it off.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Aleksandra

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay. Please could you get in contact with me about which area you found the English understanding to be poor? All of our guest facing employees are fluent in English language so to investigate further I would need to find out some more information. We really pride ourselves on employing a diverse team and in reception alone the staff can speak 8 languages which allows us to interact and communicate better with guests from all over the world.

The rooms differ in size depending on room type but as the building was once three Victorian Mansion Houses the rooms are all slightly different shapes and sizes. We can allocate rooms based on preference prior to your stay to ensure that you will love your room.

Our rates will also vary depending on what rate you are booking, time of booking, room type and availability. Sometimes for unforeseen reasons our guests plans may change and they may need to stay an extra night. As we offer fantastic discounts for guests when booking in advance it is very likely that to book on the day the rate will have gone up. However our reception team are always happy to help and can find out alternative rates at other hotels in the area.

We do have 2 rooms on the 5th floor which is accessible only by stairs. These rooms are regularly requested as they have a very different “loft living” style to them which steps away from the unconventional hotel room feel and for some of our guests is a welcome change. However we do understand that these rooms will not be to everyone’s liking in which case reception will be happy to find an alternative room.

Kind Regards,

Brooke

fohmanager@hotelindigokensington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Pro's: Pleasant and efficient staff on reception, spotlessly clean throughout, great location just 2 minutes walk from Earl's Court underground, free mini bar, stylish room and furniture, modern bathroom (although I take the point of some previous reviewers about the fact that the glass screen doesn't provide complete coverage so you always end up with water on the floor when taking a shower) and free wi-fi. We were also given some free small bottles of wine on our last night that we were unfortunately unable to use as we were just going out for a meal but that can't be helped. Our baggage was also looked after for a few hours on the day that we checked out.

Cons: Air con was tempermental, didn't work all of the time and even when it did the room was never cool enough even using the lowest temperature setting. In room safe never worked the whole time that we were there. Only one room card between the two of us which was a nuisance when the wife and I wandered off to do different things. The fire door just along from our room banged incessantly - I knew it was bad when my wife complained of sleeplessness as she never normally wakens during the night - keeping both of us awake. Even though we were in a no smoking room, on two occasions I detected the smell of cigarette smoke whilst I was in the bathroom. Obviously, some one in another room was smoking and it drifted through the vents. Now although I stopped smoking six years ago, I'm not one of these ex smokers who has become anti smoking, it's just that if you are in a no smoking room it should be just that.

All in all just not acceptable at over £1,000 for four nights.

Room Tip: Get a room away from any fire doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Jkn1963

I am really pleased to know that the reception staff, cleanliness, location and the extras such as complimentary wifi and mini-bar stood out to you however I am disappointed to hear the aspects where we didn’t meet your expectations.

I have reported the issue with the air con to the Maintenance Manager. We have had some similar issues when guests have the air con set to “auto”, to be efficient it must be on the “cool” section. We are currently updating all of the guest directories in the rooms so that we can include these instructions. The Housekeeping Manager has also ensured that his team are consistently checking the safes are open in the room before we check a guest in so that Maintenance can rectify any issues prior to their arrival.

Our computer system only cuts one key, but I have reminded the team that we must ensure that we ask the guests if they would like us to cut another one. I am also in the process of speaking to the system support to see if we can change the number of keys it automatically cuts to 2 instead of 1.

As the hotel is completely non-smoking I am upset to hear that you could smell smoke in your room as we have designated smoking areas outside the hotel. We have a strict policy in place and charge £100 for any guest that is smoking in the room to cover our deep cleaning costs. Please accept my apology for this and the inconvenience it must have caused.

Thank you very much for leaving a review and bringing to our attention some areas where we can take action immediately to ensure that all of our guests have a great stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked this Hotel for a long weekend when visiting Wimbledon 27 - 30 June 2013 - and it was a great find. Travel to Wimbledon and or the main shopping areas could not have been easier with the Earls Court Underground just around the corner. We arrived on the Thursday tired after the usual stressful journey from a London Airport to be invited to the Hotels 6 month Birthday Party that evening. Not usually up for these kind of events but is was good fun with a nice mix of local businesses and guests and the staff were great. The room was well set out and very comfortable and the Hotel has been designed with a nice modern feel while being set into a traditional terrace.
Throughout our stay the stay were very bright and attentive - I have nothing but nice memories and will stay here again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights....could have stayed for a week! We were looking for a place that was safe and cool...and close to the tube and close to south kensington where we had a restaurant referral...bumpkin. i am a foodie so of course had to book my hotel close to a cool restaurant! anyway.......took the tube from heathrow airport to earls court...walked less than a block to our cool boutique hotel and were welcomed by the friendly staff.
Awesome huge bed.....amazing breakfast....close to pubs and shopping as well as the tube. We felt comfortable....loved the hotel and the cool shower and cool lighting and free wi fi and cozy bar. Would highly recommend. Would definitely go again however would not pre book breakfast for both mornings as one could easily walk to a lot of other restaurants...and I am not that hungry in the morning. However I did manage to have eggs Benedict...toast...fancy coffee...and a trip to the continental breakfast bar for fruit and juice. We loved london....loved the tube...friendly people! Want to go back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court

Address: 34-44 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
#111 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Garden London
Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.