We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem with old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Dukes Hotel to your Saves list
Dukes Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
DUKES Winter Warmer
Ranked #83 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem with old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A beautiful hotel, on of my favorites. Have stayed previously, but is on the expensive side.

Food excellent, but service quite slow during breakfast on both days.
The restaurant definitely needs air con, during the hot weather, as was quite unbearable waiting for breakfast.

Staff extremely helpful in all aspects

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank for you taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    104
    49
    20
    11
See reviews for
86
265
33
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Rooms are tiny for start. We paid more than 350 GBP for a cage with view over a wall!
In general there is nothing unique or interesting there apart from the amazing martinis in the Bar.
I would recommend staying somewhere else and go there only for Drinks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

An excellent typical british hotel in the center of London. The service was excellent. Near Green park station, the situation of the hotel is excellent to visit london. I recommend this hotel an I keep the address for our next visit in London.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Our team are working hard to ensure everything is as it should be. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Within easy walking distance of the Green Park tube stop on the Piccadilly line, Dukes Hotel is centrally located near Buckingham Palace, Green Park & Hyde Park in a fashionable part of London (which made walking in the neighborhood pleasant and interesting). The service at the hotel was exceptional, the public areas were very attractive, and the room we stayed in was nicely furnished, comfortable, and modern. Amenities included a daily newspaper, afternoon turndown service, and efficient, helpful and friendly concierge and desk staff. When we returned from our daily activities, we were always greeted in a very friendly way by the doorman. The breakfast at the 36 restaurant was delicious, and the waitstaff was especially attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It is fantastic to hear that you are very satisfied and truly enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to provide a home away from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We chanced upon the Dukes and it will be our base for further trips to London. The recommendation was to try their martini (reportedly the best in London) and it was the inspiration for Ian Flemming to write Bond into a 'Shaken not Stirred' man. Room service breakfast, and lunch in the lounge were also fantastic. The rooms are well appointed and functional. The staff were all fantastic, and a late checkout of 2pm was much appreciated, before a late flight out of Heathrow. Positioned next to Regents Park and a short stroll to Hyde Park, where we went to see Tom Jones in concert, made it ideally located in central London.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well and we are now becoming your London home. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I booked one night at this hotel via secret escaped for £191 including breakfast and a late check out until 4pm. The arrival was perfect, quick check in and friendly receptionist. Our room was on the first floor and easy to find.
Here's where the problems started... the air con was very loud but didn't have much of an effect on the heat in the room. Our view was a brick wall. We were only given one bathrobe despite there being two of us. We then went down for a quick breakfast at 10:40 as the website stated Monday-Saturday it was available until 11 to be told it is only open until 10:30. I then complained and advised the website said it was until 11 so they squeezed us in. Check out again was very quick as I had already paid for the room. I had high expectations for this hotel that were not met.
Great location and very pretty setting though!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback on our beautiful little boutique hotel in the heart of St James. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotels excellent service, fabulous location and terrific setting!!!

I was however disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your rooms air conditioning. If you had mentioned this to us we would have naturally asked our maintenance department to address this issue immediately. In reference to the bathrobes we have 2 in each room, one in the bathroom and another in the wardrobe. I am pleased that our Restaurant team were able to seat you for our delicious breakfasts and I hope that you managed to join us in the bar for one of our world famous Martinis.

We at Dukes London look forward to welcoming you back in the nearby future.

Kind Regards
Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A first class hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in a lovely area of London. We stayed for one night whilst visiting family and found the staff welcoming and efficient. The room was well appointed and more spacious than the majority of London hotels I have previously stayed in. The attention to detail was evident and the staff projected a sense of pride whilst carrying out their duties. There was a great deal of choice on the breakfast menu and all freshly prepared and served in elegant surroundings. I would not hesitate to book again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that even with just a brief visit, you were able to experience our special atmosphere.Our team here at Dukes London are so pleased with your comments and support. I hope next time your stay will be longer.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#62 Business Hotel in London
#68 Luxury Hotel in London
#68 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.