We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After an initial disappointment with our apartment allocation staff stepped in to redeem our experience - there's still some roo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 130 Queen's Gate Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 130 Queen's Gate Apartments to your Saves list
130 Queen's Gate Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5LE, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“After an initial disappointment with our apartment allocation staff stepped in to redeem our experience - there's still some roo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two bedroom apartment on line and were very disappointed with our initial allocation. The second bedroom was tiny and it would not have been possible for it to accommodate our two children. Fortunately, the staff were very sympathetic and showed me two other apartments. One was very much better and we moved in to it after one night and were very comfortable. I was pleased that we were not charged a further fee for this apartment and grateful for the staff's help in moving our things. The initial apartment should not be sold as a two bedroom accommodating 4 people as it is misleading.

The apartments are reasonably expensive so there are a couple of policy matters that need to be resolved to reflect the price point. First, the amenities should be replenished daily and the quality improved (they are highly fragranced but not very effective). Second, the range of TV and movie programming available in the apartments needs to be upgraded and made easier to use. There should also be access to current movies for guests to enjoy.

Despite our rough start, we did have a good stay in the end and I would return. However, I would be very careful in choosing the apartment to ensure it was large enough for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    24
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
29
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

On business trips to London, which typically last a week or more, I usually book a flat via companies that rent people's homes. I've got my favorite neighborhoods, and I've really grown to prefer living a flat to renting a hotel room here. On this trip, a mere three nights long, the minimum stay requirement for flat rental agencies didn't apply. Somehow I stumbled onto 130 Queens Gate Apartments (it's fairly new) and I'm so glad I did. Loved the location (heart of S. Kensington), really appreciate the concept of blending hotel with front desk service (which wasn’t much needed but nice to know it was there and the staff was just lovely) with an apartment with all necessary amenities. And the best of all: Short stays are accommodated!

The original reservation had been for a studio (the property offers all range of sizes of apartments) and when I arrived after a red-eye flight at 11 a.m. the room wasn’t yet available but the manager upgraded me to a one-bedroom ground floor flat. That was a big wow!

Studio or no, all have compact kitchens (microwave and oven though no stovetop), washer/dryers (!), and basic utensils/plates, etc. Everything’s new, or feels new. One nice touch: a first day’s supply of necessities (tea, coffee, snacks). The bathroom had a shower/tub configuration, was also compact, but had everything you needed including good towels. In contrast, the living room, with a dining table and desk, plus flat screen, couch and armchair, was so roomy (so was the bedroom, with a great, firm bed).

A couple of minuses and these may not apply to you. The color scheme was a bit grim (gray on gray on white); I’m a big fan of cozy and color but it wasn’t a big deal. Also lighting was a bit on the light side (there are overheads, but I did ask for another lamp in the living room and the request was swiftly accommodated). Also furnishing was a big Spartan making the place feel somewhat impersonal, but again, not a deal-breaker.

The location was fantastic, between two easy-to-reach tube stations (S. Ken and…I’m blanking on the other, oh it's Gloucester Road). There’s a Waitrose express, Tesco Metro, and a full-on Waitrose within easy walking distance. The London Bike scheme has a station right outside the front door. Restaurants, S. Ken’s shops, Chelsea, etc., are all nearby.

Great stay. My only worry is that even the studio was just about at the top of my company’s price range so I hope rates don’t go up anytime soon! I’d like to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family stayed in 3 bedroom apartment. very comfortable at reasonable price. The staff are very helpful and friendly. located near south Kensington tube station as well Gloucester tube station. bus stop just next to the apartment

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western mass
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

130 Queensgate is located in a great area of South Kensigton - a stone's throw from the Natural History Museum and a short walk to two tube stops - South Kensington and Gloucester Road. As a result it is on three lines - the District, Central and Picadilly Line which makes is a very convenient location. We stayed in room 103 which was a suite of a good sized living room with pull out sofa, a balcony, a galley kitchen with equipment a bathroom and a smallish bedroom with a full sized bed. I believe they said it was a queen sized bed but I dont think it is what in US is called queen size. The size of the bed was really the only con - a touch on the small size.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful - especially Pape.

The neighborhood is very lovely and full of cafes and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly especially for self sufficient travelers.

In a perfect world, the housekeeping staff would make available a small amount of dishwasher detergent or clothes washer detergent so one could take advantage of those appliances in the room without having to go to the store and buy a large or heavy box.

Room Tip: Room 103 was very nice - we did not find street noise very loud. I don not think there is AC - one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant 3 night stay at 130 Queen’s Gate serviced apartments. Staff were extremely helpful, room well-presented and we prepared most of our meals in the apartment in the generously equipped kitchen. Close to two Tube Stations and a 12min walk to the Royal Albert Hall. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed at 130 Queens Gate for business, it was my first trip to London, and the hotel/staff was perfect. Stayed in the studio (709) which was more than enough for just me, and quite large compared to comparable "hotel" rooms in the area. Kitchen was nice to have, although I didnt cook much it was nice to be able to reheat food and keep drinks cold in the fridge.. the front desk staff was great, they we're able to help me out with every request.. Big Papi at the front- he will get you anything you need :)

Will definitely stay here again! Thanks for everything guys!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with a friend. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor with sofa bed in large sitting room. Incredibly comfortable bed with luxurious pillows. Fabulous bathroom with good shower and water pressure. Nice extra touch of fluffy robes. The only criticism I have is that there were no amenities left in the kitchen - including a lack of detergent for the washing machine and dishwasher. Overall the rooms are very well appointed. 24 front desk was a bonus and staff were very helpful and quick responding to requests. This isn't a hotel - it is a serviced apartment. 2 minute walk from South Kensington tube - very convenient location.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 130 Queen's Gate Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 130 Queen's Gate Apartments

Address: 130 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in London
#69 Business Hotel in London
#98 Family Hotel in London
#247 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 130 Queen's Gate Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Location & Choice: 130 Queen's Gate, in South Kensington, offers some of the best serviced apartments in central London. Located just around the corner (literally) from the capital's trio of celebrated museums: the Natural History, Science and Victoria and Albert, and The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park and other famous sights all within easy walking distance, 130 Queen's Gate is the ideal location to explore and experience the city. With 50 luxury serviced apartments ranging from spacious Studios to the ultimate in luxury: two 4 bedroom Penthouse Suites with private lift access, the building itself dates from the 1870's when it functioned as four stylish townhouses for upper class families. Today, each apartment, while retaining its period features, is fitted out for comfort with state-of-the-art equipment and furnishings. All the apartments are contemporary in style and have been designed to maximise light. From business to leisure,couples and families, short or long stay, 130 Queen's Gate offers the ideal accommodation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 130 Queen's Gate Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
130 Queen`s Gate Apartments Hotel London
130 Queensgate Hotel London
130 Queen's Gate Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 130 Queen's Gate Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.