We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cramped, far from major attractions, issues” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England (South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #551 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small and cramped, far from major attractions, issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room was a really poor layout. You walk in and have about 1.5 feet on one side of the bed but there is a huge cabinet and a desk crammed in the corner wasting space and not even really usable. There is an old heater at the foot of the bed that our feet literally hit while trying to sleep, would hate if we needed the heat, we would burn! The best is on easy rollers and slipped around some. You had to jump over the bed to get to the window which was a balcony but nailed down so you couldn't open the window/door more than about 2 inches. The bathroom was EXTREMELY uncomfortable. Bump your elbows on a "caution very hot" water piping system while brushing your teeth. No room whatsoever around the toilet. Shower ok but crammed. The mini hall from the door to the bed has an awkward tv hung on the wall that I must have hit my ribs or arms on a dozen times in a couple days. Such a bad place for it. Really not a good layout. Uncomfortable bed too.

The hotel is very old, but that seemed normal around the area. We had to take a tiny elevator half way to the floor 1, yes 1, and then actually had to lug our luggage up another small set of stairs only to go back thanks to misdirection!

We had a few problems with the front staff. When we arrived we noticed a vase of flowers at the front desk. I am deathly allergic to the type of flowers they had and actually had to leave the room to avoid an ER trip. My boyfriend told them the importance of needing to remove them. They said they would be gone immediately. We went to dinner and came back and they were still there. He asked them FOUR times. We were going to leave because it's really a serious reaction. Unbelievable.

We purchased Big Bus Tours from the hotel. They were having trouble with my credit card so I get them a different one. She manually typed it so many times she either didn't know what she was doing or ripped us off because when we got back I had 3 charges on my 2 credit cards and the company doesn't want to refund because the hotel did it.

They had a nice breakfast included. You could have a cold bar with cereal, fruits, breads, and drinks and also a full English Breakfast with hot eggs they way you like them, bacon (American ham), mushrooms, beans, and tomatoes and tea. This way helpful to start the day.

Also, it took a long time to get to the major attractions. It is lose to the Earl's Court Underground Station but we would have liked to be closer so that we didn't have to rely on public transportation every time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    415
    235
    83
    42
See reviews for
124
290
142
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

overall a very average hotel, my room was clean but in need of a revamp , and the hotel itself is a small building in a quiet area near the local tube station and shopping area.
Very noisy during the night ,my room was situated downstairs and near some generator , so I wouldnt recommend staying in that area. Overall a very average hotel, the buffet was the usual fare of cold and hot food, nothing special.
Wouldnt stay there again as there are other hotels offering the same price but with higher standards.

Room Tip: do not stay in the rooms downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good location about a 5 minute walk from Earl's Court Station and bus lines. Very small rooms in a converted apartment building. Definitely not for anyone with disabilities - no handicapped access. Rooms, hallways, elevators are small. Don't expect help with luggage or doors as staff is very limited.
Nice pub but small with a reading room atmosphere. Nice patio, private and cozy. Very accommodating and friendly bartenders. Desk reception just so-so and matter of fact.
Very pleasant surroundings outside with small park across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the patio in back can get train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Handy for the tube, that's it. Small horrible room, really bad bed, terrible breakfast. At least I was in a better room than my work colleague was subjected too. It's this type of hotel that gives London a bad reputation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently and was supremely disappointed at how small and run down my room was. I had a "double" room, which had barely enough floor space to store our 2 suitcases. The beds were old and so uncomfortable. You could feel the inner springs digging into your body, which made more some pretty restless sleep. There were nasty stains on the cloth chairs that were in the room. The room was in the basement with a window that looked onto a courtyard that is shared between several buildings. There was a party in the courtyard our first night there and you could hear everything loud and clear. I will not be staying here again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When we arrived the reception did not have a record of our booking, despite booking nearly four months in advance and receiving an email from them the day before saying they were looking forward to our stay! We were kept waiting for about 20 minutes while they sorted it out. We were eventually allocated our room (101 - oh the irony!). This turned out to be a nice room overlooking Barkston Gardens at the front of the hotel. The hotel is in a really good location and down a quiet side road. Because of the poor service at check-in we decided not use the restaurant or bar, but there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants nearby. The Blackbird pub on the corner does a good breakfast. If you are thinking about booking this hotel, we recommend you ring a day or so before to check they have a note of your booking.

Room Tip: Room 101 at the front of the hotel overlooking Barkston Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is definitely one of the best London budget hotels I have stayed at. Got singles at 65 p.p..n. on Booking.com and that was a bargain compared to other London hotels. The hotel seems to have a rather high number of single rooms that vary in size. I got a fairly large, a colleague a rather much smaller, but still adequate.Flat screen TV and a good bed.
Very nice staff at reception and cleaning was excellent. Breakfast quite good, full English with a continental buffet. The restaurant staff didn't seem to understand that one could have both the continental and the full English, but it was sorted out.
Situated in a nice square - actually much nicer than most of Earls court. When looking for a pub, go the extra yards along the Earls Court Road to the Earls Court Tavern. Bus Nr. 74 gives good connections into London centre.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms in the basement. Beware of steep stairs and a slow lift to upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
BEST WESTERN The Boltons
BEST WESTERN The Boltons
#394 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Earls Court
City Continental London Kensington
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#579 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#367 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Corona
BEST WESTERN Corona
#642 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Earls Court
Oliver Plaza Hotel
Oliver Plaza Hotel
#482 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington

Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #551 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.