We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best and very quiet hotel in londons west end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Dukes Hotel to your Saves list
Dukes Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England (St. James's)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 1,060 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Broadway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“best and very quiet hotel in londons west end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

situated in st james in londons west end, tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac. very quiet, very nice staff, rooms can be smallish, but a great place to stay. bar is one of the best in london, try the dry martini. we place visiting clients there if we can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our lovely boutique hotel. My team and I are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your clients back for one of our famous Martinis.

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    111
    53
    23
    11
See reviews for
97
299
38
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Absolutely loved Dukes. The staff are super friendly, they take really good care of you. The rooms are quaint albeit a little small. The cocktail bar is fantastic (albeit a tad expensive). The overall stay is a little on the expensive side but given the excellent location, wonderful staff and killer martinis, it's a totally justifiable indulgence! Absolutely loved it :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank your for your kind comments. We here at Dukes LONDON were pleased to hear that you enjoy everything from the shaken not stirred martinis to the location just off Piccadilly and St James’s. We take pride in our professional yet personal service.

We are looking forward to indulging you on your next stay!!!

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at Dukes Hotel since the night before we took the Orient Express to Venice in 1999. Each and every visit to Dukes brings something memorable and magical. The staff of the Hotel could not be more pleasant or accommodating. This was our third New Years spent in London, England, and Dukes is the gem of our visit each and every time. A special note should be made of Alessandro and his bar staff for all their efforts! The martinis are second to none!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your superb comments! I am truly delighted to hear that you enjoy every single visit to Dukes LONDON and we are grateful for your ongoing support. It is guests like you that make Dukes such a truly special place.

We are all very proud of our bar and Alessandro and his team as they do make one of the best Martinis ever tasted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Dukes Hotel in January this year as a treat to ourselves, and what a treat it was!
The reception staff were perfectly polite and attentive, extremely helpful and personable. They even upgraded us to a bigger room as it was so quiet. I loved the genuine warmth that they greeted an old regular guest, the guest knew them all personally and it was like a returning friend.
Good firm and comfortable bed, great night's undisturbed sleep.
Elegant room with free wifi throughout the hotel.
Didnt eat dinner there but returned to the bar for a martini at the end of the evening. Dont try to drink more than one though, they are big and strong, but heavenly, with olives in a bowl on the side if requested. (Priced at about £17 per martini!) I could dream of Daniel Craig sauntering in and sharing it with us! Martinis are definitely the drink of the house (every guest was drinking one!) that they are served from a special trolley brought to your table, with frozen glasses and a frozen bottle of a pre-made martini. There wasnt any fancy cocktail shaking to be had, but I dont know what I was expecting. But the glasses are definitely large! Giggle-worthy!
Breakfast was included in our rate, and the huge full English with choice of how well done you would like your poached,/scrambled/boiled egg, set us both up for th whole day! Fresh fruit juices were delicious. my friend asked for apple, which took a few minutes to arrive, as it was freshly squeezed in the kitchen. Very personable waitor.
We didnt spend anytime in the drawing room or any of the other public rooms, but they were all elegantly and quirkily decorated.
Amazing location, would recommend having a coffee in Franco's restaurant down the road as well. Fantastic art on the walls, (look for the Gordon Mitchell nude behind the reception) and fab food on the plate!
Loved it, will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our lovely boutique hotel, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit from the martinis in the cocktail bar to our delicious, freshly prepared breakfast.

I am pleased to hear that in such a brief visit, you were able to experience our special atmosphere provided by our dedicated staff. Perhaps during your next visit you could join us in Thirty Six, our award winning Restaurant for a beautiful tasting menu followed by another Vesper Martini prepared in the Cocktail Bar!

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Enjoyed a delightful 2-day package to celebrate our anniversary - Duke of Grafton suite ready on arrival from overnight flight, high tea, martini and dinner, delightful staff ("I can't imagine being married to my wife for 50 years")! Great location, expensive but well worth it, particularly for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Duke of Grafton suitre
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I am overjoyed to read your lovely comments regarding such a special occasion. I am delighted to hear how our team made your anniversary one to remember.

We hope to welcome you back next year or perhaps a little sooner!!!

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Dropped into the Dukes Hotel cocktail bar on Saturday afternoon, wonderful service and atmosphere and the gin martinis are brilliant - but please - no more than two! The cocktail bar staff are really knowledgable and friendly - now one of my favourite places!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for your terrific feedback. I am glad that we were able to make your visit so enjoyable.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Dukes Hotel over a wedding weekend and had superb treatment. The staff were delightful and made our stay something special along with all the other guests staying. It has an air of elegance which you rarely see these days in Hotels. We would definitely stay there again..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a special and memorable occasion.

Our team at Dukes London are so pleased with your comments and support. Lester Bamford, our Events Co-Ordinator was delighted that your stay was a success and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in London
#44 Family Hotel in London
#69 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
#80 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.