We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Dukes Hotel to your Saves list
Dukes Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hotel of Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our second stay at what is our hotel of choice in London.

Dukes Hotel is simply a slice of quiet sanity in the madness of central London. A wonderful quiet location, off the beaten track, and yet close to all the highlights of London. Superb well trained staff, nothing seems to be too much trouble. The rooms offer wonderful comfort and bathrooms that excel. Breakfast is served to your table in a civilised and friendly manner...(none of this self-service buffet rubbish of other hotels).

Our next stay is already booked and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    106
    49
    21
    11
See reviews for
88
272
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been 4 nights at Dukes Hotel. The house is not easy to find. But that is the good think about it! A nice and cosy Hotel.
The best thing about it are the beds. (comfort and big enough). Bathroom nice, clean. Morning news papers, one of the best breakfast I have ever had. (not usual in London!!)
Helpful and descrete personable service
Just one thing: the rooms are very very very.... tiny and small. We had to make sure, everything packed into our bag or7and under (!) the bed. We do like to go shopping in London once a year and our room was definitely too small for all the stuff we bought. Thanks to the housekeeping *smile*
We will come again, it was so lovely at your Hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very English experience - understated - a little eccentric at times and discrete personable service. We held a reception here prior to a wedding in private rooms on Floor 5 which was elegantly put together, discretely serviced and set up. The whole stay was perfect. My son left for his wedding the next day feeling he had left from "home" - what greater endorsement would you need for the ambience? No glitz - just stylish luxurious comfort. The next day my daughter joined us before emigrating to Canada - a marvellous way to say good bye. We had a glorious few days in the penthouse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellport
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've stayed a couple of times at Dukes and honestly I wouldn't plan a trip to London now staying anywhere else. Perhaps it's not for everyone -- no big hotel glitz and amenities, and the floorboards in the hallways sometimes creak. But nothing comes close in comfort, style, and secluded luxury. Right in the middle of town, but tucked away in a courtyard all its own. The staff is superb. The bar an experience in itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My colleague recommended this hotel and I am so glad we booked it. Perfect location for business, close to the shops if you have a couple of hours to spare, close to some amazing restaurants and landmarks and we could walk to all our meetings.

I loved my room. It was very spacious (very very spacious for a London hotel room) and had everything I needed for a quick stay. I will definitely be staying here again.

The only thing which was not up to standard was the "business center". It consisted of a tiny little room with a very old computer and printer. It hardly qualified as a business center and I could not get the printer to work in the end.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recently stayed at Dukes for just under a week with my son. We were upgraded to a suite. I have stayed here on many occasions before and simply love this hotel. It is small, very personal and very English. The moment you walk in you are greeted by everyone in the lobby; as if you are entering your own London home. The fragrance in the lobby is intoxicating and creates the right atmosphere. As for our suite -well, what can I say? It was like having your own London apartment; very comfortable and lovely. The breakfasts were delicious; I entertained some business people to breakfast on a number of occasions and they were equally impressed. We also used their laundry and dry cleaning service, all of which was done professionally and, very importantly, timeously. The concierge service is superb, whether to arrange theatre tickets or to suggest and book for restaurants. Thanks to all the staff at Dukes for making this such a wonderful and memorable stay. The location, by the way, couldn't be better. Piccadilly, Bond and Jermyn Streets are minutes away and the West End theatres are an easy walk. The nearest tube station is Green Park. What could be more central than that?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am writing you to express a big thank you to your hotel staff. We live around the corner, next to the Houses of Parliament and we had enjoyed the hospitality of your bar and drawing room numerous times.
When we decided to marry and investigated potential venues, the DUKES hotel quickly crossed our minds as an appropriate, timeless venue. On September 14, we married in your hotel and the experience far exceeded our
expectations:

The service, attention and hospitality we enjoyed was truly exceptional.
Starting with Lester, who led the organisation; Antonio, who took great care of us just before and during the day and who was in charge of managing the actual event; Alessandro and his bar staff, who were world class and to the attentive and most friendly service personnel during dinner; and ending with the remarkable DUKES suite - we felt that your entire team was naturally enjoying contributing and playing their role during our special day; and this was unique.

We cannot thank the DUKES team enough for to making this day most enjoyable and memorable for us and our guests!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in London
#51 Family Hotel in London
#62 Business Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#70 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.