We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect base to explore London from!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Burns Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Burns Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Burns Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England (South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #529 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The perfect base to explore London from!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Our recent stay here I have to say was a delight. I agonised for ages over which hotel to book and for once it seems, I made the right choice.
Staff were polite, attentive and helpful. The hotel stored our bags free of charge when we were early for check in and again on check out day. This meant we could also make the most of our first and last days in London without the stress of carrying a heavy bag.
Room was small but airy, had everything we needed and was immaculate. Bathroom suite looked as if it had just been refreshed as it was also spotless. Location is absolutely perfect. 2 mins fron Earls Court underground but far enough away from the busy main road to be peaceful and quiet. Hotel overlooks a beautiful lawn. All in all, a very pleasant stay indeed. Well done and thanks very much Burns!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    386
    214
    73
    37
See reviews for
110
263
130
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Candolim, Goa, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Love staying at this centrally-located hotel when visiting London.

Spotlessly clean rooms - very comfortable.

Great English breakfast.

Friendly staff

It's always like coming home when I check in to the BURNS Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights here. Room was clean, bed comfy, towels changed both days, continental breakfast was good and you could get full English for a few pounds extra cooked to order, a few minutes walk to tube station, helpful reception staff

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We booked for 2 week-nights 'Room Only' for £116 per night, through booking.com.
The hotel is well located, on a garden square - close to Earls Court underground (just across the road and round the corner), and a block from Earls Court Exhibition Centre.

The Reception area is small but lovely. The one Receptionist asked us to wait while she answered a phone call, but otherwise was pleasant and efficient. We noticed that her paperwork said we had been upgraded and, indeed, Room 115 appeared to be the largest room on the floor plan. (Last time we stayed in Earls Court area, in a stifling July, we stayed at the Kensington International Inn, and our room was barely bigger than the bed itself!)
2 single mattresses made up as a Super-king bed, with over-bed lamps and 2 bedside tables. A daybed, 2 armchairs in a bay window area, a desk with 5 drawers, a wall lamp and a chair. 2 wall mirrors. Hairdryer. Wardrobe with sturdy hangers and a room-safe. Tea-making (but bring your own biscuits). Large and spotless bathroom, maybe 9 ft square, with excellent in-bath rain shower. Lovely big white towels, and generous shampoo and shower gel replenished daily. The toilet flush was ineffective (no doubt due to some water-saving measure) and required the addition of a waste bucket full of water to function properly!

On the first night we ate in the Patio Restaurant. Decor is a little stark, though the ceiling lamps are nice. Not much choice - we both ordered fish and chips. Our fishes looked good, crisp and golden, though quite small. As soon as I cut into mine, I felt it was undercooked, and by the second slice, we both found the fish was raw in the middle. The waitress was pleasant, and was happy to take them back and have replacements cooked. These were edible, but a poor quality of fish, and the chips were tasty, but all soft. For dessert, again not much choice, we shared an apple crumble with ice cream. It was quite nice, but disappoiting. The 3 dishes, plus a bottle of wine, came to £37.

We did not sleep well. The mattresses were very comfortable, but the 4 pillows were all the same, firm and deep. I ended up sleeping with the tiny head-sized cushion, instead, and thus slept better on the second night. (Nowadays most hotels, and even B&Bs, offer a choice of firm and soft pillows.) The duvet was light and thin, but very hot.

In our room we noticed a draft, and quite a bit of street noise, and on inspection we found the next day that one of the tall windows was warped, and would not bolt closed. Obviously a problem already known to the hotel, as a door chain had been fitted - although it wasn't even linked closed. We then noticed that the other window was in fact also unbolted, so anyone could have come into the room from the shared balcony outside.

Breakfast vouchers can be bought from Reception - £6.50 for Continental, and £9.50 if you want cooked breakfast as well. We opted for Continental, and it was fine. Apple or Orange Juice. Prunes in juice, grapefruit segments in juice, fresh apples. Large bowls of natural and pink yogurt. Containers of cereal (maybe 7 varieties), and one kind of milk. Sliced cheese, ham, and turkey, cottage cheese, and tomato. Croissants and little rolls (both rather firm and dry), and 3 varieties of sliced bread. (there are 2 domestic toasters which were both ridiculously slow, and staff were unable to offer anyone any help.) Sachets of butter, spread and jams. Coffee, served in a pot to table upon arrival, was hot and better than average for hotel breakfast coffee.

On our second night, we ate at the Italian Bistro Benito, in Earls Court Road, which I can strongly recommend. There are plenty of restaurants on that strip, but we had chosen well.

Would we stay in Burns Hotel again? Probably not, although everything was very clean, the price was OK for London, and the location is excellent. Don't eat in though!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Earls Court tube station and off the main road so isn't too noisy.

We arrived at the hotel to be told we'd been upgraded for no extra charge. A good start. The room was spacious, tidy and presentable. It had clean towels, shower gel, soaps, shampoo, shower caps, tea/coffee, hairdryer, TV. First impressions, excellent. The room (number 67) was on the ground floor at the front of the building which meant we were unable to leave a window open while we were out or at night which was slightly annoying. Although the bed was extremely comfortable the room was so hot I couldn't sleep. I was constantly coughing because of the dry warm air, even taking a drink of water didn't help. Suffice to say I had no sleep and acquired a sore throat. We also noticed a strange smell coming from the bathroom, it was a really pungent stench and was so strong we kept the bathroom door closed so it wouldn't leak into the room. Next day whilst we were packing I noticed that the smell had completely gone. It was a like a garlic/onion/mustardy smell. Not pleasant at all. We decided not to have breakfast at the hotel after reading other reviews. But there are lots of eating places just at the end of the road that do cooked breakfasts which were much cheaper than the hotel.

In all it was an ok hotel. But I'm glad we only stayed the one night and we didn't have to pay the full price of £185 for the room. If we had, I would've definitely complained about the smell. It did make me wonder if somebody else had complained about the smell and they had been moved into our original room and we'd been given that one instead.


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALAGA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Enjoyed our one night stay. Excellent staff in every way - friendly and helpful. Small warm room with excellent sunny bathroom. Nice bar. Clean and functional hotel near tube. Breakfast Ok. Again good service. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was excellent. Super breakfast menu, clean and functional room and friendly helpful staff. Room was a little small but represented excellent value for money would definitely use again. Excellent location for public transport and in good shopping area both designer and convenience shops within walking distance. Earls coutr tube station 2mins away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel

Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #529 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Burns Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Burns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.