We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a change, lovely service and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68-86 Cromwell Road, | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 5BT, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 20%
Ranked #342 of 1,073 hotels in London
Co Durham, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a change, lovely service and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We were visiting London for a theatre and House of Commons visit and we often stay at 4 star hotels in London. We have alway found the staff to be going through the motions when dealing with their clientele BUT NOT AT THIS HOTEL. Every member of staff we encountered went out of their way to help us. It was so refreshing. We ate in the restaurant and had excellent service and excellent food. A very minor criticism, the rooms are quite small but as we were on a tourist trip we hardly spent any time in the rooms. An excellent location for the museums and Harrods/shopping

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraFrigiolini, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to leave a feedback about your most recent stay with us at the Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt hotel. Our room sizes in the hotel do vary, due to the fact that our hotel was not purposely built, but I was pleased in reading that you had a lovely time with us.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Barbara Frigiolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    612
    283
    160
    88
See reviews for
220
400
254
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

My one night stay started well with a free upgrade to a double room and when opening the door to my room I was pleasently surprised by the amount of space and cleaniness.

I ordered room service and this arrived within half hour and overall the food was very filling and well priced. A little niggle was the bottle of coke was really small and a few sips and it was gone. For £2.00, I could of brought a six pack (and no doubt 'buy one get one free') at the Tesco around the corner!!

The room included satellite television, free wireless broadband (restricted to 512k so services like iPlayer failed to work) and desk-area with two line telephone and data ports.

So I go to bed looking forward to the following day... 5am, I awake feeling very sick and called reception to ask for a bottle of water and a dressing gown... 6am heard nothing so callled back... the night manager eventually arrived at 7am with a bottle of water and a dressing gown.

By 7.30am, my condition worsened (severe sickness and fever) and called reception for information on a doctor and was told to ring NHS Direct, which I did and was told to stay in bed and drink sips of water which I did. I managed to sleep for a couple of hours and by 12pm a second bout of sickness came along.

By this time, my room was very contaminated and called reception for someone to take away some items from the room. Half hour went by, nobody came and I felt even worse then before so decided to call a ambulance as no-one was answering at reception.

I crawled down to reception, paid the bill (nobody asked how I was) and sat on the steps outside until the ambulance turned up.

So... a truly awful experience at the Vanderbilt, total lack of service and compassion by staff and I will definitely not be returing. I know it was early on a Friday morning with night staff but there can be no excuse for the failures I encounted.

(I must stress, my illness (later diganosed as the norovirus) was not caught at the hotel either by staying there or eating the food!!!)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraFrigiolini, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel. We welcome and appreciate all feedback, good and bad, from any of our guests, as this enables us to continually improve our product standards and levels of service.
I am very concerned and disappointed the way that our team dealt with you and I totally understand you. I would like to assure you that we are investigating this matter in great detail and we are undertaking serious action to avoid recurring customer service issue. Please be assured that this is not the king of service that we pride ourselves. I hope that you might be willing to give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. Should you choose to stay with us again, please drop me a line so that I can make sure you receive the level of service you deserve.

Kind Regards
Barbara Frigiolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We were made very welcome right from arrival, friendly and efficient desk staff. Perfect base for Kensington, tube station opposite, and only 20 minutes away from central London shops and theatres.
Room was a good size, clean and well stocked, although the lighting was a little harsh. Overall, a pretty high standard for London, and good value ( hotel's own website beat all others on price ).
Our tip - possibly the best pub in London ( The Queens Arms in Queensgate Mews ) is nearby if you want to eat and drink at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraFrigiolini, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. We are indeed very lucky with our location with great amenities within walking distance and good transport links. I am glad that you found our staff to be efficient and we trully hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Barbara Frigiolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

The hotel is ideally situated - two minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube - and is very comfortable. Room was small and with no outlook but we weren't there to look out of the window so didn't have a problem. As we were at the back of the hotel there was no traffic noise and it was very quiet. Only downside we found was that, although the breakfast was plentiful, it was, at best, lukewarm. There was a very good buffet choice but this was spoilt by the lack of temperature of food. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraFrigiolini, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, March 6, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking time out to leave a feedback of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your comments and are very glad that you consider to give us the opportunity to welcome you back. I am very dissapointed to read about the temperature of our breakfast buffet during your stay, I would like to assure you that this is not a standard practiced in Radisson Edwardian Hotels. The Restaurant Manager has already been informed about the issue and action has been taken. I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Barbara Frigiolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Perfect elegant hotel; ideal location in London...and great customer services

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraFrigiolini, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel on your recent visit to London. I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online and I sincerely hope we have an opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Barbara Frigiolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel.
The positive:
Decent bathroom. Professional and friendly staff. Pleasent atmosphere. Bar/lounge area comfortable and relaxing. A good breakfast.The Hotel is conveniently located close to Gloucester Rd tube station.
The downside:
The room was very small and the double bed was too narrow. In our room one of us had to climb over the other to get out of bed. Carpet in the room was old and should be replaced.
The lift was small. Some noise from the street.

Based on the size of the room and the narrow double bed, we will probably not choose the Radisson Edwardian Vanderbuilt Hotel, on our future London trip.
I rate this Hotel not to be a 4 Star property, rather a 3 Star.
Norwegian Travellers

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraFrigiolini, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to leave a feedback about your most recent stay with us at the Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt hotel. I will definitely pass your kind comments on to my staff who are very passionate about customer service. I was very disappointed when I read about your dissatisfaction with the size of our bedrooms.Our room sizes in the hotel do vary, due to the fact that our hotel was not purposely built. I know that this issue might affect your decision to stay with us in the future, but I hope that you will give us a chance to change your perception about us by welcoming you back to our hotel.
Kind Regards,
Barbara Frigiolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel before and that experience was positive enough to warrant a return visit. The Raddison Edwardian Vanderbilt is conveniently located close to Gloucester Rd tube station with plenty of decent cafes, restaurants, bars and shops within easy walking distance.

On this occasion we had a room with a king sized bed and decently sized adjoining bathroom with bath. So far so good though the ground floor location looking out onto Cromwell Road inevitably led to some street noise.

For the most part then, this is a decent hotel but the big disappointment this time was the failure of staff to deal with some rather basic problems.

The dodgiest issue was the TV (see picture). Many hotels do a bad job of television so it's fortunate that most of us don't go away to watch TV in a hotel room. Nevertheless, there are moments when a little TV wouldn't go amiss so is it too much to ask that hotels can at least allow their visitors to watch television in the right ratio? We had an old 4:3 ration screen that was broadcasting most channels in very stretched widescreen that looked terrible. There were some exceptions and here's where the real cause for complaint lay. Imagine the shock of my wife and I when scrolling through the TV channels looking for the news we suddenly were exposed to hardcore pornography that we neither wanted nor had requested. We talked to the man on reception and asked to have it removed. He seemed amused and said he'd done it but the next day it was still there. We then demanded that something be done and the same man assured us that he would see that the situation was dealt with. Again, nothing happened. The third and final attempt (same man I'm afraid) was merely greeted with a shrug of the shoulders. Isn't it nice to have your complaints taken seriously? Of course we ended up leaving the TV off.

On our last night we discovered that housekeeping had left no cups for a cup of tea so we contacted the front desk to get some. Did they send some to our room? No, instead we were told to report to the bar where hopefully the bartender would be able to supply us with what we need. After queuing for five minutes I was asked why I didn't just contact the front desk. A pattern was emerging.

In short then, a decent hotel that needs to do some work on customer service, replace some outdated TVs and restrict the adult content in its TV services to those adults who actually want it. Until such changes are made, I'm sure we won't be alone in staying away.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraFrigiolini, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to leave a feedback about your most recent stay with us at the Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt hotel. We are indeed very lucky with the location of our hotel, with so many great restaurants and attractions within walking distance. I regret to read about the inconvenience caused to you due to the TV picture quality, I would like to assure you that we are currently working on upgrading out TV’s in the hotel in order to prevent issues such as this from reoccurring in the future. I was also very disappointed to learn about the issues with the TV channels and I would like to apologise for the miscommunication between departments. The Maintenance engineers along with the Front Office Manager have already been informed about the issues and action has been taken.
I truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to change your perception about us by welcoming you back to the Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt hotel in the future.

Regards,
Barbara Frigiolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt

Address: 68-86 Cromwell Road, | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in London
#254 Family Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
#312 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing Georgian mansion in fashionable South Kensington, the four star Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt stays faithful to its past but espouses modern comfort in a classic London cityscape of porticos and leafy squares. Moments from London’s world-class museums, step into the frescoed lobby and take in a characterful ambience of open fireplaces, deep sofas for laid-back lounging and quietly stylish rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel London
Radisson Hotel Edwardian Vanderbilt
Radisson Hotel London
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.