We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“london hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Burns Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Western Burns Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Burns Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England (Earls Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #498 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“london hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

overall a very average hotel, my room was clean but in need of a revamp , and the hotel itself is a small building in a quiet area near the local tube station and shopping area.
Very noisy during the night ,my room was situated downstairs and near some generator , so I wouldnt recommend staying in that area. Overall a very average hotel, the buffet was the usual fare of cold and hot food, nothing special.
Wouldnt stay there again as there are other hotels offering the same price but with higher standards.

Room Tip: do not stay in the rooms downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    329
    186
    64
    34
See reviews for
92
220
114
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good location about a 5 minute walk from Earl's Court Station and bus lines. Very small rooms in a converted apartment building. Definitely not for anyone with disabilities - no handicapped access. Rooms, hallways, elevators are small. Don't expect help with luggage or doors as staff is very limited.
Nice pub but small with a reading room atmosphere. Nice patio, private and cozy. Very accommodating and friendly bartenders. Desk reception just so-so and matter of fact.
Very pleasant surroundings outside with small park across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the patio in back can get train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Handy for the tube, that's it. Small horrible room, really bad bed, terrible breakfast. At least I was in a better room than my work colleague was subjected too. It's this type of hotel that gives London a bad reputation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently and was supremely disappointed at how small and run down my room was. I had a "double" room, which had barely enough floor space to store our 2 suitcases. The beds were old and so uncomfortable. You could feel the inner springs digging into your body, which made more some pretty restless sleep. There were nasty stains on the cloth chairs that were in the room. The room was in the basement with a window that looked onto a courtyard that is shared between several buildings. There was a party in the courtyard our first night there and you could hear everything loud and clear. I will not be staying here again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When we arrived the reception did not have a record of our booking, despite booking nearly four months in advance and receiving an email from them the day before saying they were looking forward to our stay! We were kept waiting for about 20 minutes while they sorted it out. We were eventually allocated our room (101 - oh the irony!). This turned out to be a nice room overlooking Barkston Gardens at the front of the hotel. The hotel is in a really good location and down a quiet side road. Because of the poor service at check-in we decided not use the restaurant or bar, but there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants nearby. The Blackbird pub on the corner does a good breakfast. If you are thinking about booking this hotel, we recommend you ring a day or so before to check they have a note of your booking.

Room Tip: Room 101 at the front of the hotel overlooking Barkston Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is definitely one of the best London budget hotels I have stayed at. Got singles at 65 p.p..n. on Booking.com and that was a bargain compared to other London hotels. The hotel seems to have a rather high number of single rooms that vary in size. I got a fairly large, a colleague a rather much smaller, but still adequate.Flat screen TV and a good bed.
Very nice staff at reception and cleaning was excellent. Breakfast quite good, full English with a continental buffet. The restaurant staff didn't seem to understand that one could have both the continental and the full English, but it was sorted out.
Situated in a nice square - actually much nicer than most of Earls court. When looking for a pub, go the extra yards along the Earls Court Road to the Earls Court Tavern. Bus Nr. 74 gives good connections into London centre.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms in the basement. Beware of steep stairs and a slow lift to upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here for three nights starting on May 28th. I had booked through Otels.com for a single room, but when I got to the hotel I was put in a twin room, without even asking for an upgrade, which was a nice surprise. The room was on the basement level (#49) so obviously didn't have a view, but was more spacious than expected. Some of the furnishings were a bit shabby, but everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower worked well and there was plenty of hot water. I did not have breakfast included, but got food from the grocery stores that are just around the corner on Earl's Court Road. The tube station is about three minutes walk away, and the V&A and Kensington High Street are within walking distance. I felt comfortable staying here as a single woman, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel

Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Burns Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Burns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.