We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Egerton House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Egerton House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-19 Egerton Terrace, Knightsbridge, London SW3 2BX, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Nights for 2
Ranked #2 of 1,075 hotels in London
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“absolutely loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here only 1 night but we are definitely coming back. Staff was amazingly courteous and attentive. The rooms were nice and location is great for tourists. We highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor about your short stay at The Egerton and I am delighted that we left a lasting impression. I am pleased that you found the staff corteous and attentive and the rooms to your liking. It is nice to read that you will return on a future visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance with your booking.

Warm regards,


Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    46
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
97
302
44
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I travel a great deal in business and for pleasure throughout the world. And whenever we go to London there is only one place to stay for us and that is The Egerton House Hotel. The quality of the friendly and extremely helpful staff to the quality of the sheets, pillows and decoration...it just cannot be beaten. The original art collection is a treat for the eyes and I always eat too much of the fabulous breakfast. When I arrive, I truly relax. I know that if I have anything out of the ordinary that needs to be done, the well trained staff will solve the problem and quickly.
Our stay there is worth every penny. Oh, and I haven't even mentioned the superb martinis that are famous and people come from far and wide to have!
One thing for any other travelers who love the Egerton House Hotel as much as we do: If you are ever going to Kyoto, Japan, the Hoshinoya is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you need two rooms, there are two at the top of the stairway above reception that have a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your a review on the Egerton House Hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate guests feedback. We do have a very dedicated team of people who strive to make sure that every guest has a good stay and I am so glad you did. We also have high quality linens and have an ongoing maintenence programmes to make sure that the rooms are kept as freshly decorated as possible.

Our art collection is indeed extensive, with such artisits as Tolouse Latrec, Picasso and many others and we continue to collect.

We are also renowned for out martini's and people do come from far & wild to experience them. Antonio our barman is well known and has a huge following.

I am delighted to hear that your overall stay was wonderful and that you felt it was worth every penny and that said I hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you in the not too distant future.

I will pass you very kind words to all the team. Thank you once again.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this from the other side of the coin as it were!
I work at this hotel for a while when I first moved to London,it was an amazing experience,the management were friendly and very easy to get along with,and the staff are always looked after very well,this makes it a lovely place to be.
May everyone who works or visits here have a wonderful time.....enjoy

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Janet A,

Thank you for posting a review on the site about your time at The Egerton House Hotel and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed working here. I am sorry not to have met you personally but that said if you are ever in the area of the hotel please do feel free to come and join us for a glass of mulled wine and mince pie. I do hope that your carreer is going and I wish you all the best.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I've just returned from a 5-night stay at Egerton House - my third time staying at this absolutely perfect hotel.
Let's start with the location: the hotel is just off the Brompton Road (so it's a short walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum, Harvey Nichols, the Knightsbridge tube station, etc.), yet it's tucked into a quiet, lovely, residential street.

From the moment I arrived at Egerton House (groggy from a sleepless overnight flight), I was reminded why I so love staying at this hotel. Egerton House is posh without being pretentious, and the staff -- at the front desk, in the dining room, and in the bar -- is unfailingly gracious and accommodating. This hotel is a little oasis of calm and hospitality in the midst of bustling London, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Thanks to Annie, Michelle and the whole Egerton House team for yet another wonderful stay !

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you once again for staying with us at The Egerton House Hotel. It is always our great pleasure to take care of you. Thank you also for you lovely comments which I have passed to all the team.

We are indeed very centrally located close to Brompton Road, the Victoria & Albert Museum, Harrods and Harvery Nicols and are in fact only 10 minutes for the heart of the West End so a very popular destination for that esssential shopping.

I am thrilled to hear that as soon as you arrived you realised why you love coming back and am delighted to know that once again you were well looked after. It gives us great satisfaction and is very rewarding to know that our hard work is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance ith your booking.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband, two friends and I stayed at this wonderful hotel in October, 2012. Everything was great. The rooms are beautiful, the staff delightful, helpful and charming. It was such a great way to end our vacation. I am taking a dear friend (she's 84!) to London and of course we are delighted to stay in the Egerton Hotel again. My friend, remembers WWII and has always wanted to see London as well as the White Cliffs of Dover, where so many of her generation came ashore in WWII. I am so blessed to get to bring her to London and share her memories! The Egerton Hotel is the icing on her Christmas Cake!!!

Room Tip: Have Annie McCrann pick it for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Egerton House hotel and I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and are planning on returning.

It is so wonderful that you will be bringing you very dear friend for a very special occasion and be assured that we will take great care of you both and make sure that she has a a very special visit with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me or any one of my team for assistance with any aspects of your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friend to The Egerton House Hotel and can assure you that we will endeavour to make this stay another one to remember.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at the Egerton House Hotel in October for 3 nights. It was a sheer delight! Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were helpful in every way. The warmth and character of the hotel and our room were just delightful - it feels like a home, not a hotel. Little touches everywhere to make your stay more comfortable. Drinks in the bar with Antonio were a treat. Brilliant location too. We have already recommended your hotel to friends and are happy to spread the word here. Stay at the Egerton - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read a heading "We will be back" I am so pleased that you had felt that it was a sheer delight and am thrilled to hear that it felt like home and not a hotel We want our guests to feel that they are in their "home away from home" and I am pleased that we got it right.

Antonio is a delight and it is quite a treat to have one of his martini's. They are his pride and joy.

Thank you for your very kind words and indeed reccommending us to your friends and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My Partner and I visited the Egerton House Hotel in Knightsbridge. It was his first time and my 6th. He now understands why I keep returning. The service is personal and excellent with staff going out of their way to be helpful and to do the planning and booking of restaurants and attractions. The hotel is full of comforts and quite luxurious. It is well located in our favourite part of London. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site. We are delighted that we had the pleasure of looking after you once again and indeed meeting your partner for the first time. I am delighted that he enjoyed his first experience and hope that he will return with you on a future visit The Egerton House Hotel.

I have passed your kind words to all the team who do work extermely to ensure each and every guest has a most enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant and please do not hesitate to contact any member of the team to assist with reservations,restaurant, theatre or transport arrangements.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, Knightsbridge, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in London
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London
Egerton House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Egerton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.