We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Burns Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Western Burns Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Burns Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England (Earls Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #504 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Easton, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Simple, clean accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Burns Hotel is situated on a nice, relatively quiet side street and faces a garden, just off busy Earl's Court Road. It's less than a five minute walk to the Earls Court tube station as well as a variety of pubs, restaurants and shops. The hotel is in a 19th century Victorian building that has a lot of character.
The front desk staff were very welcoming and pleasant. They were able to answer any questions I had and helped with a couple of simple requests. My room was small, a little worn looking, but clean and quite comfortable. Flat screen TV gets all the basic channels. The free WiFi (Pogolink) is OK, but could become a nuisance since it requires you to get a a slip for each device from the front desk with username and password that is good for 24 hours, then you have to ask for another.
The dining area and outside patio are nice. The full English breakfast is more than adequate and a convenient way to start the day. Dining room wait staff were efficient and cordial. For my preferences, the Burns Hotel was a good choice and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    330
    186
    64
    34
See reviews for
93
220
114
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room was a really poor layout. You walk in and have about 1.5 feet on one side of the bed but there is a huge cabinet and a desk crammed in the corner wasting space and not even really usable. There is an old heater at the foot of the bed that our feet literally hit while trying to sleep, would hate if we needed the heat, we would burn! The best is on easy rollers and slipped around some. You had to jump over the bed to get to the window which was a balcony but nailed down so you couldn't open the window/door more than about 2 inches. The bathroom was EXTREMELY uncomfortable. Bump your elbows on a "caution very hot" water piping system while brushing your teeth. No room whatsoever around the toilet. Shower ok but crammed. The mini hall from the door to the bed has an awkward tv hung on the wall that I must have hit my ribs or arms on a dozen times in a couple days. Such a bad place for it. Really not a good layout. Uncomfortable bed too.

The hotel is very old, but that seemed normal around the area. We had to take a tiny elevator half way to the floor 1, yes 1, and then actually had to lug our luggage up another small set of stairs only to go back thanks to misdirection!

We had a few problems with the front staff. When we arrived we noticed a vase of flowers at the front desk. I am deathly allergic to the type of flowers they had and actually had to leave the room to avoid an ER trip. My boyfriend told them the importance of needing to remove them. They said they would be gone immediately. We went to dinner and came back and they were still there. He asked them FOUR times. We were going to leave because it's really a serious reaction. Unbelievable.

We purchased Big Bus Tours from the hotel. They were having trouble with my credit card so I get them a different one. She manually typed it so many times she either didn't know what she was doing or ripped us off because when we got back I had 3 charges on my 2 credit cards and the company doesn't want to refund because the hotel did it.

They had a nice breakfast included. You could have a cold bar with cereal, fruits, breads, and drinks and also a full English Breakfast with hot eggs they way you like them, bacon (American ham), mushrooms, beans, and tomatoes and tea. This way helpful to start the day.

Also, it took a long time to get to the major attractions. It is lose to the Earl's Court Underground Station but we would have liked to be closer so that we didn't have to rely on public transportation every time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

overall a very average hotel, my room was clean but in need of a revamp , and the hotel itself is a small building in a quiet area near the local tube station and shopping area.
Very noisy during the night ,my room was situated downstairs and near some generator , so I wouldnt recommend staying in that area. Overall a very average hotel, the buffet was the usual fare of cold and hot food, nothing special.
Wouldnt stay there again as there are other hotels offering the same price but with higher standards.

Room Tip: do not stay in the rooms downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good location about a 5 minute walk from Earl's Court Station and bus lines. Very small rooms in a converted apartment building. Definitely not for anyone with disabilities - no handicapped access. Rooms, hallways, elevators are small. Don't expect help with luggage or doors as staff is very limited.
Nice pub but small with a reading room atmosphere. Nice patio, private and cozy. Very accommodating and friendly bartenders. Desk reception just so-so and matter of fact.
Very pleasant surroundings outside with small park across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the patio in back can get train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Handy for the tube, that's it. Small horrible room, really bad bed, terrible breakfast. At least I was in a better room than my work colleague was subjected too. It's this type of hotel that gives London a bad reputation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently and was supremely disappointed at how small and run down my room was. I had a "double" room, which had barely enough floor space to store our 2 suitcases. The beds were old and so uncomfortable. You could feel the inner springs digging into your body, which made more some pretty restless sleep. There were nasty stains on the cloth chairs that were in the room. The room was in the basement with a window that looked onto a courtyard that is shared between several buildings. There was a party in the courtyard our first night there and you could hear everything loud and clear. I will not be staying here again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When we arrived the reception did not have a record of our booking, despite booking nearly four months in advance and receiving an email from them the day before saying they were looking forward to our stay! We were kept waiting for about 20 minutes while they sorted it out. We were eventually allocated our room (101 - oh the irony!). This turned out to be a nice room overlooking Barkston Gardens at the front of the hotel. The hotel is in a really good location and down a quiet side road. Because of the poor service at check-in we decided not use the restaurant or bar, but there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants nearby. The Blackbird pub on the corner does a good breakfast. If you are thinking about booking this hotel, we recommend you ring a day or so before to check they have a note of your booking.

Room Tip: Room 101 at the front of the hotel overlooking Barkston Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel

Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Burns Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Burns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.