We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, run-down hotel in a good location!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Burns Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Burns Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Burns Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England (Earls Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #508 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor, run-down hotel in a good location!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Burns Best Western is in a great location and was perfect for my family and I to get to everywhere we wanted to in London using the Underground system. It's about a three or four-minute walk to Earl's Court station, which is a great station to have as your base as it is well located on both the District and Piccadilly lines. Unfortunately that's pretty much all of the good things that I can say about this hotel. The rooms are small as is typical of London hotels, but also in serious need of renovation. When we arrived the room was tidy and had been cleaned but there was some areas of mold around the windows and in the bathroom - areas that had obviously not been getting cleaned as well as they should have been. The amenities in the room included the usual things that you would expect, (television, coffee / tea making facilities etc.). As we had our one-year old with us we had requested a cot for her to sleep in. They had provided this for us and set it up. There was really only one place where the cot would fit in the room, (at the end of our bed) and this was also under the television which was mounted on a bracket above. Unfortunately, this meant that there were cables running down that my daughter could have gotten a hold of if she stood up in the cot which was obviously not good.
We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel's restaurant, but we had breakfast delivered to the room on the one morning. The breakfast was fine but by no means great. Although kind of sorry looking we had gotten everything that we had asked for apart from milk for our cereal. I would definitely recommend walking down the road to the Blackbird pub for breakfast rather than eating at the hotel. The breakfast we had there was fantastic.
The one evening, my wife went to a show and as she got back late wanted to order something from the room service menu. We found out that the menu in our room was out of date and as such my wife was unable to get what she wanted. There really wasn't much choice on the current menu and what my wife did order they got wrong anyway, so I can't recommend the room service.
We did try to use the hotel's restaurant on the one evening for dinner but when we walked into the restaurant the lights were off and nobody was around. I walked in looking for someone and one of the cooks came out and told me that dinner was being served in the bar only tonight - I thought that this was pretty bad considering we had a one-year old as she needs a high-chair and we wanted to sit at a table, (there were no tables available in the bar). We ended up walking down the road to Nando's and had a good meal there.
There were definitely some flaws in the ways in which the rooms are cleaned at this hotel. We usually leave our plates / cutlery from breakfast room service in the room after we are done in the hopes that they will be removed when the cleaning staff come in to clean the room. I know some people leave their finished tray outside their door so it can be collected by the staff, but I don't like to do that as it clutters the corridors and can get in the way for other guests who are trying to get to their rooms when they arrive. Anyway, when we arrived back to the hotel after our day of sightseeing, we got back only to see that they hadn't removed the breakfast service tray. In fact, they hadn't really cleaned that much at all. In our room all they did was empty the bin and that was it.
In conclusion, this hotel has a great location but is in need of some modernisation and some service upgrades, (for example more choice on the room service menu). The room we stayed in was small, dirty and uncomfortable, but on the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful.
For us, not a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    351
    196
    66
    35
See reviews for
94
236
123
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a brilliant location. Just a two minute walk, if that from Earl's Court tube station. You will see Gregg's the bakers directly opposite as you come out of the station. Cross at the green man also directly opposite and turn right out of the tube. You will pass a bus stop, a bank, a Chinese, a shop selling wine and spirits and a pub. Once past the pub take an immediate left onto Barkston Gardens and the hotel is halfway down.

On arrival check in was smooth and easy and the staff were brilliant. The guy who checked us in had a trainee badge on but this was the only give-away! Extremely polite, helpful and friendly. We got a very warm welcome and to our surprise discovered we had been given complimentary breakfast! Bonus!

After reading reviews I asked the receptionist if we had air con in the rooms. Unfortunately we were told there was no air con but we were given a fan to take up to the room and my cousin who had booked a single room was given a fan too. No problems!!

The hotel is quite an old building and it was a bit of a maze trying to find our room!! Once inside the room I noticed it was fairly small and old fashioned but clean. The only thing letting the room down was how hot and stuffy it was in the room but we don't normally need air con in the UK as we don't very often get warm weather!! In winter this hotel would be perfect but it was way too hot in the rooms and I'm usually always cold!! The windows are on a chain too so you can't open them very wide and our bathroom door didn't shut properly either however it was very clean and we had a tv and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. There us also a hair dryer but it's about as old as the hotel so bring your own if you can!! No fridge in the room but this wasn't an issue for us.

Breakfast was good. They offer continental and cooked breakfast and most mornings I had both! The eggs were cooked just how I liked them and we were waited on hand and foot. Thoroughly enjoyed breakfast here. The staff were very efficient and friendly!

All in all a nice enough hotel. Could do with a refurbishment ideally as the hotel is getting old and tired but the staff here are a credit and it is in a brilliant location, great breakfast and the beds are amazing!!! I sunk into my mattress it was so soft and comfortable! Wish my bed at home was so comfy!!

Would definitely stay here again but not in the height of summer as the rooms become unbearably stuffy. Would go back in a heartbeat autumn/winter time. We were very well looked after. Best Western Burns, your staff are a credit to you!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very nice neighbourhood, convenient location to Earl's Court Station, pubs, money exchange bureaus, restaurants, post office etc. We walked to Victoria & Albert Museum, enjoyed tea at Harrod's relaxed a bit at Hyde Park, then on to the Palace. Took the tube back to the hotel.
Small rooms - not a bother if planning to be out and about. Room and bathroom are clean, no A/C though, room 214 (hotel's back garden view) - windows don't open all the way up (maybe purposely), carpeted creaky floors, but no outside noise. Helpful and friendly service from the staff. Lovely garden sitting area, full English breakfast adequate, lots of brochures in reception area. Bring your own adapter. Would recommend this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Having read some of the reviews we had some reservations about the hotel but were pleasantly surprised by both the staff and the room. We had a room in the basement (42) which was spacious and cleaned with a decent bathroom. There we no bars on the window which let in pliantly of light. We didn’t eat in the hotel as there are plenty of places that do a decent cheap breakfast nearby, we used the Blackbird pub on the corner which did an excellent fry up. I’d also recommend the Orjowan restaurant which is authentic Lebanese , its only about 5 mins walk from the hotel, back to the main road, turn right past the tube station and right again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting London.
The location is excellent, a 5 minute walk maximum from Earls Court Tube station
The rooms are very small and don't have air conditioning. We were upgraded free of charge to a deluxe room and it was still very small.
Hotel was clean and the reception staff friendly.

If you aren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room then this hotel is more than adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesto San Giovanni, Italia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Best Western Burns is very nice hotel, conveniently locatred 3 steps away from Earl's Court Tiube station.
Rooms are tiny, but if you are lucky enough to get one overlooking the square garden you will be rewarded. Breakfast is average, but there are a lot of pub you can choos from.
Rooms are tiny, but it is not a big deal if you are a business traveller or a tourist visting london. Hotel is in a quiety Street and it is definitely value for momey: clean rooms with decent plumbing (an exception in the UK!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Given the overall price-quality rate of London hotels, this is actually quite a good choice. I stayed for four nights in a single bedroom.

Pro:
- excellent location, very near Earl's court tube but in a quiet street
- room was a good size
- very quiet street, but a lot of pubs and stores nearby
- very clean
- friendly staff

Con
- roomwide carpet (which seems to be inevitable in London)
- bed is rather tiny - if you're over 170 cm at least. Also the mattress has springs, so if you're not used to that that might feel a bit weird
- window only opens a little - it was very hot so the room felt a bit stuffy
- the shower is ridiculously small - strange because the bathroom in itself is actually quite large
- they don't have UK - EU adaptors on loan at reception desk, so make sure you bring one (or be prepared to pay the full 5 pounds for it at reception)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel

Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Burns Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Burns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.