We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonably priced hotel for visit ot London” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68-86 Cromwell Road, | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 5BT, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 20%
Ranked #366 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“reasonably priced hotel for visit ot London”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

Stayed here for almost a week with family as part of tour of England; found the lobby space well kempt and well appointed, but the room itself was less satisfying. It had an odd odor to it and was quite noisy because of a nearby generator. The closet was fairly small; there was not much drawer space for storing clothing. The room was quite dark. Staff supplied another lamp, but it only marginally improved the darkness - reading was impossible. The bed, however was comfortable. The bathroom, though very small and awkwardly arranged (no room to stand beside the tub, for instance) was clean. Food at breakfast was fine and there was a substantial variety; service at breakfast was excellent but at other times while visiting the restaurant / bar one could sit for extremely long periods and not be able to attract the attention of the staff. Service by the reception personnel was spotty - some helpful, others less.
The location is fine; one can walk to the Victoria / Albert Museum, the Museum of Natural History, and Harrods; plus there are a variety of inexpensive cafe's nearby.

  • Liked — Interesting decor in lobby, restaurant
  • Disliked — the room itself
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    659
    310
    175
    100
See reviews for
270
478
292
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis and cannot fault it at all. The staff are the friendliest I've ever come across and you always see the same friendly faces. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel is kept in immaculate condition and the rooms are always cleaned to the highest standard. The rooms are well decorated, have a phone, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities, shower and bath, Sky TV etc etc. When I've stayed there and ordered room service the food has always been nice and arrived very quickly. The rooms to tend to be a little small because this is an lovely old building. The area the hotel is in is great (nice restaurants, close to the tube, supermarkets nearby and the Natural History Museum and the Victoria and Albert are a 2 minutes walk, as is Sloane Square). I really enjoy staying here and I really do feel like this is my home from home, I feel that welcome. After reading some of the comments on here you may want to take into account that I am a single female business traveller, I wouldn't really recommend this hotel as a holiday or family hotel, it is definitely geared more towards the business traveller - for which it is perfect.

  • Liked — The Staff are amazing and nothing is too much troublw
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, DE
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

We just returned from a week in London, and this is where our travel agent regrettably stuck us. (We are a family of six, grandparents, parents, and 2 children). The rooms were not cleaned, the carpet smelled horrible, the rooms were extremely small (the closet held one persons clothes, and there were no luggage racks for the other suitcases) and the bathrooms even smaller. There was nowhere near enough lighting in the rooms (probably so you wouldn't notice the filthy carpet) and the window was cracked and the mini blinds were crinkled and damaged (that area would not close so everyone in the apartments in back of us could see in). We had a triple room and were told that it was the biggest room they had (unimaginable!). We couldn't move rooms because they were "totally booked". The halls were dark and narrow (a real problem for my visually impaired mother) and there was only one lift and it could accomodate a max. of 3 adults comfortably. When we arrived there was a plate of food outside the door that had become dehydrated from sitting there for so long with flies buzzing around it. They never took away our dirty drinking glasses the whole stay, but one day I put them outside the door (where they stayed for over 24 hours) and when they finally replaced those glasses with "clean" ones, the "clean" ones had lip prints around the top of them! The icing on the cake, however, was when I got home I discovered a $1200 charge on my moneytravel card for preauthorization from this hotel which they were supposed to release upon checkout but never did. What was worse was that they couldn't figure out what they were doing upon check in and swiped my card twice so I was double charged. I then had to get on the phone with the card company to get this straighted out. So you see the headaches didn't end in London. I must say, the only good thing I experienced at this hotel was the front desk that helped us with tours, taxis, etc. they were wonderful. I would never stay here again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — poor value for the money
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

This is a good hotel in an excellent location, with friendly efficient staff. It has all the right amenties but I am afraid that the size of the room and the narrow corridors is below what is expected of a 4 star hotel. I got a good deal on the internet but if I paid the normal price I would be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern,California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

Booked through agent for location and pics on website. Didn't even come close to pictures on web. Twin room was so small we had no room to place our suitcases and belongings. Wardrobe barely held enough room for one. Bathroom was a narrow aisle with no room to enter tub from side. Asked for bigger room and was moved from 318 to 314 maybe 1foot bigger. very frustrating to pay $170 a nite and not have enough room to turn around. Staff did not speak much english but staff in dining room was very nice and did not charge me for soup my Granddaughter did not like. George at reception was very helpful getting us a taxi to airport and to play. Other reception told us St. Pauls was no charge. Not so. Dirt on wall from register. We kept window open. Was told that all rooms on 3rd are tiny. My complaint about smallness was disregarded and I would have paid more for bigger room! Were staying at the Thistle Marble Arch and would have gone back there if rooms available. What a disappointment! There are other hotels in that area and we will try those next time.

  • Liked — courtesy of lady who seated us in restaurant.
  • Disliked — The shoebox size of the room given us.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

The hotel was a huge dissapointment for me: the rooms were incredibly small (smaller than in Paris, if someone can imagine!), and I had the impression of staying in a shoe box . The bathroom was even smaller than the room, I believe that a man could hardly get into the shower cabin. The bed was comfortable, however. There are some good points: the staff is very friendly and helpful, when I asked them to change my room after the first night because of the noise during the night they were very nice. The second room I got wasn't better but the hotel was fully booked so there was only one room available. The location is fantastic, close to Kensington Gardens and Kensington High Street (shopping area), close to V&A Museum, Natural History Museum, and also to Harrod's. The entire Kensington area is wonderful, but I suppose there are better hotels there. Try Royal Garden hotel, it's a bit more expensive but the rooms are huge and you can get a room with a view to the park.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

Arrived at 3pm after travelling for 30 hours to find room was not ready. Had to beg for room and finally given one in bowels of hotel next to cleaners rooms.Would not stay again!

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — the indifference of checkin person
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt

Address: 68-86 Cromwell Road, | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#241 Luxury Hotel in London
#273 Family Hotel in London
#297 Business Hotel in London
#303 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing Georgian mansion in fashionable South Kensington, the four star Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt stays faithful to its past but espouses modern comfort in a classic London cityscape of porticos and leafy squares. Moments from London’s world-class museums, step into the frescoed lobby and take in a characterful ambience of open fireplaces, deep sofas for laid-back lounging and quietly stylish rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel London
Radisson Hotel Edwardian Vanderbilt
Radisson Hotel London
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.